[Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

User avatar
thomasthespacefox
Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 15:00
GitHub: ThomasTheSpaceFox
IRC: ThomasJaguar1212
In-game: thomasthespacefox

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by thomasthespacefox » Wed Jul 31, 2019 18:19

orwell wrote:Hm, I would like adding them as new wagons instead of replacing the old textures. But nice work thomas!
The displays are on my wishlist too.


Id be happy to see them added as a new wagon! I mean, its not like that would be hard, as its only a texture swap.
 

Thomas-S
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:23
Location: Bavaria, Germany
GitHub: Thomas--S
IRC: Thomas-S
In-game: Thomas-S

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by Thomas-S » Sun Aug 04, 2019 20:33

gpcf wrote:I really want to make a font for the LED display, so it can show destinations....


Maybe font_api is helpful for this idea.
 

yw05
Member
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:59
Location: linux-forks.de port 30000
IRC: yw05
In-game: ywang

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by yw05 » Mon Aug 05, 2019 08:50

gpcf wrote:I really want to make a font for the LED display, so it can show destinations....

Nice, and don't forget the in-train display.

@orwell: also, can you please implement something that says "Waiting for preceeding train" when the train stops in front of a signal? (Similar to "Next stop: ..." in station/stop tracks)
Huh, why am I still using Minetest 4.x?
 

User avatar
Blockhead
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:14
In-game: Blockhead

Custom signals - texturing?

by Blockhead » Tue Aug 06, 2019 06:02

Hellouw! I would like to make a custom signalset. I have tried using the same approach as the ks signals, but I seem to have missed something in the texturing step. Also blend file for the ks signals (signal_ks_singlemesh_final.blend) seems to only work in 2.79. See my thread in the problems subforum: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=22990

Edit: I received help in that thread. You have to set the export to include Material Groups.
 

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by Imk » Tue Sep 10, 2019 15:23

Tell me how to make the rails switch automatically.
The semaphore works normally. On the platform the composition enters, the red lights up. At this moment I want the arrow to switch to another line. What am I doing wrong?

Image
+ route
Attachments
screenshot_20190910_172433.jpg
(69.68 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_20190910_172421.jpg
(70.92 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_20190910_172351.jpg
(137.68 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
h-v-smacker
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 23:04
GitHub: h-v-smacker
In-game: Smacker

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by h-v-smacker » Tue Sep 10, 2019 16:29

Imk wrote:Tell me how to make the rails switch automatically.
The semaphore works normally. On the platform the composition enters, the red lights up. At this moment I want the arrow to switch to another line. What am I doing wrong?


In case someone wonders, "arrow" → switch and "composition" → train. I guess some dictionary/google translate didn't do a good job guessing which of the translations to use.

Положение стрелочного перевода изменяется только при применении того или иного маршрута, проходящего через стрелку. Сам по себе он в исходное положение не вернётся, что-то может измениться, только когда следующий состав подъедет к светофору и запросит другой маршрут, до тех пор стрелка будет продолжать находится в том положении, которое предписывал последний маршрут. Положение концевиков задаётся при изначальном построении маршрута, для этого нужно установить стрелку в нужное положение и кликнуть на ней, но судя по картинке с этим проблем и нет. Если стрелка не была таким образом включена в маршрут, то при применении маршрута её положение останется таким же, каким и было, никакого контроля нет.

TL;DR: switches only change their position when routes are applied, they don't switch to some "default" or "standby" positions.
Last edited by h-v-smacker on Tue Sep 10, 2019 17:57, edited 1 time in total.
Linux Forks, the Best Forks: linux-forks.de // Play @ LinuxWorks Next Generation
 

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by Imk » Tue Sep 10, 2019 17:24

h-v-smacker спс, не совсем понял довай здесь поговорим, а то кикнут пост что на русском viewtopic.php?p=356715#p356715
 

untiltoday
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 22:50
In-game: ParalyzeEntertain
 

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk
 

untiltoday
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 22:50
In-game: ParalyzeEntertain

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by untiltoday » Sun Sep 15, 2019 19:51

Imk, I mean it theoretically. I guess it would be easy to add, at least if the developers of both advtrains and mob-generating mods collaborate.
 

yw05
Member
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:59
Location: linux-forks.de port 30000
IRC: yw05
In-game: ywang

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by yw05 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 20:40

untiltoday wrote:Imk, I mean it theoretically. I guess it would be easy to add, at least if the developers of both advtrains and mob-generating mods collaborate.

As far as I know players are attached onto wagons when getting on and detached from wagons when getting off. It should also be possible to attach mobs onto wagons as mobs are, like players and trains, also objects, but it would require every individual mob to have a unique id (or something like that) to make sure that not all of the same mob are attached onto the same wagon (which would very likely overload the wagon).
Also, how would you let mobs get off trains?
Imk wrote:no can not. the train can only bring them down

I think I saw some code somewhere that makes wagons accept only players.
Huh, why am I still using Minetest 4.x?
 

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by Imk » Sun Sep 15, 2019 23:47

Untiltoday, usually mobs are loaded with a chunk where there is a player and disappear when he is not. Or do you want to transport the tame pet? It’s easier to put them in inventory and then in a freight car. Or write a mod for it all.Since the trains are moving and not in the loaded chunks, thanks to the development of our mod. In minecraft, non-submerged chunk trains generally did not work. There they got out of the situation was a carriage with special blocks that loaded chunks along the train.

+ humor :)
Attachments
screenshot_20190916_031739.jpg
(94.24 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

untiltoday
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 22:50
In-game: ParalyzeEntertain

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by untiltoday » Mon Sep 16, 2019 02:32

Imk, I was thinking of Followers in working_villages. Right now they seem to be too stupid to even get through a door easily though. How many players can ride in the same passenger wagon at the same time? I know you can look around while being in one, but not move inside it.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by orwell » Mon Sep 16, 2019 09:51

Hm, from a quick look at the code, it appears that villagers are purely objects. They have no global ID or similar contraptions. Thus, advtrains can't keep track of them when they're unloaded.

It would be complicated, if not impossible, to make them ride trains.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by Imk » Mon Sep 16, 2019 14:08

Orwell hi, thanks for your work.
I would like to know if there will be a tender car?
After reading the first 25 pages of this section (no longer mastered). I saw that I was not the only one to raise this question.
Image
Functionality is also required.
The tender could be refueled with water and coal.
A steam locomotive should consume resources of water, any wood, foliage.
The steam locomotive should have a firebox where it was possible to throw a bucket of water and a tree for the first time.
An advanced option is the consumption of these resources from the tender.
For children, of course, and for adults, I want to play the tune. In locomotives, two signals are short and long, we have one. There is also a special sign before moving and entering the station to give a sound signal. We could implement this with a special rail by going to which train would emit a sound signal.
+ signals
 

User avatar
h-v-smacker
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 23:04
GitHub: h-v-smacker
In-game: Smacker

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by h-v-smacker » Mon Sep 16, 2019 16:17

I see the Green Book is as popular as ever!

Image
Linux Forks, the Best Forks: linux-forks.de // Play @ LinuxWorks Next Generation
 

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by Imk » Mon Sep 16, 2019 18:41

h-v-smacker wrote:I see the Green Book is as popular as ever!

My grandfather drove more steam engines, uncle diesel. I am not a driver or assistant, I can drive (CHMU TEP 60, etc.) and I know the rules. The book that on the left I remember lying in the attic of my grandfather)))
For me, the shock of how much the grandfather of coal threw a shovel into the furnace while working as an assistant to steam engines Kerch-Simferopol. That's why he said how good it is to be a diesel engine driver later and he worked.
+ rus for h-v-smacker
Last edited by Imk on Wed Sep 18, 2019 01:46, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
h-v-smacker
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 23:04
GitHub: h-v-smacker
In-game: Smacker

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by h-v-smacker » Mon Sep 16, 2019 19:04

Imk wrote:
Слушай, не могу понять как заставить несколько маршрутов работать одновременно.
у меня теперь в симофоре есть и зеленый и красный маршрут. но работает только один который я запустил и потом поставил автомат.
Например (придумал на ходу): есть зеленый маршрут (*) который отправляет на лево
также есть красный в котором указан поезд LN 8 прямо.

запускаю маршрут зеленый
но при подходе состава помеченный LN8
не как не реагирует как был запущенный зеленый маршрут так и остался

Подскажи как правильно включать чтобы маршруты выбирались из списка маршрутов?




Даже в мануале есть намеки что они должны работать.
Если явное правило ARS не соответствует поезду,
то выбирается и устанавливается маршрут по умолчанию.
Если маршрут по умолчанию отсутствует,
ничего не происходит и сигнал остается красным.


There are three ways to set a route: manual, automatic working, automatic route setting. Manual setting only works once, of course. Automatic working sets the same route over and over again, ignoring rules (if any). Once the train passes, it enables the same route and sets the entrance signal to green. ARS only sets a route on approach, follows the rules, and sets the signal green only momentarily when the train is passing through. So if you have more than one route to set — then automatic working cannot be used. ARS will do, as long as the signal says "ARS Enabled".

Есть три способа установить маршрут: вручную, с автоматическим восстановлением (AW), с автоматическим выбором (ARS). Установленный вручную маршрут работает, конечно, только один раз. При использовании AW один и тот же маршрут будет устанавливаться снова и снова, правила будут игнорироваться. Как только состав пройдет участок, такой сигнал снова зарезервирует указанный маршрут и установит входной зелёный. ARS устанавливает маршруты по правилам, при подходе поезда к сигналу, и зелёный зажигается только на момент прохода состава через границу участков. Так что при необходимости чередовать несколько маршрутов AW использовать нельзя. ARS будет работать, главное чтобы в меню сигнала было написано "ARS Enabled".
Linux Forks, the Best Forks: linux-forks.de // Play @ LinuxWorks Next Generation
 

ShadMOrdre
Member
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 08:07
Location: USA
GitHub: ShadMOrdre
In-game: shadmordre

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by ShadMOrdre » Mon Sep 16, 2019 23:13

orwell,

IIRC, the OpenAI mod had mobs that could ride in carts. Not sure how unloaded chunks were handled, if at all.

There must be some way that mobs_redo keeps track of mobs, because I can leave an area and come back and have the same mobs in that area.

This might be more a topic of conversation for TenPlus1 and mobs_redo, and the other mob mods, like Mobkit.


On a different note, is it possible to attach any entity? It would be nice to have the log car show logs when loaded, and nothing when empty. The same for some of the other trucks.


Shad
MY MODS: lib_ecology lib_materials lib_clouds lib_node_shapes ---- Inspired By: Open Source Virtual World Simulator Opensimulator.
 

User avatar
theFox
Member
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:08
Location: Germany
GitHub: theFox6
In-game: theFox

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by theFox » Tue Sep 17, 2019 15:21

About npc's riding trains:
untiltoday wrote:I was thinking of Followers in working_villages.

they can run behind the train if they detect the player within...
(edit: I mean they already can but the train will probably get too fast for them)

untiltoday wrote:I guess it would be easy to add, at least if the developers of both advtrains and mob-generating mods collaborate.

Sure, there would need to be some kind of api. Another mod should be able to ask for entry points into the train, then ask for attachment of the mob and finally for detaching.
But the npc's would still need to decide when to go into the train on their own.
Last edited by theFox on Wed Sep 18, 2019 15:02, edited 1 time in total.
my mods and subgames (ง'̀-'́)ง
 

untiltoday
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 22:50
In-game: ParalyzeEntertain

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by untiltoday » Tue Sep 17, 2019 18:43

Imk wrote:Untiltoday, usually mobs are loaded with a chunk where there is a player and disappear when he is not. Or do you want to transport the tame pet? It’s easier to put them in inventory and then in a freight car.


I guess cats must be transported in cat carriers and horses in stock cars, or else the cat's owner or the horse could lose some health (or the horse stay outside and be in danger). However, that would have to be a pref and only available when pet carriers and stock cars are used in the game, because complaining about that is like complaining about the ability to carry hundreds of wagons and dragons with you. Stock cars would be used automatically though, if attached to the train, so the issues would only concern trains without a stock car.

+ По-русски
 

untiltoday
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 22:50
In-game: ParalyzeEntertain

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by untiltoday » Tue Sep 17, 2019 18:51

theFox wrote:About npc's riding trains:
untiltoday wrote:I was thinking of Followers in working_villages.

they can run behind the train if they detect the player within...


At 70 km/h? Would they become invisible and follow the train closely to avoid collisions, and Torchers stop putting torches? Makes sense for mobs that can fit in a wagon together with the player (from my player-only POV).
 

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by Imk » Wed Sep 18, 2019 00:19

Untiltoday i understood one thing that you have an idea. So that residents behave like posazhira. They moved around the stations, waiting for the train. And then the port would come to life would not be so without crowded.
For animals, as in the real world, you need a box. You can implement the form of a device that packs them there and gives them.
I think this is the topic of a whole mod pack, but who would dare to write such a thing. If orwell will do all this, we will torture him)
 

untiltoday
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 22:50
In-game: ParalyzeEntertain

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by untiltoday » Wed Sep 18, 2019 20:29

Imk wrote:If orwell will do all this, we will torture him)


I'm afraid he might misunderstand that part of your message! :D

It will be helpful if, when using machine translation, you always put your original Russian text into
Code: Select all
[spoiler=по-русски]текст[/spoiler]
 

untiltoday
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 22:50
In-game: ParalyzeEntertain

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.0.1 TSS]

by untiltoday » Fri Sep 20, 2019 23:14

The idea was born when I didn't know that you can't move inside a wagon. So it was more about a crowd inside a wagon; at least I was wondering about how it looks to ride a train with another player.

Is it possible to implement walking inside a wagon at all? Apparently being in a wagon is currently done by Minetest through the attachment of the player node to a train node? Does a wagon consist of only one node, or is it multiple nodes? If it's the latter, then the wagon's properties could include also the inner area, and the player could move between the nodes inside that area... Although, if you can only attach a node to the middle of another node, without any offset, the movement would be discrete. A bigger problem, in my opinion, is that players would be more likely to forget not to punch the wagon.

+ по-русски
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests