[Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

User avatar
Wolfshippie
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:37
Location: Franconia, Bavaria, Germany
GitHub: Wolfshippie
IRC: wolfshippie
In-game: wolfshippie minehippie

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by Wolfshippie » Tue Jun 26, 2018 17:57

kurktu wrote:Can I define public areas within an owned area?

Yes, it's possible.

Just protect another area inside the first one and set it to open.
 

kurktu
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 18:13
In-game: kurktu

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by kurktu » Wed Jun 27, 2018 22:15

Wolfshippie wrote:
kurktu wrote:Can I define public areas within an owned area?

Yes, it's possible.
Just protect another area inside the first one and set it to open.

Ah ok cool how do I set it to open then?

Edit: Ah ok found it, by looking through the sourcecode: /area_open
That command was not documented in the Readme ^^"

Thanks :)
 

frbitten
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 00:16
GitHub: frbitten
IRC: frbitten
In-game: frbitten

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by frbitten » Thu Jul 12, 2018 00:21

Is this MOD still functional in the latest version of the game? I am trying to run the commands and always appears invalid command.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5859
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by rubenwardy » Thu Jul 12, 2018 00:22

Yes. This is one of the two most popular protection mods

Also, what game? Do you mean latest version of Minetest? Minetest is a game engine, not a game

Also, what exactly are you typing?
 

frbitten
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 00:16
GitHub: frbitten
IRC: frbitten
In-game: frbitten

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by frbitten » Thu Jul 12, 2018 17:58

rubenwardy wrote:Yes. This is one of the two most popular protection mods

Also, what game? Do you mean latest version of Minetest? Minetest is a game engine, not a game

Also, what exactly are you typing?



I downloaded the version of the site (Windows Minetest 0.4.17.1 - portable, 64-bit). I put the mod in the folder indicated. But the commands do not work.

I tried starting a minetest_game or the minimal option. None worked.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5859
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
 

frbitten
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 00:16
GitHub: frbitten
IRC: frbitten
In-game: frbitten

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by frbitten » Thu Jul 12, 2018 19:47

All commands

see the printscreen
error.png
(221.65 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by hajo » Fri Jul 13, 2018 00:44

frbitten wrote:I put the mod in the folder indicated. But the commands do not work.

Did you activate the mod ?
Try /help to see what commands are available.
Also, look into debug.txt for errors / messages.
 

frbitten
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 00:16
GitHub: frbitten
IRC: frbitten
In-game: frbitten

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by frbitten » Sat Jul 14, 2018 00:15

I solved the problem. I was putting the mods in "minetest \ mods" and the correct place was "minetest \ games \ minetest_game \ mods"

What is the minetest \ mods folder for? Osm mods appear in the list on the main screen, but are not loaded in the game.
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4391
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by Krock » Sat Jul 14, 2018 08:09

frbitten wrote:I solved the problem.

You moved the mod from the correct location into the wrong one. Move it back to minetest/mods and configure your world and enable the mod. See this or a similar video for detailed instructions.
If you put your mods into minetest_game, they will be enabled for all your worlds and updating minetest_game to a newer version will become a pain.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

Chiantos
Member
 
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 09:04

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by Chiantos » Fri Jul 27, 2018 13:16

Deleted message
Last edited by Chiantos on Mon Sep 30, 2019 06:40, edited 1 time in total.
 

mase
Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 20:16
In-game: mase

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by mase » Tue Dec 04, 2018 17:11

I have self protected an area, but other users still can build and remove blocks.
 

BuckarooBanzay
Member
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: thomasrudin-mt
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by BuckarooBanzay » Wed Dec 05, 2018 09:29

mase wrote:I have self protected an area, but other users still can build and remove blocks.


Are you sure the other players don't have the areas or protection_bypass privilege?
 

mase
Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 20:16
In-game: mase

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by mase » Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:04

No, they only have the interact and the areas_high_limit privilege. Self protection is enabled. Only the admin has the areas privilege.
 

User avatar
fridolin2
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 18:12
Location: Germany
GitHub: fridolin2
IRC: fridolin
In-game: fridolin

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by fridolin2 » Thu Mar 07, 2019 11:42

Dear ShadowNinja:
can you please add an function to add groups in an area?

e.g. : player1, player2, player3, are defined as group1

so i can add in an area the group1 as owner, so there can mine and build player1, player2, and player3.

that would be very usefull for building on a big project with more peoples
 

User avatar
Lupercus
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 02:08
GitHub: lupercus13
IRC: Lupercus-Server
In-game: Lupercus

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by Lupercus » Wed Jul 17, 2019 01:03

Why is Areas mod not set to self protect by default? its annoying going to servers that have it but it cant be used by players. I know its easy to set it, but why not just set by default? just wondering.
 

User avatar
Zalera
Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 01:46
GitHub: Zalera
IRC: Zalera
In-game: Zalera

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by Zalera » Sun Aug 25, 2019 01:52

DELETED

My bad. There're no errors. It's just I was using an admin user with lots of privs. Sorry.
 

mr_chicken
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 07:18

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by mr_chicken » Sat Sep 07, 2019 07:24

EDIT:
Never mind, i got it


How do i use it and how does it work, i've been trying and can't get it to work.

What i've done is set an area (cube)
selected it
protect
and closed

but when i enter as someone else, it can dig and destroy what i as admin have created/build.
 

SiliconPenguin
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 08:56

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by SiliconPenguin » Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:53

Hi all!
I so hate this to be my first post, but here it goes:

Obligatory Preamble: I've been playing minetest for a number of months now, and I'm having a wonderful time! Thank you so much to everyone that has contributed everything from the simplest png, to the most complex mods...

My current issue: My friend came over and expressed interest in playing along with me in the sub-game I'd created. So I set it up as a server game, and I thought I should probably add a protection mod as per the recommendations. I read through this entire thread to familiarize myself with this mod, and I thought I had a handle on how to use it. However... The README.md points you to the settingtypes.txt file as a guide for setting up the mod on a server, and this file just seems to be confusing at best.

It starts out:

# This file is parsed in "settings.lua". Check regex first.
Okay, this tells me it's parsed in "settings.lua", but why am I checking my regular expressions first? And what am I checking them for?

The next statement is:
# Static paths do not work well with settings
#areas.filename (Configuration file path) string (world_path)/areas.dat

Okay, we get a warning that static paths "do not work well with settings", but the following line makes no sense at all to me. What's it for, and what relation does it have to the former warning? Am I supposed to create said areas.dat file? Or does the mod create it for me? No idea, but I'll check my regex's anyway... Sarcasm aside, If I'm supposed to create this file, is this saying that my configuration file path should equal my worldpath/areas.dat? And that areas.dat is my config file? Because the README.md says I should adjust my minetest.conf file with these settings, so now I'm doubly confused.

Next we get this:
# Allow players with a privilege create their own areas using /protect
# within the specified size and amount limits.
areas.self_protection (Self protection) bool false

Is this supposed to be added to my minetes.conf file?
If so, am I supposed to replace "(Self protection)" with "=" ? <-- Not self explanatory!
and if so, am I supposed to select true or false after the "=" ?

I could go on, but I think I made it clear why I'm confused by these directions. There aren't any concise examples for how to use these commands.

Anyway, I hope someone in the community will help make this a little clearer for me, and maybe the settingtypes.txt file can be rewritten to be a bit more helpful.

Thanks in advance!
Terry.
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by Nathan.S » Sun Sep 22, 2019 12:29

Go to the settings tab, and click on All Settings in the lower left corner, then search for areas in the search box.
Double click on the lines to edit the settings, this will save the changes to your minetest.conf file automatically.
Image
Attachments
areas.png
(58.65 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

SiliconPenguin
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 08:56

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by SiliconPenguin » Sun Sep 22, 2019 12:59

Thanks Nathan.S, but it doesn't work like that. Do you mean:
Settings->Advanced Settings->Mods->areas ?????
 

SiliconPenguin
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 08:56

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by SiliconPenguin » Sun Sep 22, 2019 13:34

@ Nathan.S I wouldn't expect to be able to modify a setting like this through the client anyway. But it is there. But when I use the chat command, it says "invalid command". But it shows up in the menu system...
 

SiliconPenguin
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 08:56

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by SiliconPenguin » Sun Sep 22, 2019 14:05

Forget it, this mod is hot garbage. If you're playing singleplayer, you don't need this. If you're playing on a server, this is the kind of thing you need. But the docs are garbage - they make no sense. I'm moving on to something else...

EDIT:
This mod is a perfect example of why people think open source software sucks. The only use case for this mod is if you are running a minetest server, but the docs are only clear for the end user - not for the person setting up the server.

I've been involved with Open Source since 1994, and I've seen this over and over again. I guess you need to be one of the anointed to be able to decipher the instructions?

What the heck is this: "areas.self_protection_max_size (Maximal area size) v3f (64, 128, 64)"

What the heck is "v3f"? what the heck is that? I guess that doesn't matter... how does this apply to my server? Am I supposed to include it in my string in minetest.conf? or elsewhere?
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by Nathan.S » Sun Sep 22, 2019 16:06

If you are hosting the world via the 'Host Game' button at the main screen any settings you change in the settings tab should be reflected in the world. Changing mod settings on a client will not have any effect when joining a server, as the server sets the settings independently of what clients have set, for obvious reasons, as people could cheat by changing settings.

If you are getting an error about Invalid Command you might not have enabled the mod, you can check that by running the /mods command when connected to the server.

You'd add areas.self_protection_max_size = (64, 128, 64) to your minetest.conf file. The settings.txt file is parsed by the engine to populate the settings page, so the v3f probably tells the engine that this setting is three values, for the XYZ. You can always copy and paste from one Minetest.conf to another if you have a different .conf file for your local game and the server you are running.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

salvamea
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2019 06:03
In-game: Salvamea

Re: [Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

by salvamea » Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:03

Hi everyone and good morning, someone can explain to me what I have to do to make this mod work?
I inserted the mod in the mod folder the commands work but does not protect the areas, I use it on a world that I am creating myself as a server. How should I configure the minetest.conf file?
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 21 guests