Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematics

Robsoie
Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 16:22

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Robsoie » Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:24

Ah thanks, i thought there were some mods with such items floating somewhere as i had found this mysterious "doors:door_steel_t_1" mentionned in the bottom of :
https://github.com/minetest-mods/meseco ... s/init.lua
 

Robsoie
Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 16:22

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Robsoie » Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:14

I also noticed there are several type of minecraft blocks aren't exported at all (as they're not even appearing as unknown so can't be replaced in handle schematics by example) , by example everything quartz or red clay isn't exported by example as i noticed when toying with a mini coloseum mc schematic from there .

after a normal export, as it was, all the blocks that were made originally of quartz or red clay aren't in the mts, so when importing in worldedit :
http://i.imgur.com/DcP1J2c.jpg

To fix this problem, i had to replace everything involving quartz (and the red clay too) by wood, stone and sandstone within MCEdit (fortunately it has an easy enough block replacer/filler) to be able to have those blocks exported :
http://i.imgur.com/gnw5tJZ.jpg

There are probably more MC type of blocks that aren't exported by as i am not versed in minecraft i have no idea which they are.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3886
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Sokomine » Mon Jun 12, 2017 15:48

Robsoie wrote:I also noticed there are several type of minecraft blocks aren't exported at all (as they're not even appearing as unknown so can't be replaced in handle schematics by example) , by example everything quartz or red clay isn't exported by example as i noticed when toying with a mini coloseum mc schematic from there .

Take a look at my mccompat mod. It does register new nodes for a wide variety of MC nodes. You can even have them look as close to MC as possible if you provide the textures.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

Robsoie
Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 16:22

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Robsoie » Mon Jun 12, 2017 21:11

Didn't noticed this mod before, thanks for pointing to it, i'll give it a try to see if it can convert the schematic into mts without losing several nodes.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3886
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Sokomine » Mon Jun 12, 2017 21:14

Robsoie wrote:Didn't noticed this mod before, thanks for pointing to it, i'll give it a try to see if it can convert the schematic into mts without losing several nodes.

handle_schematics supports the .schematics format from MC as well. It doesn't support other formats and might not be the best idea for importing extremly big maps.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

lonestar
Member
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 03:25
Location: Texas,USA

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by lonestar » Sun Aug 27, 2017 22:56

Sokomine wrote:
Robsoie wrote:Didn't noticed this mod before, thanks for pointing to it, i'll give it a try to see if it can convert the schematic into mts without losing several nodes.

handle_schematics supports the .schematics format from MC as well. It doesn't support other formats and might not be the best idea for importing extremly big maps.


Last I checked, which was today with latest commits, handle_schematics does not import .schematic files from MC.

Code: Select all
Error reading building data:
Unable to read data file of this building
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3886
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by Sokomine » Sun Sep 10, 2017 05:34

lonestar wrote:Last I checked, which was today with latest commits, handle_schematics does not import .schematic files from MC.

It does. At least the .schematics I have for testing. What you need to do in order to import MC schematics is to manually decompress the file, like "mv House.schematic House.schematic.gz; gunzip House.schematic.gz". After that you ought to be able to import it.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

houlala
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 13:12
Location: Long way from here

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by houlala » Fri Oct 27, 2017 20:14

Hello,

I tried to convert some minecraft construction on a minetest map, but when i load, i have an error.

+ Spoiler
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by sfan5 » Sat Oct 28, 2017 08:49

Your posted logfile does not contain any messages related to loading schematics so I can't tell you what the problem was.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

houlala
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 13:12
Location: Long way from here

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by houlala » Sat Oct 28, 2017 18:40

Ok, sorry.

In fact, it's just messages indicating that certains blocks can't be converted.
I observed this later.

Anyway, thanks for your great program, and sorry for my rough english.
 

User avatar
AccidentallyRhine
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by AccidentallyRhine » Thu Nov 30, 2017 22:08

Is there any functional difference between using .we and .mts formats?
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3886
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by Sokomine » Sun Dec 03, 2017 16:40

AccidentallyRhine wrote:Is there any functional difference between using .we and .mts formats?

Those are two diffrent file formats. The result of placing one ought to be about the same for the player. .mts files may also contain probability information and thus produce more diverse results. The .mts file format has been developped for mapgens.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
Phoenixflo44
Member
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 15:01
Location: Behind my PC, in Germany
In-game: Phoenixflo44

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by Phoenixflo44 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 16:37

I've read through everything but I still do not understand how it works. What do I have to do without Minecraft?

If anybody can help me then write in the topic.

https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=20493

The same problem I have with the Minecraft maps.
+ Spoiler
 

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
Location: The Netherlands
In-game: Miniontoby

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by Miniontoby » Sun Jun 16, 2019 18:47

DELETED
Last edited by Miniontoby on Wed Sep 04, 2019 17:10, edited 1 time in total.
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell"
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by sofar » Wed Jun 19, 2019 02:57

Miniontoby wrote:Can anyone try to convert this minecraft world to a minetest world??

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1g3XUWz ... sp=sharing


Try throwing it into `mcimport` and see what happens?
 

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
Location: The Netherlands
In-game: Miniontoby

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by Miniontoby » Wed Jun 19, 2019 08:52

DELETED
Last edited by Miniontoby on Wed Sep 04, 2019 17:10, edited 1 time in total.
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell"
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by sofar » Sat Jun 22, 2019 04:17

Miniontoby wrote:But I know that redstone is included


Even MCL2 doesn't even do redstone, so, mcimport is the best solution there currently is - it will at least convert some of it to mesecons.
 

User avatar
bosapara
Member
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 08:49
GitHub: bosapara
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 2075
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by sofar » Mon Sep 23, 2019 03:53

bosapara wrote:Does minetest export was deleted from mcedit?


Syntax error.
 

User avatar
bosapara
Member
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 08:49
GitHub: bosapara

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by bosapara » Mon Sep 23, 2019 05:50

sofar wrote:
bosapara wrote:Does minetest export was deleted from mcedit?


Syntax error.



This seems a little off-topic for you?
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5859
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by rubenwardy » Mon Sep 23, 2019 08:01

bosapara wrote:Does minetest export was deleted from mcedit?

Image


Try clicking the export button in the menu, rather than the add effect button in the mobs dialog
 

User avatar
bosapara
Member
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 08:49
GitHub: bosapara

Re: Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematic

by bosapara » Mon Sep 23, 2019 08:17

rubenwardy wrote:
bosapara wrote:Does minetest export was deleted from mcedit?

Image


Try clicking the export button in the menu, rather than the add effect button in the mobs dialog


Found a solution, mcedit requested special *.py scrypt.
 

Previous

Return to Maps



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 2 guests