[question] Is is possible to have/use empty/hidden name ?

Post Reply
User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 4181
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
GitHub: Festus1965
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

[question] Is is possible to have/use empty/hidden name ?

by Festus1965 » Post

Inside 24 hours I had 2 crash on "Asia Thailand" as
* of nil player_name in mod EUban

Code: Select all

2020-03-16 07:37:35: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod '' in callback on_prejoinplayer(): /home/thomas/.minetest/mods/euban/init.lua:262: attempt to index a nil value
2020-03-16 07:37:35: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2020-03-16 07:37:35: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/thomas/.minetest/mods/euban/init.lua:262: in function 'is_banned'
and then one more crash
* with same reason in mod showbones

Code: Select all

2020-03-16 17:34:18: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod 'showbones' in callback on_leaveplayer(): /home/thomas/.minetest/mods/showbones/init.lua:269: attempt to index a nil value
2020-03-16 17:34:18: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2020-03-16 17:34:18: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/thomas/.minetest/mods/showbones/init.lua:269: in function 'save_player_table'
Could that be, or what might have been happened ?
Last edited by Festus1965 on Tue Mar 17, 2020 02:19, edited 1 time in total.
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6978
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [question] Is is possible to have/use empty/hidden name

by rubenwardy » Post

Are you storing objectrefs?

This could happen with an expired objectref, or if a mod is providing fake players

As always, please provide the code so we can see
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 4181
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
GitHub: Festus1965
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

[question] Is is possible to have/use empty/hidden name

by Festus1965 » Post

rubenwardy wrote:Are you storing objectrefs?

This could happen with an expired objectref, or if a mod is providing fake players

As always, please provide the code so we can see
A: Not that I know -
B: how to know if a mod uses fake players ?
C: I am using original mod code (so I linked there source in 1st post now)

and as this didn't happen for about a year, this often repeat same happening just now inside 24hours don't seam to have a reason in still same wrong code, more likely in something new in a client or method about or like hacker ...
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
Clyde
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

Re: [question] Is is possible to have/use empty/hidden name

by Clyde » Post

This looks like this here:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19664&start=25#p368352

The code of the mods were ok.
The solution for me was the update to the newest version of minetest at the server.
Greetings, Clyde.
My Server: Welcome to Zeitsprung - deadsoft.org:49152 Jungle The next Gundul - jungle-tng.deadsoft.org:49152

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 4181
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
GitHub: Festus1965
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

Re: [question] Is is possible to have/use empty/hidden name

by Festus1965 » Post

Clyde wrote: The solution for me was the update to the newest version of minetest at the server.
What is newest to you:
* final stable = 5.1.1
* or what kind of safe, sure dev Version with 5.2.0 ?
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
Clyde
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

Re: [question] Is is possible to have/use empty/hidden name

by Clyde » Post

Directly from git with compiling and installing.
My Server: Welcome to Zeitsprung - deadsoft.org:49152 Jungle The next Gundul - jungle-tng.deadsoft.org:49152

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 4181
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
GitHub: Festus1965
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

[question] Is is possible to have/use empty/hidden name

by Festus1965 » Post

Clyde wrote:Directly from git with compiling and installing.
your all so funny: old versions, stable and dev are all on git, where I take them all from ... hihi, so mean, your answer didn't help anything yet. so
* sudo add-apt-repository ppa:minetestdevs/stable
* etc.

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/minetest/minetest.git
and after cmake and install = my actual and problem seen above (5.1.1),
as at 5.2.0-dev I saw that command "/revoke shout player" and the player still could talk in chat, so back to 5.1.1 and not sure as that problem was from dev or hacked-clients
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
Clyde
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

Re: [question] Is is possible to have/use empty/hidden name

by Clyde » Post

Festus1965 wrote: your all so funny: old versions, stable and dev are all on git, where I take them all from ... hihi, so mean, your answer didn't help anything yet. so
I'm sorry about that, the server list tells me 5.2.0-dev.
I compile it with the flag -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release.
Festus1965 wrote: as at 5.2.0-dev I saw that command "/revoke shout player" and the player still could talk in chat, so back to 5.1.1 and not sure as that problem was from dev or hacked-clients
This i've not tested, but i will do it, i can revoke myself the shout-priv and try to chat, this should show me enough.
My Server: Welcome to Zeitsprung - deadsoft.org:49152 Jungle The next Gundul - jungle-tng.deadsoft.org:49152

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 4181
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
GitHub: Festus1965
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

Re: [question] Is is possible to have/use empty/hidden name

by Festus1965 » Post

Clyde wrote:I'm sorry about that, the server list tells me 5.2.0-dev.
?

Code: Select all

server.minetest.one:30001	2/60 3/40	5.1.1, BrainCraft	
Asia Thailand - App 5.x - fast server...
2d / 2.1y	294 / 34
That is my server.
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
Clyde
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

Re: [question] Is is possible to have/use empty/hidden name

by Clyde » Post

?

Code: Select all
server.minetest.one:30001 2/60 3/40 5.1.1, BrainCraft
Asia Thailand - App 5.x - fast server...
2d / 2.1y 294 / 34


That is my server.
Seems you missunderstood me, i talked about my server, where i had a similar problem and was hoping, this information helps you.

I know your server, i'm sometimes there ;-).
My Server: Welcome to Zeitsprung - deadsoft.org:49152 Jungle The next Gundul - jungle-tng.deadsoft.org:49152

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 4181
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
GitHub: Festus1965
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

[question] Is is possible to have/use empty/hidden name ?

by Festus1965 » Post

then better we stop the discussing here, as of too much miss = understand
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests