[Mod] Map [2] [map]

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

[Mod] Map [2] [map]

by PilzAdam » Post

Hello everyone!
I have made a mod that adds a map of the world. It uses the minetestmapper script wich is in the util folder of minetest.
If you have installed it the mod will create a image of the world (This will take some time depending on the size of the map). In the game you can craft a map like this:

Code: Select all

paper    paper
paper    paper
If you want a updated version of the map just delete the file map.png in the map/textures/ folder (the next loading of the world will create a new map wich takes some time too).

There is currently no working windows version.

Depends:
  • default
  • You need to have python installed otherwise the script wont work. You also need the PIL (python image libary).
Problems:
If there appears an error while creating the image you will see the command that need to be run in the debug.txt (something like "[map] Tried to run command "python ..."").

License:
The mod contains a copy of the python script minetestmapper.py wich has the license in line 4-8 in the script.
All other parts: WTFPL.

Download:
Last edited by PilzAdam on Wed Aug 22, 2012 14:38, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

New version. Version 1 didnt work.

pagliaccio
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 07:38
Location: italy

by pagliaccio » Post

screen?

cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

Any chance of writing in c++ or something else that can be compiled and included with the mod?

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

cornernote wrote:Any chance of writing in c++ or something else that can be compiled and included with the mod?
Nope (I think).

PewDiePie
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 17:39

by PewDiePie » Post

Does this work with 0.4.2?
_Pewdy_
There's A Reason Your Heart Is On The Left Side Because Its not Always Right.
-Wiz Khalifa

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

PewDiePie wrote:Does this work with 0.4.2?
_Pewdy_
Only linux with python and PIL installed.

PewDiePie
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 17:39

by PewDiePie » Post

so i cant use it?
_Pewdy_
There's A Reason Your Heart Is On The Left Side Because Its not Always Right.
-Wiz Khalifa

User avatar
tonyka
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 04:08
Location: Alicante, España

by tonyka » Post

PewDiePie wrote:so i cant use it?
_Pewdy_
Sure you can use ... linux is free and better than that winbugg ...
I recommend to start Lubuntu know, you can install it under windows like a program (running Wubi.exe) and uninstall it if you do not like ...
and enjoy the power of open software and minetest
Image

I hope this is not considered spam....

y love Linux!!! & map mod...
My mod: [MOD]3D Forniture 1.0
Download: 3DForniture_v_1.0.zip
Page development (European Castilian):
Moviliario 3D (proyecto 3D Forniture)

User avatar
tonyka
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 04:08
Location: Alicante, España

by tonyka » Post

as I add blocks of mods?
My mod: [MOD]3D Forniture 1.0
Download: 3DForniture_v_1.0.zip
Page development (European Castilian):
Moviliario 3D (proyecto 3D Forniture)

leo_rockway
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 20:37

by leo_rockway » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
cornernote wrote:Any chance of writing in c++ or something else that can be compiled and included with the mod?
Nope (I think).
Mapper in C++
Last edited by leo_rockway on Sun Aug 26, 2012 07:41, edited 1 time in total.
Try Skyblock for MineClone 2
Listen to this sound and music pack!

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

leo_rockway wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:
cornernote wrote:Any chance of writing in c++ or something else that can be compiled and included with the mod?
Nope (I think).
Mapper in C++
I already compiled one version for me and test it now. I will see how to implement it in this mod.

User avatar
tonyka
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 04:08
Location: Alicante, España

by tonyka » Post

which is how to compile it?
I only get errors ...
My mod: [MOD]3D Forniture 1.0
Download: 3DForniture_v_1.0.zip
Page development (European Castilian):
Moviliario 3D (proyecto 3D Forniture)

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Disclaimer: I read that it doesn't work under Windows

I've been away from Minetest for a bit and I've just resurrected my old server this afternoon, then got the updated Mapper to run on Windows with no changes to the script.

For anyone that cares to try, I think that you can do this under Windows, however it's the os.execute call that isn't working correctly under Win as it doesn't natively take the python call like that. I may add it to the env path later and test.

Requirements
Last edited by RabbiBob on Tue Aug 28, 2012 01:11, edited 1 time in total.

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Post

can you make map be stored in world folder instead of mod folder?
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

sapier wrote:can you make map be stored in world folder instead of mod folder?
Its difficult because its the texture for the map node.

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Post

didn't think about that ...
I asked because I tried with different worlds ... obviously getting wrong map on second and following worlds
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved

bob
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 00:59

by bob » Post

Can you put a screenshot please?

irksomeduck
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 21:45
Location: Littleroot town, Hoenn region

by irksomeduck » Post

No Windows version :(
I love exploring minetest worlds :D
If you have a good seed let me know
--------------------------------------------------
My world/house pack- http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3066

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4276
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

Might it be possible to mix this mod with the new inventory_plus to display a more helpful extract of the map to the player? The complete map may grow quite large. Displayed in the size of a usual nodebox, the map is too small to recognize anything . Things like current position, home and other points of interest might be helpful as well. Especially their relative positions.
And please check your mails...seems mine got lost in a spamfilter - again :-(
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
GJH105775
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 16:11
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

by GJH105775 » Post

Sweet, I am on a linux (ubuntu 12) and code in python.
Check out my mod xtrablocks, has some different types of marble that you can build with or mine at different depths

I am not here regularly as I just kind of pop in and out. If you want to find me I'll be on quadcopterforum.com helping with multirotor builds and spending other's money haha.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/ ... hicons.jpg

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

Sokomine wrote:Might it be possible to mix this mod with the new inventory_plus to display a more helpful extract of the map to the player? The complete map may grow quite large. Displayed in the size of a usual nodebox, the map is too small to recognize anything . Things like current position, home and other points of interest might be helpful as well. Especially their relative positions.
And please check your mails...seems mine got lost in a spamfilter - again :-(
tried sticking a map in the formspec with mixed results:
Image
its smaller than if i walk up to it :-/

idea: try splitting the map texture into 4 parts. pageflip on punch or tile them on the wall.
Last edited by mauvebic on Wed Oct 24, 2012 02:55, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

by paramat » Post

Hi first post.
Thanks for this mod. My small map takes roughly 15 minutes to generate at the 'creating server ...' screen.
To view in game you can place it on a low ceiling above a torch, look straight up and move around underneath using WASD.
Last edited by paramat on Fri Jun 14, 2013 06:59, edited 1 time in total.

Dragonop
Member
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop
Location: Argentina

by Dragonop » Post

I NEED THIS but i have windows D:

User avatar
RobSis
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 23:08
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

by RobSis » Post

Amazing mod, thanks!

With mireq's C++ implementation of mapper it's real smooth, btw.
7w^6R1 ddTz`C

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests