[Mod] Skyblock [skyblock]

Post Reply
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

[Mod] Skyblock [skyblock]

by cornernote » Post

Skyblock for Minetest

Copyright (C) 2015 cornernote, Brett O'Donnell <cornernote@gmail.com>
License: GPLv3

Homepage | Download | Sokomine Fork


Screenshots

Youtube Video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-qpuXP88SU

Image


Credits

PilzAdam - code to make a tree came from his farming mod
RealBadAngel - help in IRC to make the spiral
Last edited by cornernote on Mon May 02, 2016 23:25, edited 7 times in total.

Belgac
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 15:27
Location: Brussels, Belgium

by Belgac » Post

Great mod idea. I really like it.

I would suggest that you change the actual wood crafting with the tree to a new recipe:
When you put leaves in the crafting grid you get 1 stick
Then you can create basic pickaxe and axe by putting sticks this way

SSS
XSX = basic pickaxe
XSX

XSS
XSS = basic axe
XSX

Those will of course be less efficient and have less uses than the wooden tools
Last edited by Belgac on Thu Aug 16, 2012 15:33, edited 1 time in total.
Contributor: Plant aging library
Creator: (soon)

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Why gets the player a lava-source and not a lava bucket?

cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

Belgac wrote:Great mod idea. I really like it.

I would suggest that you change the actual wood crafting with the tree to a new recipe:
When you put leaves in the crafting grid you get 1 stick
Then you can create basic pickaxe and axe by putting sticks this way

SSS
XSX = basic pickaxe
XSX

XSS
XSS = basic axe
XSX

Those will of course be less efficient and have less uses than the wooden tools

Thanks. I'm not planning on adding any tools or items into this minimal version. The aim is to get the mods working for the most basic concept of a skyblock game.

I may release a mod-packed version that has goals and rewards (as well as hundreds of craftable items).
PilzAdam wrote:Why gets the player a lava-source and not a lava bucket?
So they don't get 2 buckets. I want them to have minimal things, so that misplacing a block really hurts.

Also, this works really well with your item_drop mod cos you have to ensure you don't lose items off the edge. =)

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

cornernote wrote:Also, this works really well with your item_drop mod cos you have to ensure you don't lose items off the edge. =)
The velocity to the sides is too slow for that.

madarexxx
Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 06:49

by madarexxx » Post

can i ask - what is abm?
Sorry for my bad English, please help me learn it - correct my worst mistakes :)

jin_xi
Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 18:19

by jin_xi » Post

active block modifier - its a way to make stuff happen in minetest mods

madarexxx
Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 06:49

by madarexxx » Post

thank you
Sorry for my bad English, please help me learn it - correct my worst mistakes :)

TheLoLMan
Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 13:43

by TheLoLMan » Post

Good i dont install

FreeFull
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 08:34

by FreeFull » Post

Is there a way to get more than the 1 water source you're given?

User avatar
NakedFury
Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 03:55

by NakedFury » Post

Cant play this.
View goes black, I can see a bar where the hearts are, the minetest blah blah FPS=60 and thats it.

cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

FreeFull wrote:Is there a way to get more than the 1 water source you're given?
/giveme default:water_source .. or join as a second player then build to the first player.

NakedFury wrote:Cant play this.
View goes black, I can see a bar where the hearts are, the minetest blah blah FPS=60 and thats it.
Sometimes the client too fast and the mod doesn't create the spawn block. I'm still working on a better solution. For now you can just quit an rejoin. If there is still no spawn block then join with a new username.

I am going to provide a /restart command which will empty your inventory then give you a new spawn position.

FreeFull
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 08:34

by FreeFull » Post

If you would give the player 2 water sources + 1 lava bucket, they could make themselves infinite water sources.

cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

FreeFull wrote:If you would give the player 2 water sources + 1 lava bucket, they could make themselves infinite water sources.
done

cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

game has been updated, requesting move to Mod Releases

FreeFull
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 08:34

by FreeFull » Post

You didn't make nyancats stop being generated, which results in nyancats beyond reach taunting the player (since they always spawn below -64)

cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

FreeFull wrote:You didn't make nyancats stop being generated, which results in nyancats beyond reach taunting the player (since they always spawn below -64)
Are you sure they are only below -64? I saw one fly past above me, but it was while i was falling, so maybe you are right.

It was the 1st one i ever saw! =)

cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

Below Y= -3

https://github.com/celeron55/minetest/b ... .cpp#L2412

Code: Select all

    /*
        Add NC
    */
    {
        PseudoRandom ncrandom(blockseed+9324342);
        if(ncrandom.range(0, 1000) == 0 && blockpos.Y <= -3)
        {
            make_nc(vmanip, ncrandom, ndef);
        }
    }
What do you think SkyBlock should do? Disable them, or leave them? You can always set your floor to be lower.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Leave them, they're rare enough anyway. :p

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

FreeFull wrote:You didn't make nyancats stop being generated, which results in nyancats beyond reach taunting the player (since they always spawn below -64)
BUILD CHALLENGES

Your mission is to build the following:

11) catch a nyancat (edit: and build something with it :-P )
Last edited by Topywo on Mon Aug 20, 2012 21:04, edited 1 time in total.

cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

My 1st attempt to complete the build challenges:
Image
Image
Image
Image

Blackthorne
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 07:38

by Blackthorne » Post

When I downloaded and installed this, I was interested. When I started it up only a few minutes ago, I was started not on a floating island...but a single BLOCK.

...challenge accepted.

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Post

Blackthorne wrote:When I downloaded and installed this, I was interested. When I started it up only a few minutes ago, I was started not on a floating island...but a single BLOCK.

...challenge accepted.
you mean NODE :)

Blackthorne
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 07:38

by Blackthorne » Post

RealBadAngel wrote:
Blackthorne wrote:When I downloaded and installed this, I was interested. When I started it up only a few minutes ago, I was started not on a floating island...but a single BLOCK.

...challenge accepted.
you mean NODE :)
Node, yes. How silly of me. :D

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Post

Blackthorne wrote:
RealBadAngel wrote:
Blackthorne wrote:When I downloaded and installed this, I was interested. When I started it up only a few minutes ago, I was started not on a floating island...but a single BLOCK.

...challenge accepted.
you mean NODE :)
Node, yes. How silly of me. :D
btw read the topic again, to have that island and a tree u have to run world edit script
Last edited by RealBadAngel on Tue Aug 21, 2012 12:00, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 12 guests