Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

User avatar
runs
Member
Posts: 2151
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 08:32
GitHub: runsy

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by runs » Post

The same "issue" in petz, now a semitransparency.

I had some transparency issues with blocks too in 5.4.
πŸ€‘ Patreon | β˜• Minetest Chat | πŸ‘§ Samantha | ⛏️ Juanchi Game | 🐱 Petz

User avatar
goats
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 05:29

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by goats » Post

At least earlier 5.4 builds, any texture with transparency throws a warning:

Code: Select all

WARNING[Main]: Texture "something.png" of mod:something has transparent pixels, assuming use_texture_alpha = true.
Where "true" = blend or clip depending on drawtype. Also, the Boolean is deprecated already, so it is a funny warning. It seems it might be that in a node definition the use_texture_alpha = (type) may need to be explicitly set, or you may have an unexpected result.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6431
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by rubenwardy » Post

Gundul wrote: ↑
Sun Feb 07, 2021 09:50
I think I found a bug with the entity nametag:
This is a new future called "Semi-transparent background for nametags" by Zughy.

There will probably be a nametag attribute to customise the background color in the future. If you have any complaints about this, please open an issue or post them here and I will
goats wrote: ↑
Sun Feb 07, 2021 15:03
At least earlier 5.4 builds, any texture with transparency throws a warning:

Code: Select all

WARNING[Main]: Texture "something.png" of mod:something has transparent pixels, assuming use_texture_alpha = true.
Where "true" = blend or clip depending on drawtype. Also, the Boolean is deprecated already, so it is a funny warning. It seems it might be that in a node definition the use_texture_alpha = (type) may need to be explicitly set, or you may have an unexpected result.
The changelog contains a section for deprecations with instructions on how to fix them. This warning only appears for nodebox and mesh nodes which have transparent textures but no use_texture_alpha property

User avatar
goats
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 05:29

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by goats » Post

rubenwardy wrote: ↑
Sun Feb 07, 2021 15:06
The changelog contains a section for deprecations with instructions on how to fix them. This warning only appears for nodebox and mesh nodes which have transparent textures but no use_texture_alpha property
Thanks!

Gundul
Member
Posts: 1221
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 10:55
GitHub: berengma
IRC: Gundul
Location: Europe/Asia
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by Gundul » Post

rubenwardy wrote: ↑
Sun Feb 07, 2021 15:06
Gundul wrote: ↑
Sun Feb 07, 2021 09:50
I think I found a bug with the entity nametag:
This is a new future called "Semi-transparent background for nametags" by Zughy.

There will probably be a nametag attribute to customise the background color in the future. If you have any complaints about this, please open an issue or post them here and I will
Oh it is a feature :) Maybe it is only me and runs, but that really looked not very convincing having
a sudden semicolored box around your mob nametag.
I'am ok with customisation, but could default be transparent as it is now ?
My servers: Jungle, Lilly in the valley click for my mods

User avatar
runs
Member
Posts: 2151
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 08:32
GitHub: runsy

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by runs » Post

Gundul wrote: ↑
Sun Feb 07, 2021 16:02
rubenwardy wrote: ↑
Sun Feb 07, 2021 15:06
Gundul wrote: ↑
Sun Feb 07, 2021 09:50
I think I found a bug with the entity nametag:
This is a new future called "Semi-transparent background for nametags" by Zughy.

There will probably be a nametag attribute to customise the background color in the future. If you have any complaints about this, please open an issue or post them here and I will
Oh it is a feature :) Maybe it is only me and runs, but that really looked not very convincing having
a sudden semicolored box around your mob nametag.
I'am ok with customisation, but could default be transparent as it is now ?
Yes, it is not cool. Precisely because of the problem that there is no method (yet) to hide distant player nametags (not only mobs). And on top of that now it will be more visible, please an attribute to make the background transparent.

I love the nametag concept, but not the always visible Minetest ones.
πŸ€‘ Patreon | β˜• Minetest Chat | πŸ‘§ Samantha | ⛏️ Juanchi Game | 🐱 Petz

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4140
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by Wuzzy » Post

Minetest Game is now fully ready to be translated.
See <https://dev.minetest.net/Translating> for details.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
homthack
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 19:11
GitHub: homt8
IRC: homthack
In-game: homthack
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by homthack » Post

I did not realize that release the version that arrived. I hope to have the update for my server that is crash skyblock mods but who knows if there are bugs in mods or official page that I have will registed.

Checked all the updates and there was no one but I was waiting for you to try the new setting you have.
Server-Available: [HM-Skyblock] Contact-Discord: [homthack#9917]

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
Posts: 917
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
GitHub: AiTechEye
Location: Β―\_(ツ)_/Β―

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by AiTechEye » Post

seems like set_animation's blend is messing up models

like the earlier posted image all wierd meshes became fixed when i set blend to 0/nil

using win10 64


Image

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2464
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by Andrey01 » Post

It is written in the milestone on the github what the release will take place due by 13th February. In your first post on 6th February that is already over, please update the date not to mislead.

User avatar
ronoaldo
New member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 01:04
GitHub: ronoaldo
IRC: ronoaldo
In-game: RonoaldoKakashi

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by ronoaldo » Post

Wuzzy wrote: ↑
Mon Feb 08, 2021 15:01
Minetest Game is now fully ready to be translated.
See <https://dev.minetest.net/Translating> for details.
I am working on pt-BR translations, and hope it is finished now. I did some adjustments of what it was missing/required attention.

I could not find a way to translate MTG. It seems "locked" in the translation site (https://hosted.weblate.org/projects/minetest/mtg_i18n/)

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4140
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by Wuzzy » Post

@ronoaldo: The MTG translation on hosted.weblate.org is outdated and should not be used. It should have been deleted years ago, but that did not happen so far.
Read this section specifically:
https://dev.minetest.net/Translating#Tr ... _and_games

Basically, the only way translate MTG is by downloading MTG and manually dealing with all the files in the "locale" directories, as described in the link above. There is no fancy tool or website for that, sorry.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by Festus1965 » Post

Wuzzy wrote: ↑
Wed Feb 10, 2021 19:48
@ronoaldo: The MTG translation on hosted.weblate.org is outdated and should not be used. It should have been deleted years ago, but that did not happen so far.
WTFun ... hope you force that now, after published that mistake now
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

cuthbertdoublebarrel
Member
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 16:03
GitHub: cuthbert

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by cuthbertdoublebarrel » Post

w10 64
2021-02-12 22:13:57: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: Lua: finishGenOOM error from mod 'underch' in callback environment_OnGenerated(): not enough memory
2021-02-12 22:13:57: ERROR[Main]: Current Lua memory usage: 57 MB
2021-02-12 22:13:58: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer leaves game. List of players:
2021-02-12 22:13:58: ACTION[Main]: Server: Shutting down.
the above is just one example
also in the game-xenviroment (loads but crashes when running about or there is high activity). other larger mod packages borked, crashing with the same report . past comments on this suggests its not at my end .
Project BrutalTest...hide your Petz

Adnunano
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 09:28

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by Adnunano » Post

Can you update the release date of 5.4.0 in the topic?It is misleading now.
NfAPhpmGaVphBjK8NIr9Mit5xNW2emD2

User avatar
ronoaldo
New member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 01:04
GitHub: ronoaldo
IRC: ronoaldo
In-game: RonoaldoKakashi

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by ronoaldo » Post

Wuzzy wrote: ↑
Wed Feb 10, 2021 19:48
@ronoaldo: The MTG translation on hosted.weblate.org is outdated and should not be used. It should have been deleted years ago, but that did not happen so far.
Read this section specifically:
https://dev.minetest.net/Translating#Tr ... _and_games

Basically, the only way translate MTG is by downloading MTG and manually dealing with all the files in the "locale" directories, as described in the link above. There is no fancy tool or website for that, sorry.
Oh, my mistake! I was pointed out twice to the docs but missed the portion that explains about mods and games. Thanks!

User avatar
hex
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2020 04:22
IRC: hecks
In-game: hex hhhehehe

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by hex » Post

AiTechEye wrote: ↑
Mon Feb 08, 2021 22:11
seems like set_animation's blend is messing up models

like the earlier posted image all wierd meshes became fixed when i set blend to 0/nil

using win10 64


Image
I cannot reproduce this.

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
Posts: 917
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
GitHub: AiTechEye
Location: Β―\_(ツ)_/Β―

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by AiTechEye » Post

hex wrote: ↑
Sun Feb 21, 2021 09:05
I cannot reproduce this.
if you change this line https://github.com/minetest/minetest_ga ... pi.lua#L85 to something like
player:set_animation(anim, speed or model.animation_speed, 1 or animation_blend)

you can get this result

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20210222_105647.png
(440.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
LMD
Member
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 08:16
GitHub: appgurueu
IRC: appguru[eu]
In-game: LMD
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by LMD » Post

Blend is known to be broken.
My stuff: Projects - Mods - Website

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4589
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by Krock » Post

AiTechEye wrote: ↑
Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:02
if you change this line https://github.com/minetest/minetest_ga ... pi.lua#L85 to something like
player:set_animation(anim, speed or model.animation_speed, 1 or animation_blend)
The very same file states on the top that values other than 0 do not work due to some Irrlicht bug. I'm not familiar with this either, but if you think it could be solved in Minetest, please open a new issue.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
hex
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2020 04:22
IRC: hecks
In-game: hex hhhehehe

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by hex » Post

Huh, blending works for me.
Image
There was a time around 0.4 when it did behave oddly but I recently enabled it again and it works, I thought you guys fixed something.
Note that I do my best to keep my model scenes clean and free of any odd transformations. Blender plugins can be lazy and mess up your exported scene.
Attachments
blend.gif
(778.59 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2734
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by Linuxdirk » Post

Too bad the commits/PRs are not linked.

What does β€œLoad media from subfolders” mean? Can we use subfolders for sounds and textures in mods now instead of just ./sounds, ./textures, etc.?

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6431
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by rubenwardy » Post

Linuxdirk wrote: ↑
Tue Feb 23, 2021 19:10
What does β€œLoad media from subfolders” mean?
You can place subfolders in any media path to organise media, and minetest will load from them. A media path is a mod's media folder (textures/models/sounds) or a texture pack. I believe the root of the texture pack takes priority, meaning that you can safely still put variants in subfolders

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2734
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by Linuxdirk » Post

rubenwardy wrote: ↑
Tue Feb 23, 2021 19:12
You can place subfolders in any media path to organise media, and minetest will load from them. A media path is a mod's media folder (textures/models/sounds) or a texture pack.
For one level deep this already works for texture packs …

But now I can have ./mods/my_cool_mod/textures/cool_things/of_type_a/my_cool_mod_foobar.png and then use my_cool_mod_foobar.png to use the texture file?

And organize my texture pack files like this and have it β€œoverwrite” the mod’s defined texture? ./textures/my_cool_pack/mods/my_cool_mod/my_cool_mod_foobar.png

That would be pretty much awesome.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6431
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Minetest 5.4.0 release candidate 1

by rubenwardy » Post

Linuxdirk wrote: ↑
Tue Feb 23, 2021 19:40
rubenwardy wrote: ↑
Tue Feb 23, 2021 19:12
You can place subfolders in any media path to organise media, and minetest will load from them. A media path is a mod's media folder (textures/models/sounds) or a texture pack.
For one level deep this already works for texture packs …

But now I can have ./mods/my_cool_mod/textures/cool_things/of_type_a/my_cool_mod_foobar.png and then use my_cool_mod_foobar.png to use the texture file?

And organize my texture pack files like this and have it β€œoverwrite” the mod’s defined texture? ./textures/my_cool_pack/mods/my_cool_mod/my_cool_mod_foobar.png

That would be pretty much awesome.
Yes, exactly

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest