Infinite world size

User avatar
talex
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 08:52

Re: Infinite world size

by talex » Post

proller wrote:
Sat Jan 28, 2023 11:16
Yet another test compatible server:
fm: Climbing to infinity 2
It works! But after crossing the border, minerals are not generated.
Attachments
screenshot_20230204_141033.jpg
screenshot_20230204_141033.jpg (122.83 KiB) Viewed 5407 times
Darkness there and nothing more.

proller
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Infinite world size

by proller » Post

Its still on minetest_game and all minerals limited to +-31000

Tim790
Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon May 31, 2021 23:32
GitHub: Tim79000
In-game: Tim7
Location: Land of the Midnight Sun

Re: Infinite world size

by Tim790 » Post

proller wrote:
Sat Feb 04, 2023 16:05
Its still on minetest_game and all minerals limited to +-31000
It's awesome.
Yeet.

ShadMOrdre
Member
Posts: 1118
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 08:07
Location: USA

Re: Infinite world size

by ShadMOrdre » Post

proller,

Is this current with official dev branch or latest stable?

Is it possible to request sfan to release a compiled windows version of this for the masses?

I'd like to test this with voronoi mapgen in mg_earth, with gal enabled.

This is a true advance for Minetest. Now we just need a distributed server model so that a single world can be spread across multiple servers.

Having said that, even with a rather decent PC, the 1x1 sq km area depicted below can tax the system.


Shad
Attachments
screenshot_20230204_150939.jpg
screenshot_20230204_150939.jpg (268.93 KiB) Viewed 5356 times

proller
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Infinite world size

by proller » Post

talex wrote:
Sat Feb 04, 2023 11:31
It works! But after crossing the border, minerals are not generated.
Actual hard limit for old clients is 32768

DOOM_possum
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 22:06
In-game: DOOM_possum

Re: Infinite world size

by DOOM_possum » Post

well huh

the time is coming surely when we can add a new NON-limit to (Our Worlds)
------ because i can't wait to take My Original SEED, further, just have got to get to know what is going on, finally, in MINECLONE 2

because it is 1 of my favorites, but has a new core developer now i think right ?

User avatar
Hume2
Member
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Infinite world size

by Hume2 » Post

talex wrote:
Sat Feb 04, 2023 11:31
proller wrote:
Sat Jan 28, 2023 11:16
Yet another test compatible server:
fm: Climbing to infinity 2
It works! But after crossing the border, minerals are not generated.
Wait, why is your Y coordinate 32002.5 and not -32002.5? Shouldn't be Y=32002.5 somewhere high above the skies?
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.

proller
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Infinite world size

by proller » Post

Its very small part of planet-size structure (created years before 32bit patch)

proller
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Infinite world size

by proller » Post

screenshot_20230216_054547.png
screenshot_20230216_054547.png (84.89 KiB) Viewed 5114 times

c56
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 03:05
GitHub: tigercoding56
In-game: bm5 or bemo5 also sell_her_on55

Re: Infinite world size

by c56 » Post

proller wrote:
Thu Feb 16, 2023 02:48
screenshot_20230216_054547.png
you may be bugging out , judging by those coords XD
anyway while we are at it it could be a good idea to make coordinates be able to take up a configurable number of bits if possible for when we decide that 32 bits is not good enough in 25 years
this is a signature not a place to post messages also if i could change my username i would change it to sell_her_on55

proller
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Infinite world size

by proller » Post

c56 wrote:
Tue Mar 21, 2023 05:03
proller wrote:
Thu Feb 16, 2023 02:48
screenshot_20230216_054547.png
anyway while we are at it it could be a good idea to make coordinates be able to take up a configurable number of bits if possible for when we decide that 32 bits is not good enough in 25 years
Now you can replace s32 with s64 or even with __uint128_t type here
https://github.com/proller/minetest/blo ... ypes.h#L68
then write some serialization and converting functions.
Looks like half day work

Tim790
Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon May 31, 2021 23:32
GitHub: Tim79000
In-game: Tim7
Location: Land of the Midnight Sun

Re: Infinite world size

by Tim790 » Post

Be greatfull with what you have, I really want dimensions though, but I like how small and petite worlds are.
Yeet.

DOOM_possum
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 22:06
In-game: DOOM_possum

Re: Infinite world size

by DOOM_possum » Post

i'm sure we are all waiting for some bigger worlds

i was even trying to put a MOD into Conquest: Reforged before the developer scrapped the merchandising route for a swamp complete with a box full of textures

proller
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Infinite world size

by proller » Post


darkhog
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 13:35
In-game: darkhog
Location: /dev/null
Contact:

Re: Infinite world size

by darkhog » Post

Can you please provide compiled binaries for Windows? So I can try it out myself (windows sucks as a dev environment so I really don't know how to build it properly myself nor I am willing to try, in order to save myself a headache).

Updated minetest_game so that it generates ores past the limit would also be nice, but I can understand why it isn't a priority.

proller
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Infinite world size

by proller » Post

Did you have instructions how to make windows binary under linux?

darkhog
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 13:35
In-game: darkhog
Location: /dev/null
Contact:

Re: Infinite world size

by darkhog » Post

I don't have Linux.

proller
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Infinite world size

by proller » Post

ok, its compiled enough?
https://ws.setun.net/?address=ws.setun. ... 30005&go=1
(press h,j,k for fast fly)

User avatar
Nininik
Member
Posts: 721
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2023 01:55
GitHub: nininik0
IRC: nininik
In-game: nininik
Location: CA, Team thunderstrike headquarters
Contact:

Re: Infinite world size

by Nininik » Post

Yall are chilling compared to me when I went to y 64820 USING DEVTEST, I WAS SO HIGH THAT EVERYTHING WAS BLINKING RAPIDLY AND LAGGING and my character looked like he was having a seizure 👍 but this got fixed and I can't do it in new versions now :(
↯Glory to Team Thunderstrike!↯
↯T.T.S.↯

DOOM_possum
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 22:06
In-game: DOOM_possum

Re: Infinite world size

by DOOM_possum » Post

well, it ought to come at some point

truly it is still needed to This Day--------------------- it could probably even help the developer of MineClone Two

proller
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Infinite world size

by proller » Post


DOOM_possum
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 22:06
In-game: DOOM_possum

Re: Infinite world size

by DOOM_possum » Post

oh Great

is that an infinite version of MTG? in the MOD ?
---------- i however am looking for, a MOD that can increase the RADIUS of the entire MAP when you reach the Outer Sector

DOOM_possum
Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 22:06
In-game: DOOM_possum

Re: Infinite world size

by DOOM_possum » Post

that way when i get there, i don't have to be boxed in like in TERRARIA

darkhog
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 13:35
In-game: darkhog
Location: /dev/null
Contact:

Re: Infinite world size

by darkhog » Post

Sad this effort fizzled out. We've almost one-upped Minecraft (infinite in any direction vs. infinite only in a horizontal plane).

User avatar
Blockhead
Member
Posts: 1847
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:14
GitHub: Montandalar
IRC: Blockhead256
In-game: Blockhead Blockhead256
Location: Land Down Under
Contact:

Re: Infinite world size

by Blockhead » Post

darkhog wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2024 22:09
Sad this effort fizzled out. We've almost one-upped Minecraft (infinite in any direction vs. infinite only in a horizontal plane).
It may not be able to make it into the engine any time soon (to do so would certainly spell a move to Minetest 6 to signal the incompatibilities), but proller has been quietly working away at updating his 32-bit branch at his freeminer repository (link with specific branch). That's only one person working on it though, so it will almost certainly lag.
/˳˳_˳˳]_[˳˳_˳˳]_[˳˳_˳˳\ Advtrains enthusiast | My map: Noah's Railyard | My Content on ContentDB ✝️♂

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests