[Mod] Mesecons (= redstone) [GitHub] [minetest-mod-mesecons]

Post Reply
User avatar
Jeija
Member
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

[Mod] Mesecons (= redstone) [GitHub] [minetest-mod-mesecons]

by Jeija » Post

This is the mesecons [=minecraft redstone] mod!

Download from GitHub
Download as .zip
Download as .tar.gz

Mesecons adds everything digital, from all kinds of sensors, switches, solar panels, detectors, pistons, lamps, sound blocks to advanced digital circuitry like logic gates and programmable blocks.

Check out the mesecons website! There you will find all the information and documentation!
mesecons.net

Image
Image
Image
Image


If someone wants to help me develop mesecons have a look at the developer documentation on the website. You can commit your changes on GitHub.

For Developers: GitHub project page
https://github.com/minetest-mods/mesecons
(Send in your changes via forks + pull requests)

Dependencies: none
License:
Textures: CC-BY-SA
Code: LGPL
Last edited by Jeija on Tue Apr 04, 2017 19:13, edited 4 times in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)

User avatar
Menche
Member
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
IRC: Menche
In-game: Menche
Location: An island in a lava lake.

by Menche » Post

Nice. I like the use of plants for power.
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.

User avatar
Hackeridze
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 13:35

by Hackeridze » Post

Oh shi~ Man I love it! Waiting for adding more using features! Great idea! Great job! Not red, just yellowstone!!! ;D
My game: RTMG
GENTOO USER

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

thats AMAZING
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

make torches! like minecraft mese torches! so that it can be used on a side block..but if a mese wire is attached to the block that has a mese torch on it it turns the torch off!
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3929
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Absolutly awesome!
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Menche
Member
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
IRC: Menche
In-game: Menche
Location: An island in a lava lake.

by Menche » Post

Awesome. I'm going to try to make logic gates and memory cells with either water, turbines, and movers or solar cells and movers.
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.

User avatar
Hackeridze
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 13:35

by Hackeridze » Post

DO NOT MAKE MESE TORCHES!!! thats stupid. water Turbines and solar panels are more cool and realistic!
My game: RTMG
GENTOO USER

User avatar
hurufu
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 18:52

by hurufu » Post

Great mod! Does this mod use lot of CPU time?
Last edited by hurufu on Sun Dec 25, 2011 13:36, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
hurufu
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 18:52

by hurufu » Post

I've found a bug:
When movestone moves a mesecon_*, it remains in the same state. For example: when I move mesecon_on it remains mesecon_on even when it's not powered up anymore.

User avatar
MrThebuilder3
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 18:26

by MrThebuilder3 » Post

good job! +1

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

if you do not make mese torches we cannot make more complex "cpu" based things..like IO ...you need to make torches because things like doors can have advance logic gates and switches...for example:
1= on
0= off
_=wire

1__0___1
|
1

and we need to have "memory" or "delay circuitry" which can be used for making things like memory for devices ...these delays should be able to be controlled and should be DIRECTIONAL...for example:
1=on
0=off
_=wire
D=delay/memory circuit

0__D_
| |
|____1

Where as this circuit would create a repeated circuit

and if you add in buttons! which activate for like 2 seconds and then shut off:
1=on
0=off
_=wire
D=delay/memory circuit
B=button

B
0___|_________
| | |
|__1 |
| |
|__DDDDDDDD_|

the switch above will turn on something for a short amount of time..until the memory/delay circuits pass the current back into the current that gets shut off when the button is pressed and resets the circuit back to a normal state
Last edited by jordan4ibanez on Sun Dec 25, 2011 15:47, edited 1 time in total.
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
Hackeridze
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 13:35

by Hackeridze » Post

It can be gate or memory or delay or breaker or %thing% block. not a mese torch.
My game: RTMG
GENTOO USER

User avatar
Jeija
Member
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Post

Hey everyone!

To (maybe) stop the mese torch argument:
I'm currently working on 2 things:
# Wireless mesecons (Already works, but still some bugs)
# Inverted wireless receivers
This gives you the possibility to create even more circuits/gates.
I already planned this before releasing the first version, but it wasn't ready.
Wireless transmission uses two blocks,
- Receivers (or inverted receivers)
and
- Transmitters (Senders)
--> It is directional.
It will take like one second to transmit (using abm, so transmission speed may vary). I think this will give you the ability to create more logic gates (although I'm not a redstone expert).

Buttons
I'm not sure about this one... I think it will be quite difficult to create a function that adds a timeout for a button to switch off again. I only know abms and they don't work as I'd like them to. The switch off time would be random when using abms, and for rendering buttons I would have to use a patched version of minetest or (even worse) use entities for it.
But I love the button idea! I'll implement it as soon as it is possible.

To you, hurufu:
I know this bug and I thought about fixing it, but in fact I think this is not an issue of my mod, but even more a common minetest issue.
The register_on_placenode function should be called each time a block is added, not only when a player adds it. I'd really like if someone could fix it, else I have to get to know the c++ code better and fix it on my own.

As you can see in my first post, I requested even more functionality for the modding api.

I also think pressure plates are really necessary, or even better, if I can set and get the orientation (rotation) of a block, I could add light barriers.
Keep on filing bugs and requesting items!!!
You may also commit textures, items, whatever.
I'm trying to get out the next update tomorrow (26th Dec) or the day after tomorrow (27th Dec 2011)

Cheers,
Jeija
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)

User avatar
Staffs
Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 13:16

by Staffs » Post

DUDE I love you for this. This mod makes the game amazing im getting a lot ideas in my head right now. + Your mod is making me upgrade my minetest version :) Thanks man you are purely awesome !!!
I love mods :D

User avatar
hurufu
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 18:52

by hurufu » Post

Jeija wrote:...but in fact I think this is not an issue of my mod, but even more a common minetest issue...
I thought in the same way, it's sad.

Another annoing bug:
When two movestones are moving towards each other and there is another block between them, it disapears.

User avatar
neko259
Member
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Post

Great. Waiting for this to be added to upstream.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj

User avatar
Jeija
Member
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Post

Hey everyone!

Wireless mesecons and inverters are fully working now. You can even create blinking circuits, gates and memory cells ( I'm not sure if a anti-hacking function in server.cpp blocks the usage of transmitters that are too far away from the player)
I'm going to release it when it is completely stable, certainly today.
To you, hurufu:
I haven't seen that bug before, thank you for filing it!!!
Could you please give me some more detailed information about it? How are the blocks arranged and so on.
I'll try to fix the bug, but I'm not sure if it will be ready today...
By the way: Is there any function that is called when the server is created where I can acces minetest.env from? Else, I'll use the register_on_newplayer function for now, so that blink circuits continue blink on reload of the world.

Cheers,
Jeija
Last edited by Jeija on Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:11, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)

User avatar
hurufu
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 18:52

by hurufu » Post

Jeija wrote:Could you please give me some more detailed information about it? How are the blocks arranged and so on.
I guess it's not fault of your mod too ;)
I think that's happen because of absence of entity collision detection, therefore when two or more entities are at the same pos all added nodes have the same position too → we see only one added node → other nodes seem to “disapear”.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

One MESE should make 32 and not 16 mesecons... MESE is very rare, keep in mind.

User avatar
Staffs
Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 13:16

by Staffs » Post

Calinou wrote:One MESE should make 32 and not 16 mesecons... MESE is very rare, keep in mind.
Not that rare at all just teleport or digg very deep and find a cave ... VERY EASY!!
I love mods :D

User avatar
neko259
Member
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Post

I'd make mesecons like a block, not a line. Then you wouldn't need to worry about it's direction.
Off - like glass plus some color. On - like off, but some light. Or make it green/red when on/off.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj

User avatar
Jeija
Member
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Post

Hey!

@Neko259: I don't think blocks look good and i think you should be able to walk through mesecons. But if you like blocks better, just modify it and post your own fork.
@Calinou: As Staffs already said, mese is not that rare... But if others also think that I should make 33 (not 32 cause 99 can be divided by 33) instead of 16, tell me and I'll change that.
@hurufu: I fixed the movestone bug! Thx again for filing it.

But let's talk about the new version, V 0.2 that I am releasing right now:
It may seem like a minor update, but it adds major functionality:
# Wireless Mesecons
# Wireless INVERTERS
# Sticky Movestones
# Glue
# ICs (for Crafting Wirless things)
# Fixed Bugs
# New Textures for the Hydro Turbine --> Thx to Jordan4Ibanez for creating them
# Renamed mesecon button to mesecon switch
--> The old mesecon buttons will be shown as unknown blocks. Just replace them with the new ones.

From now this mod also needs to send some information to a file called mesecon_data.
This means, that you have to have write permission there! It should be placed in same folder as the binary, but in future version you will be able to change that to your own folder.
IF THE SERVER CRASHES ON STARTUP you can try to delete all lines in the "mesecon_data" file. Unfortunately, this also means that you have to place all receviers and inverters again. Another indicator for that error is that its last output is
Reading wlre data...

See my post up there for crafting recipes and the download link.

Keep Filing Bugs, sending in textures and giving me inspiration!
I'm very curious about what you can do using inverters, so please upload pictures/maps/whatever of your creations!

Cheers,
Jeija
Last edited by Jeija on Tue Dec 27, 2011 07:01, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

it doesnt work >_< but let me double check...
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
Jeija
Member
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Post

You're right there still is a strange bug...
Turn on your server, jordan, I'm currently fixing it.
>>> FIXED! I just inserted the bugfix from yesterday at the wrong line
Last edited by Jeija on Tue Dec 27, 2011 07:33, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests