3D meshes for players and creatures [Models are now upstream!]

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
Posts: 924
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune
Location: Romania, Bucharest

by MirceaKitsune » Post

Wielded items are planned and should be fully possible with the current lua api. We just need to maintain one lua entity as the wielded item for each player (spawned when the player joins and removed when the player unjoins), have it copy the visuals of the item that player is holding, and have it attached to the tip of the right arm.

lord_james
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 22:06

by lord_james » Post

I'm sorry. I didn't explain so good. It could be possible create a 3d mesh for a wieded item? For example, a 3d brick or a 3d gun.

Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

Melkor wrote:
Josh wrote:Now that we have 3d players, let's create 3d Oerkii's and Dungeon Master's that walk :)
hey! i made an Oerkii and a DM some time ago, it still need to be texturized!

here: http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php ... 952#p19952
That's what i was thinking about. If we texturize them, then we can make them walk like a 3d player!

leo_rockway
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 20:37

by leo_rockway » Post

Josh wrote:
Melkor wrote:
Josh wrote:Now that we have 3d players, let's create 3d Oerkii's and Dungeon Master's that walk :)
hey! i made an Oerkii and a DM some time ago, it still need to be texturized!

here: http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php ... 952#p19952
That's what i was thinking about. If we texturize them, then we can make them walk like a 3d player!
I like how the Oerkii seemed to glide or hover. I wouldn't even give it a walking animation o.o Kind of like a ghost.
Try Skyblock for MineClone 2
Listen to this sound and music pack!

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
Posts: 924
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune
Location: Romania, Bucharest

by MirceaKitsune » Post

lord_james wrote:I'm sorry. I didn't explain so good. It could be possible create a 3d mesh for a wieded item? For example, a 3d brick or a 3d gun.
Ah. That I don't know for sure, but I think not. Models are for players and lua entities, so unless a wield item can be set to "mesh" drawtype instead of "wielditem" then no. But that shouldn't be too hard to adapt to the current code I believe.

Ragnar
Member
Posts: 849
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 15:19
Location: Estonia
Contact:

by Ragnar » Post

wait, does that mean, that you are making another 3D player?
AWESOME :D
Are you saying that I put an abnormal brain into a seven and a half foot long, fifty-four inch wide GORILLA?

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
Posts: 924
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune
Location: Romania, Bucharest

by MirceaKitsune » Post

Ragnar wrote:wait, does that mean, that you are making another 3D player?
AWESOME :D
Not me. Might make some other models for personal use, but later. I think the big concern is 3D animals / mobs for now, but I doubt I'll be diving into that myself (Blender is easy to use and the maker of the Mob Framework knows best what's needed).

User avatar
babe223
Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 13:36
Location: Brasil,Rio de Janeiro

by babe223 » Post

would be interesting if we could see our characters, as in minecraft
Bem vindos Brasileiros,eu sou primeiro brasileiro daqui do forum, espero que tragam bastante mods

[MOD] torch http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3021
[MOD]HATCHE:http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3458

User avatar
Mito551
Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Post

excuse me, but i've ran into a problem with trying to get models to my dwarves game. what should i do to add model-stuff into a game?

what mods can block the loading?
Last edited by Mito551 on Fri Nov 30, 2012 20:27, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
Posts: 924
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune
Location: Romania, Bucharest

by MirceaKitsune » Post

babe223 wrote:would be interesting if we could see our characters, as in minecraft
Could be done with some code changes I think. A character editor menu will be needed at some point... it would be nice if the player's appearance could be shown there too. Also, we need a way to toggle between third person and first person views later on.
Mito551 wrote:excuse me, but i've ran into a problem with trying to get models to my dwarves game. what should i do to add model-stuff into a game?

what mods can block the loading?
Make a rigged model in Blender, animate it in the timeline, and export it to the x format (enable the DirectX mesh exported in preferences -> addons first). Then in the lua script, set the entity's object properties mesh="filename.x" and visual = "mesh". See the player.lua script for the whole thing and how to change animations.

User avatar
sdzen
Member
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Post

3rd person perspective is possible its a matter of changing the position of the camera scene node and drawing the player on the clients screen. IIRC editing the position of the camera node is simple although I am not quite sure about drawing the player.

Zen S.D.

The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno

User avatar
Mito551
Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Post

MirceaKitsune wrote:
babe223 wrote:would be interesting if we could see our characters, as in minecraft
Could be done with some code changes I think. A character editor menu will be needed at some point... it would be nice if the player's appearance could be shown there too. Also, we need a way to toggle between third person and first person views later on.
Mito551 wrote:excuse me, but i've ran into a problem with trying to get models to my dwarves game. what should i do to add model-stuff into a game?

what mods can block the loading?
Make a rigged model in Blender, animate it in the timeline, and export it to the x format (enable the DirectX mesh exported in preferences -> addons first). Then in the lua script, set the entity's object properties mesh="filename.x" and visual = "mesh". See the player.lua script for the whole thing and how to change animations.
no-no-no, you misunderstood me. i'm trying to get your model, your script into my game.

nevermind i figured it out :)
Last edited by Mito551 on Sat Dec 01, 2012 07:34, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
Posts: 924
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune
Location: Romania, Bucharest

by MirceaKitsune » Post

Mito551 wrote:no-no-no, you misunderstood me. i'm trying to get your model, your script into my game.

nevermind i figured it out :)
Oh... just copy the models folder and player.lua script from minetest_game in the same position for your game. I think you need to reference player.lua in init.lua too and that's all. Glad it works :)

streondj
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 08:06

by streondj » Post

hey, I was just thinking that if we used a programmable model generator like POV-Ray then user could easily customize colors, and their set of characters could be generated, would also allow for things like clothes to be relatively easy to implement, by tweaking the generator program.
Last edited by streondj on Wed Dec 05, 2012 08:31, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kotolegokot
Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 17:03
Location: Russia, Ishim

by kotolegokot » Post

Why textures are blurry?
I'm creator of these mods: Locked sign, Locked furnace, Money. And I'm a developer of The RealTest Game.

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
Posts: 924
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune
Location: Romania, Bucharest

by MirceaKitsune » Post

kotolegokot wrote:Why textures are blurry?
Are you talking about the texture files themselves, or only in-game? If only in game, you probably enabled texture filtering and mip-mapping.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests