need help with a mod

Post Reply
User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1923
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

need help with a mod

by jordan4ibanez » Post

okay so here is my acid mod


--ACID FLOW

minetest.register_node("acid:acid_flow", {

drawtype = "flowingliquid",

tile_images = {'acid.png'},

inventory_image = 'acid.png',

alpha = 20,

paramtype = 'light',

walkable = false,

diggable = false,

liquid_viscosity = 6,

liquidtype = "flowing",

liquid_alternative_flowing = "acid_flow",

liquid_alternative_source = "acid_source",

special_materials = {

{image="acid.png", backface_culling=false},

{image="acid.png", backface_culling=true},

},

})





--ACID SOURCE

minetest.register_node('acid:acid_source', {

drawtype = 'liquid',

tile_images = {'acid.png'},

inventory_image = 'acid.png',

alpha = 20,

paramtype = 'light',

walkable = false,

pointable = false,

diggable = false,

buildable_to = false,

damage_per_second = 5,

liquid_viscosity = 6,

liquidtype = "source",

liquid_alternative_flowing = "acid_flow",

liquid_alternative_source = "acid_source",

special_materials = {

{image="acid.png", backface_culling=false},

},

})







minetest.register_craft({

output = 'NodeItem "acid:acid_source" 10',

recipe = {

{'', 'node "default:brick" 1', ''},

{'', 'node "default:brick" 1', ''},

},

})
but when i place the acid down it says
ERROR[ServerThread]: Map::setNode(): Not allowing to place CONTENT_IGNORE while trying to place "air" at (quards) (block (way diferent quards))
HELPPP
Last edited by jordan4ibanez on Sun Jan 01, 2012 00:58, edited 1 time in total.
hello, am program. do language in rust. make computer do. okay i go now.

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4534
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Instead of acid you are placing, its air. You need to define it as a liquid. Not O2.

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1923
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Post

how would i do that? i thought i already told it its a liquid
hello, am program. do language in rust. make computer do. okay i go now.

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4534
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Liquids are nodes, is that set?

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1923
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Post

yes that is
hello, am program. do language in rust. make computer do. okay i go now.

Daraku
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 14:21

by Daraku » Post

Check water implementation in default/init.lua:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_node("default:water_flowing", {
    drawtype = "flowingliquid",
    tile_images = {"default_water.png"},
    alpha = WATER_ALPHA,
    inventory_image = minetest.inventorycube("default_water.png"),
    paramtype = "light",
    walkable = false,
    pointable = false,
    diggable = false,
    buildable_to = true,
    liquidtype = "flowing",
    liquid_alternative_flowing = "water_flowing",
    liquid_alternative_source = "water_source",
    liquid_viscosity = WATER_VISC,
    post_effect_color = {a=64, r=100, g=100, b=200},
    special_materials = {
        {image="default_water.png", backface_culling=false},
        {image="default_water.png", backface_culling=true},
    },
})

minetest.register_node("default:water_source", {
    drawtype = "liquid",
    tile_images = {"default_water.png"},
    alpha = WATER_ALPHA,
    inventory_image = minetest.inventorycube("default_water.png"),
    paramtype = "light",
    walkable = false,
    pointable = false,
    diggable = false,
    buildable_to = true,
    liquidtype = "source",
    liquid_alternative_flowing = "water_flowing",
    liquid_alternative_source = "water_source",
    liquid_viscosity = WATER_VISC,
    post_effect_color = {a=64, r=100, g=100, b=200},
    special_materials = {
        -- New-style water source material (mostly unused)
        {image="default_water.png", backface_culling=false},
    },
})

minetest.register_node("default:lava_flowing", {
    drawtype = "flowingliquid",
    tile_images = {"default_lava.png"},
    inventory_image = minetest.inventorycube("default_lava.png"),
    paramtype = "light",
    light_source = LIGHT_MAX - 1,
    walkable = false,
    pointable = false,
    diggable = false,
    buildable_to = true,
    liquidtype = "flowing",
    liquid_alternative_flowing = "lava_flowing",
    liquid_alternative_source = "lava_source",
    liquid_viscosity = LAVA_VISC,
    damage_per_second = 4*2,
    post_effect_color = {a=192, r=255, g=64, b=0},
    special_materials = {
        {image="default_lava.png", backface_culling=false},
        {image="default_lava.png", backface_culling=true},
    },
})

minetest.register_node("default:lava_source", {
    drawtype = "liquid",
    tile_images = {"default_lava.png"},
    inventory_image = minetest.inventorycube("default_lava.png"),
    paramtype = "light",
    light_source = LIGHT_MAX - 1,
    walkable = false,
    pointable = false,
    diggable = false,
    buildable_to = true,
    liquidtype = "source",
    liquid_alternative_flowing = "lava_flowing",
    liquid_alternative_source = "lava_source",
    liquid_viscosity = LAVA_VISC,
    damage_per_second = 4*2,
    post_effect_color = {a=192, r=255, g=64, b=0},
    special_materials = {
        -- New-style lava source material (mostly unused)
        {image="default_lava.png", backface_culling=false},
    },
    furnace_burntime = 60,
})

sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 4095
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

minetest.register_node('acid:acid_source', {
..
buildable_to = false
..
})


You can't place your liquid, because your code doesn't allow it.
Replace false with true and it should work.
Last edited by sfan5 on Sun Jan 01, 2012 08:33, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

by IPushButton2653 » Post

Tried that, I placed the acid_flow block, and it came up with CONTENT_IGNORE error thingey, I don't know why, I shall look into it.......

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

by IPushButton2653 » Post

Just try using the code for water or lava, but just set it to refer to the acid textures, not lava or water.........

sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 4095
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

IPushButton2653 wrote:Tried that, I placed the acid_flow block, and it came up with CONTENT_IGNORE error thingey, I don't know why, I shall look into it.......
jordan4ibanez wants to place the acid_source block not the acid_flow block
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

by IPushButton2653 » Post

I tried everything, it won't allow the acid to flow. Someone needs to attempt to use the code for lava and adjust it for use with the acid mod, and try that. I'm too busy with helping someone with a parkour map to help with this.

User avatar
celeron55
Administrator
Posts: 533
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:10
GitHub: celeron55
IRC: celeron55

by celeron55 » Post

The problem is in

Code: Select all

    liquid_alternative_flowing = "acid_flow",

    liquid_alternative_source = "acid_source",
The default mod makes this a bit hard to see because it uses the legacy aliases of water nodes, which are "water_flowing" and "water_source" while their real names are "default:water_flowing" and "default:water_source". I'll change those to make it more clear.

Your mod fixed:

Code: Select all

    liquid_alternative_flowing = "acid:acid_flow",

    liquid_alternative_source = "acid:acid_source",

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

by IPushButton2653 » Post

Dang, why do the admins always know everything???

sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 4095
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

idk :D
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

by IPushButton2653 » Post

Well, of to work on the parkour map ^^

MarkTraceur
Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 05:41
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

by MarkTraceur » Post

IPushButton2653 wrote:Dang, why do the admins always know everything???
He's not just the admin, he's the developer of the game. He'd know best the quirks of his own system!
Mods: https://gitorious.org/marktraceur-minetest-mods
IRC: marktraceur on freenode

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

by IPushButton2653 » Post

I guess that no one gets that I know that, and I point out stuff like that, the forums need at least one idiot.........

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1923
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Post

celeron55 wrote:The problem is in

Code: Select all

    liquid_alternative_flowing = "acid_flow",

    liquid_alternative_source = "acid_source",
The default mod makes this a bit hard to see because it uses the legacy aliases of water nodes, which are "water_flowing" and "water_source" while their real names are "default:water_flowing" and "default:water_source". I'll change those to make it more clear.

Your mod fixed:

Code: Select all

    liquid_alternative_flowing = "acid:acid_flow",

    liquid_alternative_source = "acid:acid_source",
thank you sir!
hello, am program. do language in rust. make computer do. okay i go now.

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

by IPushButton2653 » Post

And it actually works!!!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests