/Give command.

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

/Give command.

by Jordach » Sun Jan 01, 2012 03:02

How to use the give command. Any help?
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Sun Jan 01, 2012 03:12

/give playername NodeItem/CraftItem mod:name of thing #of it you want

or /giveme to give your self that thing

a NodeItem is an item that becomes part of the map..like steel_block or grass_block

a CraftItem is an item that you craft (i most easily think about it as an item when you right click it puts it down)

the mod part is the name of the mod folder

the # is the number of that thing you want

so lets say..i want...a nuke from sfan5's nuke mod

do: /giveme NodeItem nuke:mese_tnt 900000

woowww! thats a node? i thought you craft that! ..threw you a curved ball didn't i? since that is a block when placed down it is considered a node in the lua of the mod..if you just breeze through the mods you can see whats what ..or you can try it yourself until you get it right

..any ways..got any questions?
I've been gone for a long time
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sun Jan 01, 2012 03:19

Like bricks?

as this?

/give jordach brick_block 90?

Still stuck.
Last edited by Jordach on Sun Jan 01, 2012 03:21, edited 1 time in total.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Sun Jan 01, 2012 03:40

you forgot the NodeItem ...that tells the program what type of block it is..and also you forgot to put default in front of brick...so it would be

/giveme NodeItem default:brick 90
I've been gone for a long time
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sun Jan 01, 2012 03:43

there we go.

noobs should find this command easier to use. thanks.

want some mese??

/giveme NodeItem default:mese 99

you will get mese.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3792
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Jan 01, 2012 08:15

You can use node craft and tool instead of NodeItem CraftItem and ToolItem
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sun Jan 01, 2012 13:08

I do find it funny when I can get torches from nodeitem.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 01, 2012 14:04

Anybody make a list of items for the give command on the wiki please.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3792
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Jan 01, 2012 15:43

neko259 wrote:Anybody make a list of items for the give command on the wiki please.

That would be too many work
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sun Jan 01, 2012 16:03

No it wont be, just about several hours.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
Hackeridze
Member
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 13:35

by Hackeridze » Sun Jan 01, 2012 16:11

neko259 wrote:Anybody make a list of items for the give command on the wiki please.

You should look into mod's sources.
My game: RTMG
GENTOO USER
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 01, 2012 18:22

And yes, give command shouldn't give unknown blocks.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

cosarara97
Member
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 18:53

by cosarara97 » Sun Jan 01, 2012 18:34

neko259 wrote:And yes, give command shouldn't give unknown blocks.

+1
:D
 

hmmm
Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 17:49

by hmmm » Wed Jan 04, 2012 23:11

I tried to get 99 steel ingots but it gave me 99 pink squares. Having to put NodeItem or CraftItem is really stupid. It's not like there's going to be two things with the same name where one is a CraftItem and one is a NodeItem.
 

User avatar
redcrab
Member
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 13:45
Location: France

by redcrab » Wed Jan 04, 2012 23:23

neko259 wrote:And yes, give command shouldn't give unknown blocks.

+1
0.4 for serious builder click here
Dedicated Minetest redcrab server forum at http://minetestbb.suret.net

It's nice to be important but it is more important to be nice.
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Thu Jan 05, 2012 08:14

hmmm wrote:I tried to get 99 steel ingots but it gave me 99 pink squares. Having to put NodeItem or CraftItem is really stupid. It's not like there's going to be two things with the same name where one is a CraftItem and one is a NodeItem.


I understand where your coming from and I agree However, I thought I would also note that you don't have to use NodeItem/CraftItem etc you can use just tool, craft or node which I know doesn't fix the unknown object issue but it makes the give command shorter ^_^
Last edited by dannydark on Thu Jan 05, 2012 08:15, edited 1 time in total.
 

kahrl
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51
Location: Rös̓̇chenhof

by kahrl » Thu Jan 05, 2012 09:59

FWIW, I'm working on a patch that completely eliminates the need for node/craft/tool. :D
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:02

kahrl wrote:FWIW, I'm working on a patch that completely eliminates the need for node/craft/tool. :D


^_^ awesome, would this also eliminate the unknown objects being given when a user types the command incorrectly?

EDIT: as neko259 reported above.
Last edited by dannydark on Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:03, edited 1 time in total.
 

kahrl
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51
Location: Rös̓̇chenhof

by kahrl » Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:34

Not directly, but I guess I could do that too :)
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Thu Jan 05, 2012 16:10

and this is why it needs fixing.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

alleyrules
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 20:37
Location: Texas

by alleyrules » Sun Aug 18, 2013 04:59

um why does it say cannot give an unknown block?
 

User avatar
Menche
Member
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
Location: An island in a lava lake.
IRC: Menche
In-game: Menche

by Menche » Sun Aug 18, 2013 06:52

alleyrules wrote:um why does it say cannot give an unknown block?

You probably typed the name wrong. This topic is very old and is about an obsolete usage of the /give command.
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.
 


Return to General Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest