[Mod] Vines and Rope [2.3] [vines]

User avatar
Bas080
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080
Location: Netherlands

[Mod] Vines and Rope [2.3] [vines]

by Bas080 » Post

Now with the new vines mod you can just climb your way out of it.

Fell in a cave? Let your teammate throw you a rope. Working on a high altitude project? Use the rope to get down and climb up. Making an adventure map? Make your levels more traverse-able and dynamic.

Image
Image

Get vines using shears
Find some good old vines and dig them with the shears. Now you can craft a ropebox or use the vines for decorations.

Using the ropebox
1 - Craft the ropebox
2 - Place the ropebox
3 - Watch as the rope descends into the abyss

Depends
biome_lib

Suggestions
tiny_trees ( wip )
more_trees

Download https://github.com/bas080/vines/zipball/master
...or see code https://github.com/bas080/vines

Documentation

License
Last edited by Bas080 on Sun Aug 09, 2015 15:44, edited 8 times in total.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4556
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

To which parts does the license apply? Any dependencies?
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
Bas080
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080
Location: Netherlands

by Bas080 » Post

VanessaE wrote:To which parts does the license apply? Any dependencies?
Ty for the feedback.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4556
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Topic moved :-)
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

Removing the rope was killing my server. I changed it to be like this:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_on_dignode(function (pos, node, player)
    if node.name == 'vines:rope_block' then
        local p = {x=pos.x, y=pos.y-1, z=pos.z}
        local n = minetest.env:get_node(p)
        while n.name == 'vines:rope' do
            minetest.env:remove_node(p)
            p = {x=p.x, y=p.y-1, z=p.z}
            n = minetest.env:get_node(p)
        end 
        if n.name == 'vines:rope_end' then
            minetest.env:remove_node(p)
        end
    end
end)

User avatar
Bas080
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080
Location: Netherlands

by Bas080 » Post

Cornernote:
Ty for noticing and giving feedback on my mod. I think you have used my older version. It is fixed in newer ones.

I am thinking of extending this mod to support several different drawtypes for vines. VanessaE's posin ivy mod has a bush that grows against a tree trunk. I would like to use the same draw style to make vines drop down leaves/trees and cobble/stone. Please let me know what you think for i still haven't made up my mind about the vines.

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

Bas080:

No worries. I double checked and the code I changed is what you still have on git.

Code: Select all

minetest.register_on_dignode(function (pos, node, player)
    if node.name == 'vines:rope_block' then
    
        local p = {x=pos.x, y=pos.y-1, z=pos.z}
        local n = minetest.env:get_node(p)
        
        print(n.name)
        
        if n.name == 'vines:rope' then
            while n.name ~= 'vines:rope_end' do
                print(n.name) <-----   I added this line, it caused it to spew out some unknown/invalid node name
                minetest.env:remove_node(p)
                p = {x=p.x, y=p.y-1, z=p.z}
                n = minetest.env:get_node(p)
            end 
        end
        if n.name == 'vines:rope_end' then
            minetest.env:remove_node(p)
        end
    end
end)
My question is, why do you need to check if it's ~= rope_end. Why not just check if its == rope, if it is then remove it.

User avatar
Bas080
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080
Location: Netherlands

by Bas080 » Post

cornernote wrote:Bas080:
My question is, why do you need to check if it's ~= rope_end. Why not just check if its == rope, if it is then remove it.
When I run my code it does not freeze my server. When does it happen on your server? I have implemented your lines in the code just to be safe. It is a bit nicer compared to mine as you are using just one while and not a unneeded if statement like in my code. Committing now.

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

Hi Bas080,

It goes into an infinite loop the instant the Rope Block is removed. The client is still responsive, but the server is stuck in a loop.

Im not sure why, but it had to do with n.name was not rope (and there is no check inside the loop to ensure it is rope, you just keep going down until you hit rope_end .. perhaps my rope had no rope end because i was playing with another mod and using rope without an end).

Anyway, thanks for committing the change.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6297
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

I love it...

User avatar
CaKeSs
Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 02:48
Location: Philippines

by CaKeSs » Post

Lol! Very helpful indeed! But the rope is creeping me out, looks like the spine :S But it's a cool mod, Downloading
lalalalala, Hit, dig, break, collect! -JusticeV before he fell in lava.
|Youtube||Unrealsoftware Account|Granite Mod|

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

Nice
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

Will there be any further updates to this mod?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
Bas080
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080
Location: Netherlands

by Bas080 » Post

Inocudom wrote:Will there be any further updates to this mod?
The "moretrees" mod has vines now too. I'm thinking of removing the vines from the mod and just make it about the ropebox.

Change the crafting recipe to support more trees vines and/or (wool)string

I have no ideas for extending the mod. I'm open for ideas.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

allow ropes to go horizontal like a zip line.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4556
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

bas080, moretrees relies on your mod to provide vines actually. It doesn't register any of its own. :-)

Now that said, I use a copy of vines/ropes on my server that's modified so that vines won't grow on regular trees (instead, only on jungle trees, and only if the vine starters were spawned when the tree grew).
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
Bas080
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080
Location: Netherlands

by Bas080 » Post

VanessaE, so you do not use a leave abm. I'll do the same in the update! That does mean that you'll have to spwan them in the trees mod. I'll make sure to add more types of vines.
- Thick vine/root that grows to the ground
- Hanging vines (already have that but could use texture update)
- Side hanging vines. Vines that hang on the side of leaves. (similar texture as the plantlike vines.

All of them being climbable
jojoa1997 wrote:allow ropes to go horizontal like a zip line.
Not just vertical but horizontal. I'll think about it.

User avatar
Spots
Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:12
Location: Outta my mind someplace.

by Spots » Post

Bas080 wrote:VanessaE, so you do not use a leave abm. I'll do the same in the update! That does mean that you'll have to spwan them in the trees mod. I'll make sure to add more types of vines.
- Thick vine/root that grows to the ground
- Hanging vines (already have that but could use texture update)
- Side hanging vines. Vines that hang on the side of leaves. (similar texture as the plantlike vines.

All of them being climbable
jojoa1997 wrote:allow ropes to go horizontal like a zip line.
Not just vertical but horizontal. I'll think about it.
if you do the horizontal wouldn't you also have to come up with a way to move on them like hand over hand or sliding
maybe you could make it shoot across an expanse and then form a rope bridge kind of like these
https://www.google.com/search?q=rope+br ... B400%3B400
maybe crafting would be top row : empty / middle row : rope box , planks , rope box / bottom row : empty
Last edited by Spots on Tue Jan 22, 2013 14:23, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rarkenin
Member
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Post

Spots wrote: if you do the horizontal wouldn't you also have to come up with a way to move on them like hand over hand or sliding
maybe you could make it shoot across an expanse and then form a rope bridge kind of like these
https://www.google.com/search?q=rope+br ... B400%3B400
maybe crafting would be top row : empty / middle row : rope box , planks , rope box / bottom row : empty
In some cases, ladders may be placed horizntally, and they behave in a similar fashion to what is needed. Can that behavior be adapted?
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

You could have to place another block for it to go to.the rope will only go up to 50 blocks
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Bas080
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080
Location: Netherlands

by Bas080 » Post

Spots, . I'm not making a rope bridge maker. you can make a ropebridge yourself using the horizontal rope. However, the images you shared clearly show that a rope tends to bend deapest in the middle. If only i could recreate that effect.

rarkenin, Yes i could and most likely will give it that behavior.

Jojoa, a limit to the length of the rope. Why not!

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

i am wondering if you understand what i am saying. place a rope begin box, walk to other mountain and place an end box, then the rope appears
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Bas080
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080
Location: Netherlands

by Bas080 » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:i am wondering if you understand what i am saying. place a rope begin box, walk to other mountain and place an end box, then the rope appears
If I didn't understand it the first time i sure do now. Btw I understood you the first time.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Bas080 wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:i am wondering if you understand what i am saying. place a rope begin box, walk to other mountain and place an end box, then the rope appears
If I didn't understand it the first time i sure do now. Btw I understood you the first time.
ok good
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Bas080
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080
Location: Netherlands

by Bas080 » Post

Big update! Uses the plants_lib now! See changelog to read other changes or download it and see it with your own eyes.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PiJeyEe and 5 guests