[Mod][Experimental] Doors (minecraftlike) 0.0.3

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

[Mod][Experimental] Doors (minecraftlike) 0.0.3

by sapier » Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:59

I've tried to create created doors similar the ones used in minecraft.

By now this was only possible by adding small patches to minetest, don't know if they make it to master as they break the "a block is a block" rule ;-)

Use crowbar to increase removal speed of door by factor five
crowbar reciep:
. . steel_ingot
. steel_ingot .
steel_ingot . .


Working (>0.0.2):
-placing doors relative to player position and position of door (4 possibilitys)
-opening/closing doors
-removing doors
-doors are as slim as their collision box and smaller than block size -> fixed by minetest patch "cube_disorted"
-transparency does work (->github/sapier/minetest branch sapier_experimental)
-doors can't be walked through if closed (->github/sapier/minetest branch sapier_experimental)


Problems:
nothing known

Changes:
Version 0.0.3
-Iron door added
-switched from 2 entities per door to 1 entitie
-fixed dig door bug
-switched to left click door opening



Screenshots:
-closed door
Image

-opened door (you can see the thin black line of the collision box around the frame)
Image

-all in one
Image

Minetest Patches
transparency patch is not mandatory and may have side effects to other parts of minetest, haven't checked this
http://www.mediafire.com/?8xxzdcvxs56ze3z

cube_disorted patch adds another visual style to entitys using their collision box for drawing the mesh, beware collision box HAS TO BE MinEdge,MaxEdge to get reasonable drawing results!
http://www.mediafire.com/?i0zqkntbnzt7jog

Mod:
http://www.mediafire.com/?khcvdbcq1abzwvx (Version 0.0.1)
http://www.mediafire.com/?0peyua24rdc6mia (Version 0.0.2)
http://www.mediafire.com/?4e8of77m8ah602x(Version 0.0.3)
Last edited by sapier on Sun Feb 19, 2012 14:14, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

bwog
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 14:09
Location: United States

by bwog » Fri Dec 23, 2011 22:33

You don't need to make us download the screenshots, just upload them to TinyPic or another image hosting site.
 

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09
Location: Earth

by RAPHAEL » Fri Dec 23, 2011 23:59

bwog wrote:You don't need to make us download the screenshots, just upload them to TinyPic or another image hosting site.

I just clicked the mediafire links and they loaded. No "download" needed. Sorry but I don't know how to help you with this mod. But great idea.
Last edited by RAPHAEL on Sat Dec 24, 2011 00:00, edited 1 time in total.
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)
 

randomproof
Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 06:31
Location: California, USA

by randomproof » Sat Dec 24, 2011 01:06

sapier wrote:1) My doors don't stop anyone, you can walk straight through

Entities can be walked through, which is why I made my door mod with nodes, that and I wanted big and shaped doors. Your doors look a lot better though. You might take a look at the hatches mod. Just turn them on the side?
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Sat Dec 24, 2011 01:19

I'm not able to test atm but I'm guessing this is an issue with the way that the cube visual stuff is rendered, as the textures themselves do contain an alpha channel and work if you assign them to a sprite or node with glasslike visual style.

I and No-Half-Measures had a similar problem ages ago trying to get stained glass to work, the problem was with the material setting which didn't allow transparent materials iirc we had to change the setting to something else to get it to work.

So basically what I'm saying is maybe the material setting for cube visual style doesn't allow transparent materials.

I can't confirm this though as I don't have access to the C++ source on this system.

EDIT: Might be worth asking on the minetest-delta IRC channel to see if anyone can confirm this.
Last edited by dannydark on Sat Dec 24, 2011 01:22, edited 1 time in total.
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sat Dec 24, 2011 05:15

thanks dannydark, you've been right. confirmed and fixed it in c code by myself
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sat Dec 24, 2011 05:17

@randomproof
I started with hatches mod changed this and that and finaly discovered nothing was left of hatches ;-)
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

Zarberman
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 16:38

by Zarberman » Sat Dec 24, 2011 15:00

when i try to download the transparecy patch, it says that there was a problem with the dowoad. please help
my website (still in testing) www.gameri.webs.com
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sat Dec 24, 2011 17:06

Works for me, but as mediafire heavyly relies on google apis and other scripts you have to disable scriptblocker addons in your browser
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
sycam
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:57
Location: matcham

by sycam » Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:08

when i place the door i cant see it and the thing says ''cannot create image from data received from texture thumbs.db''
sycam industry's yesterdays technology today
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:11

This error message isn't related to your problem it just tells there's a file called thumbs.db within one of your texture folders. As this ain't a texture it can't be loaded as texture.

I assume you didn't build minetest yourself after adding the patches ... did you?
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

robin
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 15:53

by robin » Tue Jan 10, 2012 19:22

Did your patches went upstream meanwhile?
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Tue Jan 10, 2012 21:12

no and as someone is workling on steps (half block's) I don't think they will as those patches are most likely to collide (but i haven't really checked that)
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
Staffs
Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 13:16

by Staffs » Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:13

Why would you need this mod if you can walk through. I need doors for protection not design
I love mods :D
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:55

maybe if when it was hit it didn't just change position but changed into a different node one thats solid :) just a suggestion
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sat Jan 14, 2012 13:58

problem is the door needs to store data about it's orientation that can't be done with nodes. It isn't handled during server reboots by now either, but that could be added without need to change c++ code. This isn't trivial and i didn't want to do it for a mod not usefull by now ;-).
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

rahonejm
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 01:58
Location: Brazil

by rahonejm » Sun Jan 22, 2012 23:00

question: where i need to paste the patches?
Sorry for possible language mistakes
 

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
Location: Romania, Bucharest
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

by MirceaKitsune » Mon Feb 13, 2012 16:48

Looking good, going to try it now. I don't believe the crowbar is really necessary, but doors themselves are very welcome to Minetest at this stage.
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Mon Feb 13, 2012 18:18

The doors do work now as a door should work, at least if you do use my minetest branch.

Relevant patches for doors mod are:
-entity collision handling
-entity disorted_cube drawmode
Last edited by sapier on Tue Feb 14, 2012 20:45, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
sycam
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:57
Location: matcham

by sycam » Tue Feb 14, 2012 04:39

cool my internets down so i cant say much
(im on a libary one)
Last edited by sycam on Tue Feb 14, 2012 04:39, edited 1 time in total.
sycam industry's yesterdays technology today
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Wed Feb 15, 2012 02:53

This is great! Are there any plans to merge the changes in your branch into upstream?
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:23

Its supposed to be Minetest core, NOT upstream, celeron ("hates") people who say upstream.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:44

I don't see any problems why the features shouldn't be added but there are so much features about to add to core I can't really predict when it's time.

I need to do some changes too if it's added e.g. two entities for one door isn't needed at all, mesecon support ...

btw there's a bad bug that still is a problem for this doors. the ...
Last edited by sapier on Wed Feb 15, 2012 20:53, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

kahrl
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51
Location: Rös̓̇chenhof

by kahrl » Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:59

Because code from my collision_allow_stairs(_v2) is involved, performance is a problem (especially on older computers or when a really large number of entities are moving). I'll fix that some time soon.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:18

sapier wrote:I don't see any problems why the features shouldn't be added but there are so much features about to add to core I can't really predict when it's time.

I need to do some changes too if it's added e.g. two entities for one door isn't needed at all, mesecon support ...

btw there's a bad bug that still is a problem for this doors. the


Erm, truncated post?
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

Next

Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MoNTE48 and 5 guests