[Mod] Nether Mod [0.1STABLE]

LorenzoVulcan
Member
 
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 06:46
GitHub: aegroto

by LorenzoVulcan » Sat Feb 09, 2013 06:49

lkjoel wrote:
LorenzoVulcan wrote:This is giving me a terrible lag in 0.4.4d1.
After nether spawns,inventory and portals are totally freezed,nether lava doesn't often flow and commands work with 3-4 seconds delay.

EDIT:Solved,but i had to wait like 25 minutes :|

Yeah, it's slow :/

I noticed that when i try to edit the chunk generation server lags everytime.

I think you might re-write the generation code using biomes,maybe using http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=3984
Developer of the BlockForge 2# Project!
Official thread: http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=54290#p54290
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Sat Feb 09, 2013 15:24

LorenzoVulcan wrote:
lkjoel wrote:
LorenzoVulcan wrote:This is giving me a terrible lag in 0.4.4d1.
After nether spawns,inventory and portals are totally freezed,nether lava doesn't often flow and commands work with 3-4 seconds delay.

EDIT:Solved,but i had to wait like 25 minutes :|

Yeah, it's slow :/

I noticed that when i try to edit the chunk generation server lags everytime.

I think you might re-write the generation code using biomes,maybe using http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=3984

Hmm, but it doesn't seem powerful enough... I might make a shared library for it and use that to generate it instead :P
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

J-Block
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 20:04

by J-Block » Sat Feb 09, 2013 16:48

How do you download it?
 

J-Block
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 20:04

by J-Block » Sat Feb 09, 2013 20:26

Code: Select all
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\Jason\Documents\minetest-0.4.4-win32\minetest-0.4.4-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\nether\init.lua:
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: cannot open C:\Users\Jason\Documents\minetest-0.4.4-win32\minetest-0.4.4-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\nether\init.lua: No such file or directory
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========


It doesn't say what I should name the file. I don't know how to make a "Init. Lua" file or anything like that, and my computer does not have the programs to open LUA files.
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Sat Feb 09, 2013 21:41

J-Block wrote:
Code: Select all
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\Jason\Documents\minetest-0.4.4-win32\minetest-0.4.4-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\nether\init.lua:
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: cannot open C:\Users\Jason\Documents\minetest-0.4.4-win32\minetest-0.4.4-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\nether\init.lua: No such file or directory
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========


It doesn't say what I should name the file. I don't know how to make a "Init. Lua" file or anything like that, and my computer does not have the programs to open LUA files.

Extract the contents of the nether folder into the "mods" folder, then it should work :) Also, on a sidenote, you can technically edit LUA files with notepad if you wish :P
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

J-Block
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 20:04

by J-Block » Sun Feb 10, 2013 14:55

Well, it runs the mod but it won't spawn the map when I teleport to the netherworld.
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Sun Feb 10, 2013 17:46

Hybrid Dog wrote:
J-Block wrote:Well, it runs the mod but it won't spawn the map when I teleport to the netherworld.
It's a problem of mapgen
Try to avoid "for x = minp, maxp"

Interesting, how would I do it then?
J-Block wrote:Well, it runs the mod but it won't spawn the map when I teleport to the netherworld.

I think you just have to wait a rather long time (like 30 mins)
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Sun Feb 10, 2013 17:49

Hybrid Dog wrote:
lkjoel wrote:Interesting, how would I do it then?
This is the problem.

Oh, so you're saying it's impossible to do it another way?
Last edited by lkjoel on Sun Feb 10, 2013 17:49, edited 1 time in total.
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Sun Feb 10, 2013 17:55

Hybrid Dog wrote:
lkjoel wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:This is the problem.

Oh, so you're saying it's impossible to do it another way?
You can only edit the source code that it works. PilzAdam did this with the flatland mod

Okay, I will do it in C, except it'll still be a mod ;)
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Wed Feb 13, 2013 19:45

AHHHHHHH! THIS MOD WON"T ALLOW ME SEE THE PLACE WHEN I GO IN THE, PORTAL GO To Outerspace and the cood is so crazy!.!

Do this work at, all for, xyz newest build? if not then that, maybe what the root to my problem is.

Oh and heres a screenshot of the it!
Image
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Wed Feb 13, 2013 19:53

Likwid H-Craft wrote:AHHHHHHH! THIS MOD WON"T ALLOW ME SEE THE PLACE WHEN I GO IN THE, PORTAL GO To Outerspace and the cood is so crazy!.!

Do this work at, all for, xyz newest build? if not then that, maybe what the root to my problem is.

Oh and heres a screenshot of the it!
Image
it takes like 20 minutes for the area to load depending on how fast you computer is.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Wed Feb 13, 2013 20:29

Likwid H-Craft wrote:AHHHHHHH! THIS MOD WON"T ALLOW ME SEE THE PLACE WHEN I GO IN THE, PORTAL GO To Outerspace and the cood is so crazy!.!

Do this work at, all for, xyz newest build? if not then that, maybe what the root to my problem is.

Oh and heres a screenshot of the it!
-snip-

It's because it's another world, so it has to be somewhere that no one would ever go to
jojoa1997 wrote:
Likwid H-Craft wrote:AHHHHHHH! THIS MOD WON"T ALLOW ME SEE THE PLACE WHEN I GO IN THE, PORTAL GO To Outerspace and the cood is so crazy!.!

Do this work at, all for, xyz newest build? if not then that, maybe what the root to my problem is.

Oh and heres a screenshot of the it!
-snip-
it takes like 20 minutes for the area to load depending on how fast you computer is.

Correct, for me it takes around 5-7 minutes
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

neron
Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 20:22

by neron » Fri Mar 01, 2013 02:54

Is this mod still active?
Also, could you make almost an exact minecraft clone fork?
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Fri Mar 01, 2013 03:12

neron wrote:Is this mod still active?
Also, could you make almost an exact minecraft clone fork?

Yes, just paused (working on 4 different projects, so I can't work on this one yet). And yes, I was heavily involved in blockplanet (which tried to do that), but then the whole team dispersed about a year ago, so no, I guess. But I'm not against the idea, just against the practice :P
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

neron
Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 20:22

by neron » Fri Mar 01, 2013 03:34

Will blockplanet start up again? That's exactly what my friends and I are looking for - a minecraft clone.
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Fri Mar 01, 2013 03:43

neron wrote:Will blockplanet start up again? That's exactly what my friends and I are looking for - a minecraft clone.

No, it stopped. If you're looking for a minecraft clone, you might want to try Maniac Digger.
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

User avatar
vv221
Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 08:18
Location: France

by vv221 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 01:08

Are you planning to add a way to loot or craft the nether pearl without having to use the creative mode or the commands ?
 

User avatar
YoYoBuddy
Member
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 00:49
Location: New York City

by YoYoBuddy » Thu Mar 21, 2013 17:55

This is copyrighted minecraft material!
Notch's reaction:
Image
“People are more difficult to work with than machines. And when you break a
person, he can't be fixed."

-Rick Riordan
 

Secret_Guy_3
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 00:10

by Secret_Guy_3 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 22:11

Where do I get the nether pearl?
Map Maker and other stuff.
 

User avatar
lonely
Member
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 15:30
Location: Germany

by lonely » Sat Jun 08, 2013 18:12

jordan4ibanez wrote:MFW i realized this is working right
Image

LOL
Aperture science:[url]http:forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=5917[/url]
I v'e got MineCraft now, so goodbye. You can look for me at the minecraft forum. my name there
is Portalfreaky.
 

User avatar
lonely
Member
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 15:30
Location: Germany

by lonely » Sat Jun 08, 2013 18:15

jordan4ibanez wrote:MFW i realized this is working right
Image
LOL
Aperture science:[url]http:forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=5917[/url]
I v'e got MineCraft now, so goodbye. You can look for me at the minecraft forum. my name there
is Portalfreaky.
 

Josh
Member
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Sun Jun 09, 2013 02:57

YoYoBuddy wrote:This is copyrighted minecraft material!
Notch's reaction:
Image

Lol XD
 

meweb
Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 16:44

by meweb » Mon Jun 10, 2013 20:35

I can create the sound recordhering for entering and exiting the nether.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Mon Jun 10, 2013 21:18

meweb wrote:I can create the sound recordhering for entering and exiting the nether.

This mod is old and doesnt work AFAIK. You may want to look at my nether mod: http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=5790, I can add your sounds if you make them.
 

lkjoel
Member
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey

by lkjoel » Wed Jun 19, 2013 23:58

Hybrid Dog wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:
meweb wrote:I can create the sound recordhering for entering and exiting the nether.

This mod is old and doesnt work
why?

I doubt that it doesn't work, but it's definitely slow (lua is like the worst scripting language ever, in terms of speed, and yes, I do have some backing for that statement, AND alternatives... but, of course, people will say that I'm an idiot anyways, as always ._.)
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Old Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests