[Mod] Finite / Realistic Water [outdated] [waterplus]

User avatar
rinoux
Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:15

by rinoux » Post

I cant run your mod Proller

Loaded texture: /usr/share/minetest/textures/base/pack/menubg.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/minetest/textures/base/pack/menulogo.png
18:04:52: ERROR[main]: Error loading mod "waterplus-master": modname does not follow naming conventions: Only chararacters [a-z0-9_] are allowed.
18:04:52: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /home/poipoi/.minetest/mods/minetest/waterplus-master/init.lua
18:04:52: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run /home/poipoi/.minetest/mods/minetest/waterplus-master/init.lua

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

rinoux wrote:I cant run your mod Proller

Loaded texture: /usr/share/minetest/textures/base/pack/menubg.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/minetest/textures/base/pack/menulogo.png
18:04:52: ERROR[main]: Error loading mod "waterplus-master": modname does not follow naming conventions: Only chararacters [a-z0-9_] are allowed.
18:04:52: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /home/poipoi/.minetest/mods/minetest/waterplus-master/init.lua
18:04:52: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run /home/poipoi/.minetest/mods/minetest/waterplus-master/init.lua
Try renaming the folder waterplus-master to: waterplus

User avatar
rinoux
Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:15

by rinoux » Post

that work, thanks Topywo

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

by proller » Post

current version merged to https://github.com/rubenwardy/waterplus/ and its good

find underwater cave by crater on sea surface.
when cave will filled - surface will relax

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

by proller » Post


User avatar
GJH105775
Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 16:11
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

by GJH105775 » Post

rubenwardy wrote:
BrandonReese wrote:How CPU intensive is this mod?
I have done no tests, all I can say is that it depends on how much finite water there is.

This mod uses an Active Block Modifier to check if any of the surrounding blocks are lower than it is, and if so it starts flowing water into it.

So basically, a waterfall or a pond of finite water will not be that CPU extensive, but if you replace all default water with finite water... only tests will show.

My 3.2ghz processor runs it great
Check out my mod xtrablocks, has some different types of marble that you can build with or mine at different depths

I am not here regularly as I just kind of pop in and out. If you want to find me I'll be on quadcopterforum.com helping with multirotor builds and spending other's money haha.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/ ... hicons.jpg

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6294
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

I did do a speed test:
rubenwardy wrote:

Speed testing

I have tested the speed of this mod on my system.

No finite mod (control)
Using the vanilla minetest_game
Frame per second: 40 FPS
Loop time: n/a
Just Finite
Just a few finite lakes and puddles
Frames per second: 35 FPS
Loop time: half a second
Finite Ocean
All of default:water_source was converted to finite
Frames per second: 8-20 FPS
Loop time: 30sec - 1 min
Loop time is the time it takes to cycle through all of the finite water nodes.
Basically, it is how long it takes for a node to flow / drop again.

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Post

imho no point of testing speed of this mod since core version is waitin to be merged
try rather to test this one

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6294
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

RealBadAngel wrote:imho no point of testing speed of this mod since core version is waitin to be merged
try rather to test this one
I tested the speed ages ago :D

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

GJH105775 wrote:My 3.2ghz processor runs it great
Frequency doesn't do everything these days, number of cores, amount of cache and architecture matter a lot today. :)
rubenwardy wrote:I did do a speed test:
Out of curiosity, what's your CPU and graphcis card?
Last edited by Calinou on Mon Feb 25, 2013 20:09, edited 1 time in total.

proller
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

by proller » Post

c++ version merged to core, to use - update and enable in conf -
liquid_finite = true

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6294
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

Calinou wrote:
GJH105775 wrote:My 3.2ghz processor runs it great
Frequency doesn't do everything these days, number of cores, amount of cache and architecture matter a lot today. :)
rubenwardy wrote:I did do a speed test:
Out of curiosity, what's your CPU and graphcis card?
CPU: Pentium.
GRAPHICS CARD: built in.

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
Contact:

by Traxie21 » Post

I tried adding liquids_finite = true in minetest.conf (0.4.5 xyz), but nothing happened. afaik.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6294
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post


User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

by kaeza » Post

Sometimes the water gets stuck when you join after switching to liquids_finite. To fix that, you have to trigger a node update, for example, by digging a node adjacent to a body of water.
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

kaeza wrote:Sometimes the water gets stuck when you join after switching to liquids_finite. To fix that, you have to trigger a node update, for example, by digging a node adjacent to a body of water.
I have noticed that as well.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

ch98
Member
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 06:14

by ch98 » Post

Can I modify this code for my Scientific Mod? This will be great for finite gas if I flip it and make the texture almost invisible.
I have stopped playing minetest, and may not come back to it again. I would like to thank everyone that made the amazing time I had playing it. This account is not in use anymore, and the email has been linked to a unused account. If any administrator reading this has time, feel free to delete my account. Thank you very much for the great experience.

User avatar
JackGruff
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 21:44

by JackGruff » Post

Is it a bit too slow for your liking? You can try to increase the speed of the abm by decreasing the interval of the abm in finite.lua

Not detailed enough? Increase the water_finite_steps property in init.lua
How does one go about changing these now that this mod is stock?

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

JackGruff wrote:
Is it a bit too slow for your liking? You can try to increase the speed of the abm by decreasing the interval of the abm in finite.lua

Not detailed enough? Increase the water_finite_steps property in init.lua
How does one go about changing these now that this mod is stock?
You can change liquid settings by putting them in your minetest.conf file.

Look for them in the minetest.conf.example file. Copy the ones you want to use into your minetest.conf file. Change some variables and remove the # from the beginning of the line to get them to work.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6294
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

Please notice that this is an old mod, and is not the finite in the Minetest game.

User avatar
JackGruff
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 21:44

by JackGruff » Post

Topywo wrote:Look for them in the minetest.conf.example file. Copy the ones you want to use into your minetest.conf file. Change some variables and remove the # from the beginning of the line to get them to work.
Thanks! Changing the update to something like 0.2 really made it smoother.

Unfortunatly, it doesn't visualise sheer drops very well -- it looks like the water is teleported down a sheer drop, you can't see it falling.

So if you have something like this...

Code: Select all

#      body  #
#      of    #
#      water #
#     ########
#     #
#     #
#######


... water will start appearing at the bottom but you won't see it fall down.

This has smashed my dreams of constructing a secret waterfall entrance that can be opened by blocking the flow using mesecon pistons.

:(

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

JackGruff wrote:Unfortunatly, it doesn't visualise sheer drops very well -- it looks like the water is teleported down a sheer drop, you can't see it falling.

So if you have something like this...

Code: Select all

#      body  #
#      of    #
#      water #
#     ########
#     #
#     #
#######


... water will start appearing at the bottom but you won't see it fall down.

This has smashed my dreams of constructing a secret waterfall entrance that can be opened by blocking the flow using mesecon pistons.

:(

I'm not sure how to visualize what you mean and don't have much experience with mesecons (except the wires and the blinky plants :-) ), but maybe putting this in the groups of water_flowing and water_source: falling_node=1 (or in a node you create that replaces the node above the secret entrance), you can simulate the falling water.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6294
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

Again, this is the wrong topic.

User avatar
HardcoreFox
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 02:38

by HardcoreFox » Post

In these versions(versions 0.4.8 and 0.4.7), they have finite liquid already.
Tell me the password to YOUR server (EXCEPT FOR INOCUOMD)!

User avatar
HardcoreFox
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 02:38

by HardcoreFox » Post

Topywo wrote:
JackGruff wrote:Unfortunatly, it doesn't visualise sheer drops very well -- it looks like the water is teleported down a sheer drop, you can't see it falling.

So if you have something like this...

Code: Select all

#      body  #
#      of    #
#      water #
#     ########
#     #
#     #
#######


... water will start appearing at the bottom but you won't see it fall down.

This has smashed my dreams of constructing a secret waterfall entrance that can be opened by blocking the flow using mesecon pistons.

:(

I'm not sure how to visualize what you mean and don't have much experience with mesecons (except the wires and the blinky plants :-) ), but maybe putting this in the groups of water_flowing and water_source: falling_node=1 (or in a node you create that replaces the node above the secret entrance), you can simulate the falling water.
If you have v0.4.7 or v0.4.8, they will appear. :))
Tell me the password to YOUR server (EXCEPT FOR INOCUOMD)!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests