[Mod] Nether Mod [0.1STABLE]

LorenzoVulcan
Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 06:46
GitHub: aegroto

by LorenzoVulcan » Post

lkjoel wrote:
LorenzoVulcan wrote:This is giving me a terrible lag in 0.4.4d1.
After nether spawns,inventory and portals are totally freezed,nether lava doesn't often flow and commands work with 3-4 seconds delay.

EDIT:Solved,but i had to wait like 25 minutes :|
Yeah, it's slow :/
I noticed that when i try to edit the chunk generation server lags everytime.

I think you might re-write the generation code using biomes,maybe using http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=3984
Developer of the BlockForge 2# Project!
Official thread: http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php ... 290#p54290

User avatar
lkjoel
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey
Contact:

by lkjoel » Post

LorenzoVulcan wrote:
lkjoel wrote:
LorenzoVulcan wrote:This is giving me a terrible lag in 0.4.4d1.
After nether spawns,inventory and portals are totally freezed,nether lava doesn't often flow and commands work with 3-4 seconds delay.

EDIT:Solved,but i had to wait like 25 minutes :|
Yeah, it's slow :/
I noticed that when i try to edit the chunk generation server lags everytime.

I think you might re-write the generation code using biomes,maybe using http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=3984
Hmm, but it doesn't seem powerful enough... I might make a shared library for it and use that to generate it instead :P
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.

User avatar
J-Block
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 20:04

by J-Block » Post

How do you download it?

User avatar
J-Block
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 20:04

by J-Block » Post

Code: Select all

14:21:59: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from 
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\Jason\Documents\minetest-0.4.4-win32\minetest-0.4.4-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\nether\init.lua:
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: cannot open C:\Users\Jason\Documents\minetest-0.4.4-win32\minetest-0.4.4-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\nether\init.lua: No such file or directory
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
It doesn't say what I should name the file. I don't know how to make a "Init. Lua" file or anything like that, and my computer does not have the programs to open LUA files.

User avatar
lkjoel
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey
Contact:

by lkjoel » Post

J-Block wrote:

Code: Select all

14:21:59: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from 
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\Jason\Documents\minetest-0.4.4-win32\minetest-0.4.4-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\nether\init.lua:
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: cannot open C:\Users\Jason\Documents\minetest-0.4.4-win32\minetest-0.4.4-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\nether\init.lua: No such file or directory
14:21:59: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
It doesn't say what I should name the file. I don't know how to make a "Init. Lua" file or anything like that, and my computer does not have the programs to open LUA files.
Extract the contents of the nether folder into the "mods" folder, then it should work :) Also, on a sidenote, you can technically edit LUA files with notepad if you wish :P
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.

User avatar
J-Block
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 20:04

by J-Block » Post

Well, it runs the mod but it won't spawn the map when I teleport to the netherworld.

User avatar
lkjoel
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey
Contact:

by lkjoel » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:
J-Block wrote:Well, it runs the mod but it won't spawn the map when I teleport to the netherworld.
It's a problem of mapgen
Try to avoid "for x = minp, maxp"
Interesting, how would I do it then?
J-Block wrote:Well, it runs the mod but it won't spawn the map when I teleport to the netherworld.
I think you just have to wait a rather long time (like 30 mins)
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.

User avatar
lkjoel
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey
Contact:

by lkjoel » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:
lkjoel wrote:Interesting, how would I do it then?
This is the problem.
Oh, so you're saying it's impossible to do it another way?
Last edited by lkjoel on Sun Feb 10, 2013 17:49, edited 1 time in total.
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.

User avatar
lkjoel
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey
Contact:

by lkjoel » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:
lkjoel wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:This is the problem.
Oh, so you're saying it's impossible to do it another way?
You can only edit the source code that it works. PilzAdam did this with the flatland mod
Okay, I will do it in C, except it'll still be a mod ;)
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Post

AHHHHHHH! THIS MOD WON"T ALLOW ME SEE THE PLACE WHEN I GO IN THE, PORTAL GO To Outerspace and the cood is so crazy!.!

Do this work at, all for, xyz newest build? if not then that, maybe what the root to my problem is.

Oh and heres a screenshot of the it!
Image
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Likwid H-Craft wrote:AHHHHHHH! THIS MOD WON"T ALLOW ME SEE THE PLACE WHEN I GO IN THE, PORTAL GO To Outerspace and the cood is so crazy!.!

Do this work at, all for, xyz newest build? if not then that, maybe what the root to my problem is.

Oh and heres a screenshot of the it!
Image
it takes like 20 minutes for the area to load depending on how fast you computer is.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
lkjoel
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey
Contact:

by lkjoel » Post

Likwid H-Craft wrote:AHHHHHHH! THIS MOD WON"T ALLOW ME SEE THE PLACE WHEN I GO IN THE, PORTAL GO To Outerspace and the cood is so crazy!.!

Do this work at, all for, xyz newest build? if not then that, maybe what the root to my problem is.

Oh and heres a screenshot of the it!
-snip-
It's because it's another world, so it has to be somewhere that no one would ever go to
jojoa1997 wrote:
Likwid H-Craft wrote:AHHHHHHH! THIS MOD WON"T ALLOW ME SEE THE PLACE WHEN I GO IN THE, PORTAL GO To Outerspace and the cood is so crazy!.!

Do this work at, all for, xyz newest build? if not then that, maybe what the root to my problem is.

Oh and heres a screenshot of the it!
-snip-
it takes like 20 minutes for the area to load depending on how fast you computer is.
Correct, for me it takes around 5-7 minutes
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.

User avatar
neron
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 20:22

by neron » Post

Is this mod still active?
Also, could you make almost an exact minecraft clone fork?

User avatar
lkjoel
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey
Contact:

by lkjoel » Post

neron wrote:Is this mod still active?
Also, could you make almost an exact minecraft clone fork?
Yes, just paused (working on 4 different projects, so I can't work on this one yet). And yes, I was heavily involved in blockplanet (which tried to do that), but then the whole team dispersed about a year ago, so no, I guess. But I'm not against the idea, just against the practice :P
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.

User avatar
neron
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 20:22

by neron » Post

Will blockplanet start up again? That's exactly what my friends and I are looking for - a minecraft clone.

User avatar
lkjoel
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey
Contact:

by lkjoel » Post

neron wrote:Will blockplanet start up again? That's exactly what my friends and I are looking for - a minecraft clone.
No, it stopped. If you're looking for a minecraft clone, you might want to try Maniac Digger.
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.

User avatar
vv221
Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 08:18
Location: France
Contact:

by vv221 » Post

Are you planning to add a way to loot or craft the nether pearl without having to use the creative mode or the commands ?

User avatar
YoYoBuddy
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 00:49
Location: New York City

by YoYoBuddy » Post

This is copyrighted minecraft material!
Notch's reaction:
Image
“People are more difficult to work with than machines. And when you break a
person, he can't be fixed."

-Rick Riordan

User avatar
Secret_Guy_3
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 00:10

by Secret_Guy_3 » Post

Where do I get the nether pearl?
Map Maker and other stuff.

User avatar
lonely
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 15:30
Location: Germany

by lonely » Post

jordan4ibanez wrote:MFW i realized this is working right
Image
LOL
Aperture science:[url]http:forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=5917[/url]
I v'e got MineCraft now, so goodbye. You can look for me at the minecraft forum. my name there
is Portalfreaky.

User avatar
lonely
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 15:30
Location: Germany

by lonely » Post

jordan4ibanez wrote:MFW i realized this is working right
Image
LOL
Aperture science:[url]http:forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=5917[/url]
I v'e got MineCraft now, so goodbye. You can look for me at the minecraft forum. my name there
is Portalfreaky.

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

YoYoBuddy wrote:This is copyrighted minecraft material!
Notch's reaction:
Image
Lol XD

User avatar
meweb
Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 16:44

by meweb » Post

I can create the sound recordhering for entering and exiting the nether.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

meweb wrote:I can create the sound recordhering for entering and exiting the nether.
This mod is old and doesnt work AFAIK. You may want to look at my nether mod: http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=5790, I can add your sounds if you make them.

User avatar
lkjoel
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 19:27
Location: Gallifrey
Contact:

by lkjoel » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:
meweb wrote:I can create the sound recordhering for entering and exiting the nether.
This mod is old and doesnt work
why?
I doubt that it doesn't work, but it's definitely slow (lua is like the worst scripting language ever, in terms of speed, and yes, I do have some backing for that statement, AND alternatives... but, of course, people will say that I'm an idiot anyways, as always ._.)
My mods: The Nether | Doctor Who (WIP)

I have quit minetest ... again. I am heavily unimpressed by both the game and the community.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests