Compiled to run in place on linux, minetestserver doesnt?

Post Reply
User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09
Location: Earth

Compiled to run in place on linux, minetestserver doesnt?

by RAPHAEL » Post

I compiled the latest unstable to run in place on linux and minetest does but minetestserver doesn't. Is there a way to get the minetestserver to run in place?
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)

sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 4095
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

RAPHAEL wrote:I compiled the latest unstable to run in place on linux and minetest does but minetestserver doesn't. Is there a way to get the minetestserver to run in place?
Try "make -j2"
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09
Location: Earth

by RAPHAEL » Post

sfan5 wrote:
RAPHAEL wrote:I compiled the latest unstable to run in place on linux and minetest does but minetestserver doesn't. Is there a way to get the minetestserver to run in place?
Try "make -j2"
I did that.
$ apt-get install build-essential libirrlicht-dev cmake libbz2-dev libpng12-dev libjpeg8-dev libxxf86vm-dev libgl1-mesa-dev libsqlite3-dev
Download source, extract:
$ wget https://github.com/celeron55/minetest/tarball/master -O master.tar.gz
$ tar xf master.tar.gz
$ cd celeron55-minetest-286edd4 (or similar)
Build a version that runs directly from the source directory:
$ cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1
$ make -j2
^^ that is the code I used to compile.
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)

randomproof
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 06:31
Location: California, USA

by randomproof » Post

Have you tried running the server on the command line? You can then run the client any way you want and set the server address as localhost. Or you can just run the client with a blank server address and the server will be started in the background.
Last edited by randomproof on Fri Jan 20, 2012 23:15, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09
Location: Earth

by RAPHAEL » Post

randomproof wrote:Have you tried running the server on the command line? You can then run the client any way you want and set the server address as localhost. Or you can just run the client with a blank server address and the server will be started in the background.
What I did was cd to the bin/ directory and run:
nohup ./minetestserver &

but it loaded the config files from the .minetest directory in home. I want it to run in place and use the config mods and such in the folder its in (/home/user/minetest)
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)

randomproof
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 06:31
Location: California, USA

by randomproof » Post

Do you get something like this when you run the server:

Code: Select all

steven@debian:~/working/minetest/bin$ ./minetestserver 
signal_handler_init()
Using relative paths (RUN_IN_PLACE)
path_data = /home/steven/working/minetest/bin/../data
path_userdata = /home/steven/working/minetest/bin/..
Debug streams initialized, disable_stderr=0
17:22:47: ACTION[main]: minetest with SER_FMT_VER_HIGHEST=21, VER=0.4.dev-20120106-1 RUN_IN_PLACE=1 USE_GETTEXT=1 INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr/local BUILD_TYPE=Release


        .__               __                   __   
  _____ |__| ____   _____/  |_  ____   _______/  |_ 
 /     \|  |/    \_/ __ \   __\/ __ \ /  ___/\   __\
|  Y Y  \  |   |  \  ___/|  | \  ___/ \___ \  |  |  
|__|_|  /__|___|  /\___  >__|  \___  >____  > |__|  
      \/        \/     \/          \/     \/        


AuthManager: loading from /home/steven/working/minetest/bin/../world/auth.txt
BanManager: loading from /home/steven/working/minetest/bin/../world/ipban.txt
Last edited by randomproof on Sat Jan 21, 2012 01:25, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09
Location: Earth

by RAPHAEL » Post

After a lot of poking around it seems it was some kind of permission issue. Managed to get it fixed and now it runs in place. Sorry for bothering anyone about this.
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)

mahho
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:42

by mahho » Post

I compiled with

Code: Select all

cmake -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1 -DBUILD_CLIENT=0 
and copied to ~/mtest bin and data folder, after running bin/minetestserver it generated world, etc properly in ~/mtest (not in .minetest)

So, show the log, as randomproof did :P

sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 4095
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

mahho wrote:I compiled with

Code: Select all

cmake -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1 -DBUILD_CLIENT=0 
CMake only generates the Makefile, it doesn't build
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

mahho
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:42

by mahho » Post

yeah, of course, after that, of course, make is going :)

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09
Location: Earth

by RAPHAEL » Post

Hmm seems it still isn't working right. Sometimes it works right and other times it doesn't. Makes no sense to me. One would think it would act the same all the time.

Some notes: The server and the computer compiled on are same distro same packages but different processor and specs. The distro is Linux Mint 12. The user compiled on is different than the user its run from. Permissions were changed. I will likely try on Sunday to compile on the server computer and see if it works. minetestserver runs fine and in place every time on the machine it was compiled on.
-------------
Separator
-------------

Debug streams initialized, disable_stderr=0
18:10:25: ACTION[main]: minetest with SER_FMT_VER_HIGHEST=21, VER=0.4.dev-20120106-1 RUN_IN_PLACE=0 USE_GETTEXT=1 INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr BUILD_TYPE=Release
18:10:25: INFO[main]: Settings: Setting not found: "help"
18:10:25: INFO[main]: Settings: Setting not found: "info-on-stderr"
18:10:25: INFO[main]: Parsing configuration file: "/home/user/.minetest/minetest.conf"
18:10:25: INFO[main]: Settings: Setting not found: "enable-unittests"
AuthManager: loading from /home/user/.minetest/world/auth.txt
BanManager: loading from /home/user/.minetest/world/ipban.txt
18:10:25: INFO[main]: Mod search paths:
18:10:25: INFO[main]: /home/user/.minetest/usermods
18:10:25: INFO[main]: /home/user/.minetest/world/worldmods
18:10:25: INFO[main]: /usr/bin/../share/minetest/mods
18:10:25: INFO[main]: Server: Initializing scripting
18:10:25: INFO[main]: scriptapi_export
18:10:25: INFO[main]: Server: Loading builtin Lua stuff from "/usr/bin/../share/minetest/builtin.lua"
18:10:25: INFO[main]: Loading and running script from /usr/bin/../share/minetest/builtin.lua
18:10:25: INFO[main]: registerNode: registering content id "126": name="air"
18:10:25: INFO[main]: registerNode: registering content id "127": name="ignore"
18:10:25: INFO[main]: registerNode: WARNING: Ignoring CONTENT_IGNORE redefinition
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)

mahho
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:42

by mahho » Post

18:10:25: ACTION[main]: minetest with SER_FMT_VER_HIGHEST=21, VER=0.4.dev-20120106-1 RUN_IN_PLACE=0 USE_GETTEXT=1 INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr BUILD_TYPE=Release
Looks like it's not compiled with run_in_place
Last edited by mahho on Sat Jan 21, 2012 19:29, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dannydark
Member
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Post

its always best to compile the server on the server machine if using a dedicated/remote server, also like mahho said the debug you pasted shows that you are not using a RUN_IN_PLACE build.
Last edited by dannydark on Sat Jan 21, 2012 20:09, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests