[Mod] WorldEdit [1.0] [worldedit] {GitHub}

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3491
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
In-game: sfan5 ninjakitten

[Mod] WorldEdit [1.0] [worldedit] {GitHub}

by sfan5 » Sun Dec 11, 2011 17:34

WorldEdit is an in-game world editor. Use it to repair griefing, or just create awesome buildings in seconds.

License: GNU AGPL 3

+ License


GitHub repository: https://github.com/Uberi/MineTest-WorldEdit

No dependencies.

Download

Latest/Unstable (GitHub): https://github.com/Uberi/MineTest-WorldEdit/zipball/master (release notes) Requires a recent Minetest version from git (latest dev version)
1.0: https://github.com/Uberi/MineTest-WorldEdit/releases/tag/1.0 Requires Minetest 0.4.8
0.6: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/30267315/worldedit0.6.zip Requires Minetest 0.4.7
0.5: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30267315/worldedit0.5.zip Requires Minetest 0.4.6
0.4.5: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30267315/worldedit0.4.5.zip License GPLv2 Requires Minetest 0.4.6
0.4.2.1: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30267315/worldedit0.4.2.1.zip License GPLv2 Requires Minetest 0.4.3
Old Releases: (only listed for historic purposes)
0.4.2: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30267315/worldedit0.4.2.zip
0.4: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30267315/worldedit0.4.zip
0.3: http://ubuntuone.com/5QQubOGsUYsfICieMoSiIo
0.2: http://ubuntuone.com/4JAj3d46ywX65a605wgDPm

Screenshots

+ Spoiler


How to set up

Just grant the “worldedit” privilege to yourself or another player.
/grant <name> worldedit

How to use

New users should see the tutorial

+ Spoiler


List of commands

Complete and always up to date list
Last edited by sfan5 on Thu Mar 06, 2014 14:40, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: Nuke | WorldEdit | Mesecons
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
Tox me! E6D070126A6F9807A116907BE1968730BE8CD844A8625B7557350C18910DE971A825D723FAE9
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Sun Dec 11, 2011 17:41

Whoa nice, although the first screenshot is just madness haha.

I will give this a try later ^_^
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3491
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
In-game: sfan5 ninjakitten

by sfan5 » Sun Dec 11, 2011 17:50

Fun Fact about 1st Screenshot:
It took 2 minutes to set the blocks
Mods: Nuke | WorldEdit | Mesecons
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
Tox me! E6D070126A6F9807A116907BE1968730BE8CD844A8625B7557350C18910DE971A825D723FAE9
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 2752
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Sun Dec 11, 2011 21:38

That IS awesome, great job... ;)
You should probably change its name to avoid confusion with Minecraft. Something like MESEdit? :P
My mods and texture packs.
Tox ID: 8DF315693CFC073999DE33B8348D5A3A4B6F676FC30708E485B2E2AD1496E20C26A94EEE79AF
Follow me on Quitter.
 

MarkTraceur
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 05:41
Location: San Francisco, CA

by MarkTraceur » Mon Dec 12, 2011 00:00

When I followed your instructions, I got "permission denied" (or similar). weperms.txt created, logged in with the right name, weperms looks like

Code: Select all
{marktraceur}


Bug?
Last edited by MarkTraceur on Mon Dec 12, 2011 00:01, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: https://gitorious.org/marktraceur-minetest-mods
IRC: marktraceur on freenode
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 2752
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Mon Dec 12, 2011 00:04

Would it be possible to have a //replace command?
Like: //replace dirt stone (replaces all dirt in selection with stone)
My mods and texture packs.
Tox ID: 8DF315693CFC073999DE33B8348D5A3A4B6F676FC30708E485B2E2AD1496E20C26A94EEE79AF
Follow me on Quitter.
 

TBC_x
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 13:18

by TBC_x » Mon Dec 12, 2011 01:06

Calinou wrote:That IS awesome, great job... ;)
You should probably change its name to avoid confusion with Minecraft. Something like MESEdit? :P

MessEdit :)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3491
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
In-game: sfan5 ninjakitten

by sfan5 » Mon Dec 12, 2011 06:01

MarkTraceur wrote:When I followed your instructions, I got "permission denied" (or similar). weperms.txt created, logged in with the right name, weperms looks like

Code: Select all
{marktraceur}


Bug?

Try copying weperms.txt into your current directory.
I'll make this better in the next version
Last edited by sfan5 on Mon Dec 12, 2011 06:19, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: Nuke | WorldEdit | Mesecons
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
Tox me! E6D070126A6F9807A116907BE1968730BE8CD844A8625B7557350C18910DE971A825D723FAE9
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3491
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
In-game: sfan5 ninjakitten

by sfan5 » Mon Dec 12, 2011 06:15

Calinou wrote:Would it be possible to have a //replace command?
Like: //replace dirt stone (replaces all dirt in selection with stone)

That is possible.
I'll include it in the next version
Mods: Nuke | WorldEdit | Mesecons
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
Tox me! E6D070126A6F9807A116907BE1968730BE8CD844A8625B7557350C18910DE971A825D723FAE9
 

MarkTraceur
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 05:41
Location: San Francisco, CA

by MarkTraceur » Mon Dec 12, 2011 06:36

Awesome. Celeron added something that should make it easier:

Code: Select all
    bd21f00        Add minetest.get_modpath(modname)
Mods: https://gitorious.org/marktraceur-minetest-mods
IRC: marktraceur on freenode
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3491
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
In-game: sfan5 ninjakitten

by sfan5 » Mon Dec 12, 2011 13:09

MarkTraceur wrote:Awesome. Celeron added something that should make it easier:

Code: Select all
    bd21f00        Add minetest.get_modpath(modname)

We need a new dev release
Mods: Nuke | WorldEdit | Mesecons
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
Tox me! E6D070126A6F9807A116907BE1968730BE8CD844A8625B7557350C18910DE971A825D723FAE9
 

kahrl
Developer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51
Location: Rös̓̇chenhof

by kahrl » Mon Dec 12, 2011 15:01

Hmm. Shouldn't weperms.txt be per-world? I'm not sure if the mod directory is guaranteed to be writeable.
 

celeron55
Administrator
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:10

by celeron55 » Mon Dec 12, 2011 17:20

kahrl wrote:Hmm. Shouldn't weperms.txt be per-world? I'm not sure if the mod directory is guaranteed to be writeable.


There should probably be minetest.get_worldpath() for this kind of usage?
 

kahrl
Developer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51
Location: Rös̓̇chenhof

by kahrl » Mon Dec 12, 2011 19:13

Hmm.

Suggestion 1:
  • There's a new world subdirectory, say world/moddata.
  • Define a function minetest.read_file(filename) which reads a file below world/moddata and returns its contents as a string (or an array of lines?). Similarly, define minetest.write_file(filename, contents).
  • Disable io.open and all other functions from from the io library. This should make it a bit safer to install random mods.
    • Also make sure minetest.{read,write}_file don't accept filenames that contain a directory separator or start with a dot.
    • And there's os.execute,os.remove, ...

or

Suggestion 2:
  • Like suggestion 1, but instead of minetest.read_file and minetest.write_file, define minetest.open_file(filename, mode) which opens a file under world/moddata and returns a file handle. This might mean that some functions from the io module would need to stay enabled.

or

Suggestion 3:
  • Restrict all filesystem access from lua and give mods some kind of access to the sqlite database.
Last edited by kahrl on Mon Dec 12, 2011 19:16, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 2752
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Tue Dec 13, 2011 00:14

Suggestion 4: Suggestion 1 or 2, but with a dialog if the mod wants to write/delete something.
Like, a menu showing up: "Do you want to allow modname to write modstuff.extension? Reason: reason".
My mods and texture packs.
Tox ID: 8DF315693CFC073999DE33B8348D5A3A4B6F676FC30708E485B2E2AD1496E20C26A94EEE79AF
Follow me on Quitter.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3491
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
In-game: sfan5 ninjakitten

by sfan5 » Tue Dec 13, 2011 06:01

I like Suggestion 4, but there should be a Button "Yes for all (only modname)"
Mods: Nuke | WorldEdit | Mesecons
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
Tox me! E6D070126A6F9807A116907BE1968730BE8CD844A8625B7557350C18910DE971A825D723FAE9
 

Gatharoth
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 02:54

by Gatharoth » Thu Dec 22, 2011 06:44

Is there going to be a remove feature? (or if there already is by like //set [some block that is equal to nothing])
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:41

@Gatharoth you could do "//set air" ^_^
 

Gatharoth
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 02:54

by Gatharoth » Thu Dec 22, 2011 16:46

dannydark wrote:@Gatharoth you could do "//set air" ^_^


Last time I tried "//set air" I was getting an error that it couldn't replace the block(s). And now today, it replaces them. >.< Oh well. Good mod anyway :D
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 06:03

I got the "You haven't got the permission for that" error. How do I fix it???
 

Gatharoth
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 02:54

by Gatharoth » Sun Jan 08, 2012 06:11

IPushButton2653 wrote:I got the "You haven't got the permission for that" error. How do I fix it???


read below

sfan5 wrote:Create a weperms.txt in the bin folder.
Now add {username} to the file, for each user who should be able to use WorldEdit.
Last edited by Gatharoth on Sun Jan 08, 2012 06:11, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 06:17

I did that, I made a weperms.txt file and added my username in the brackets as so: {John_Lennon}. It didn't work so I just put the name "test" in there, and it still didn't work. I am on windows, if that helps anything.
 

Gatharoth
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 02:54

by Gatharoth » Sun Jan 08, 2012 07:14

its case sensitive, so the login name has to equal the name in the weperms.txt

so unless your login name for the server (including local) is "John_Lennon". Then idk. (if you're not using local, then you should also put it in the server's bin folder)
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sat Jan 14, 2012 22:17

I still can't get it to work for me. Please help!!!
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1727
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Sun Jan 15, 2012 00:02

this works..but its weird lol
I'm brewing up some mods.
 

Next

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MacGregor2k and 0 guests