[Mod] WorldEdit [1.0] [worldedit]

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3543
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

[Mod] WorldEdit [1.0] [worldedit]

by sfan5 » Sun Dec 11, 2011 17:34

WorldEdit is an in-game world editor. Use it to repair griefing, or just create awesome buildings in seconds.

Image
License: GNU AGPL v3
Basically, this means everyone is free to use, modify, and distribute the mod, as long as modifications are also licensed the same way.
Most importantly, the Affero variant of the GPL requires you to publish your modifications in source form, even if the mod is run only on the server, and not distributed.

Dependencies: none
GitHub: https://github.com/Uberi/MineTest-WorldEdit


Download

Latest: master.zip
1.0: 1.0.zip (release notes)


How to set up

Just grant the “worldedit” privilege to yourself or another player.
/grant <name> worldedit

How to use

Take a look at the tutorial

+ Old tutorial


List of commands
Last edited by sfan5 on Wed Mar 23, 2016 20:46, edited 4 times in total.
Reason: Fix horrible design with way too many colors
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Sun Dec 11, 2011 17:41

Whoa nice, although the first screenshot is just madness haha.

I will give this a try later ^_^
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3543
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Dec 11, 2011 17:50

Fun Fact about 1st Screenshot:
It took 2 minutes to set the blocks
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Sun Dec 11, 2011 21:38

That IS awesome, great job... ;)
You should probably change its name to avoid confusion with Minecraft. Something like MESEdit? :P
 

MarkTraceur
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 05:41
Location: San Francisco, CA

by MarkTraceur » Mon Dec 12, 2011 00:00

When I followed your instructions, I got "permission denied" (or similar). weperms.txt created, logged in with the right name, weperms looks like

Code: Select all
{marktraceur}


Bug?
Last edited by MarkTraceur on Mon Dec 12, 2011 00:01, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: https://gitorious.org/marktraceur-minetest-mods
IRC: marktraceur on freenode
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Mon Dec 12, 2011 00:04

Would it be possible to have a //replace command?
Like: //replace dirt stone (replaces all dirt in selection with stone)
 

TBC_x
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 13:18

by TBC_x » Mon Dec 12, 2011 01:06

Calinou wrote:That IS awesome, great job... ;)
You should probably change its name to avoid confusion with Minecraft. Something like MESEdit? :P

MessEdit :)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3543
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Mon Dec 12, 2011 06:01

MarkTraceur wrote:When I followed your instructions, I got "permission denied" (or similar). weperms.txt created, logged in with the right name, weperms looks like

Code: Select all
{marktraceur}


Bug?

Try copying weperms.txt into your current directory.
I'll make this better in the next version
Last edited by sfan5 on Mon Dec 12, 2011 06:19, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3543
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Mon Dec 12, 2011 06:15

Calinou wrote:Would it be possible to have a //replace command?
Like: //replace dirt stone (replaces all dirt in selection with stone)

That is possible.
I'll include it in the next version
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

MarkTraceur
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 05:41
Location: San Francisco, CA

by MarkTraceur » Mon Dec 12, 2011 06:36

Awesome. Celeron added something that should make it easier:

Code: Select all
    bd21f00        Add minetest.get_modpath(modname)
Mods: https://gitorious.org/marktraceur-minetest-mods
IRC: marktraceur on freenode
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3543
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Mon Dec 12, 2011 13:09

MarkTraceur wrote:Awesome. Celeron added something that should make it easier:

Code: Select all
    bd21f00        Add minetest.get_modpath(modname)

We need a new dev release
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

kahrl
Developer
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51
Location: Rös̓̇chenhof

by kahrl » Mon Dec 12, 2011 15:01

Hmm. Shouldn't weperms.txt be per-world? I'm not sure if the mod directory is guaranteed to be writeable.
 

celeron55
Administrator
 
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:10

by celeron55 » Mon Dec 12, 2011 17:20

kahrl wrote:Hmm. Shouldn't weperms.txt be per-world? I'm not sure if the mod directory is guaranteed to be writeable.


There should probably be minetest.get_worldpath() for this kind of usage?
 

kahrl
Developer
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51
Location: Rös̓̇chenhof

by kahrl » Mon Dec 12, 2011 19:13

Hmm.

Suggestion 1:
  • There's a new world subdirectory, say world/moddata.
  • Define a function minetest.read_file(filename) which reads a file below world/moddata and returns its contents as a string (or an array of lines?). Similarly, define minetest.write_file(filename, contents).
  • Disable io.open and all other functions from from the io library. This should make it a bit safer to install random mods.
    • Also make sure minetest.{read,write}_file don't accept filenames that contain a directory separator or start with a dot.
    • And there's os.execute,os.remove, ...

or

Suggestion 2:
  • Like suggestion 1, but instead of minetest.read_file and minetest.write_file, define minetest.open_file(filename, mode) which opens a file under world/moddata and returns a file handle. This might mean that some functions from the io module would need to stay enabled.

or

Suggestion 3:
  • Restrict all filesystem access from lua and give mods some kind of access to the sqlite database.
Last edited by kahrl on Mon Dec 12, 2011 19:16, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Tue Dec 13, 2011 00:14

Suggestion 4: Suggestion 1 or 2, but with a dialog if the mod wants to write/delete something.
Like, a menu showing up: "Do you want to allow modname to write modstuff.extension? Reason: reason".
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3543
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Tue Dec 13, 2011 06:01

I like Suggestion 4, but there should be a Button "Yes for all (only modname)"
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Gatharoth
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 02:54

by Gatharoth » Thu Dec 22, 2011 06:44

Is there going to be a remove feature? (or if there already is by like //set [some block that is equal to nothing])
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:41

@Gatharoth you could do "//set air" ^_^
 

Gatharoth
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 02:54

by Gatharoth » Thu Dec 22, 2011 16:46

dannydark wrote:@Gatharoth you could do "//set air" ^_^


Last time I tried "//set air" I was getting an error that it couldn't replace the block(s). And now today, it replaces them. >.< Oh well. Good mod anyway :D
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 06:03

I got the "You haven't got the permission for that" error. How do I fix it???
 

Gatharoth
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 02:54

by Gatharoth » Sun Jan 08, 2012 06:11

IPushButton2653 wrote:I got the "You haven't got the permission for that" error. How do I fix it???


read below

sfan5 wrote:Create a weperms.txt in the bin folder.
Now add {username} to the file, for each user who should be able to use WorldEdit.
Last edited by Gatharoth on Sun Jan 08, 2012 06:11, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 06:17

I did that, I made a weperms.txt file and added my username in the brackets as so: {John_Lennon}. It didn't work so I just put the name "test" in there, and it still didn't work. I am on windows, if that helps anything.
 

Gatharoth
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 02:54

by Gatharoth » Sun Jan 08, 2012 07:14

its case sensitive, so the login name has to equal the name in the weperms.txt

so unless your login name for the server (including local) is "John_Lennon". Then idk. (if you're not using local, then you should also put it in the server's bin folder)
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sat Jan 14, 2012 22:17

I still can't get it to work for me. Please help!!!
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1769
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Sun Jan 15, 2012 00:02

this works..but its weird lol
 

Next

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bread, Rate85 and 3 guests