New trees

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Fri Dec 28, 2012 05:09

Poor trees! They grow into such height - and people want nothing but chop them down :-)

The new trees are great. I like additions to the plantlife. And when the trees will eventually be grouped in forrests and do not appear everywhere, it ought to be possible to find large enough areas without huge trees for larger structures.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Fri Dec 28, 2012 06:49

For some reason, when I first read your post, the images weren't coming through. But I did like the idea of custom tree generation being faster.

Now that I can see the images though, your trees are beautiful! They sort of remind me of trees from Terasology, although when I try t create a world in that game, it crashes, so I never got a good look at them.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4521
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:53

0gb.us wrote:For some reason, when I first read your post, the images weren't coming through. But I did like the idea of custom tree generation being faster.

Now that I can see the images though, your trees are beautiful! They sort of remind me of trees from Terasology, although when I try t create a world in that game, it crashes, so I never got a good look at them.

The tree's code was converted from Terasology.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Fri Dec 28, 2012 15:16

Yes, the idea and initial code comes from Terasology. Now it can get it back, i made lotsa improvements. Update to treegen coming tommorow/
 

User avatar
Neuromancer
Member
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 22:28
GitHub: Neuromancer56

by Neuromancer » Fri Dec 28, 2012 15:49

RealBadAngel wrote:Yes, the idea and initial code comes from Terasology. Now it can get it back, i made lotsa improvements. Update to treegen coming tommorow/


You could add a rail gun like Terasology to basically blow the heck out of any giant trees that grow in unwanted locations.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1pWBrGHS8H8
Last edited by Neuromancer on Fri Dec 28, 2012 15:50, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Fri Dec 28, 2012 19:49

That would be too good of a tool for vandals to use on people's houses.
 

User avatar
Bas080
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
Location: Netherlands
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080

by Bas080 » Mon Dec 31, 2012 05:48

Tried it out. Really like it BUT

- Can't change trunk thickness
- No control over the amount of fruit spawned in trees
- No control over the color of the leaves. (would be nice but not really important)

EDIT:
- I'm not sure but does the height vary. I don't think it does.
- The really big trees don't have connected branch but chunks of branch (Maybe because of the huge scale that it skips coordinates, the apple tree however doesn’t have this)

Image

I really want to implement this into the jungletree mod. This is gonna give more variety to the jungletrees.
Last edited by Bas080 on Mon Dec 31, 2012 06:00, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Mon Dec 31, 2012 07:17

Bas080 wrote:Tried it out. Really like it BUT

- Can't change trunk thickness
- No control over the amount of fruit spawned in trees
- No control over the color of the leaves. (would be nice but not really important)

EDIT:
- I'm not sure but does the height vary. I don't think it does.
- The really big trees don't have connected branch but chunks of branch (Maybe because of the huge scale that it skips coordinates, the apple tree however doesn’t have this)

Image

I really want to implement this into the jungletree mod. This is gonna give more variety to the jungletrees.


for thick trunks use thick_trunks=true
chance of spawning fruit is 10-iterations (%)
you can define leaves by setting leaves=node_name
about height: in general more iterations tree will be bigger
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3031
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Mon Dec 31, 2012 19:09

Where would I be able to find these new builds? Sfan5 doesn't seem to work on any as of late.
Recovering from the abomination I am. Clocking time for Garry's Mod I am too.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Mon Dec 31, 2012 19:25

Inocudom wrote:Where would I be able to find these new builds? Sfan5 doesn't seem to work on any as of late.

http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=60734
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3031
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Mon Dec 31, 2012 19:42

I tried unpacking the .zip file for the latest build there, but I could not do so successfully. I used PeaZip to do so, which is a reliable program.

I wonder if more interesting cacti can be made with this tree generator?
Recovering from the abomination I am. Clocking time for Garry's Mod I am too.
 

User avatar
Rancon
Member
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 14:59
Location: Gladstone, Missouri

by Rancon » Tue Jan 01, 2013 15:02

How do you code trees, I only know basic LUA.
Any tips on blender, gimp, or codea?
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Tue Jan 01, 2013 18:32

Inocudom wrote:I tried unpacking the .zip file for the latest build there, but I could not do so successfully. I used PeaZip to do so, which is a reliable program.

I wonder if more interesting cacti can be made with this tree generator?


of course, just use cacti for trunk, air for leaves

Rancon wrote:How do you code trees, I only know basic LUA.


Please read 1st post in topic.
Last edited by RealBadAngel on Tue Jan 01, 2013 18:33, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Casimir
Member
 
Posts: 1154
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

by Casimir » Tue Jan 01, 2013 18:41

tekk wrote:It makes the game prettier when you spawn, but your world becomes ugly later. How many wood blocks are in each tree, roughly? Bear in mind that you have get rid of every wood block to make all of the leaves fall, otherwise it laeves you with just a bunch of floating leaves, which is unpleasant. In addition, clearing out a forest is far less practical, taking minutes with even an axe for each tree, which impedes large building projects.

I made leaves climbable for me. It is very easy to cut down big trees this way and makes more fun. Forests you can burn down (this is fun too).
Last edited by Casimir on Tue Jan 01, 2013 18:41, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Bas080
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
Location: Netherlands
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080

by Bas080 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 05:54

RealBadAngel wrote:for thick trunks use thick_trunks=true

So there are two types of trunk. 1x1 and 3x3 with gaps in the corners. But i want 2x2 and 4x4.
Could it be possible to make thick_trunks an int where one can define the diameter?

Casimir wrote:Forests you can burn down (this is fun too).

I like your style!
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Thu Jan 03, 2013 14:38

Bas080 wrote:
RealBadAngel wrote:for thick trunks use thick_trunks=true

So there are two types of trunk. 1x1 and 3x3 with gaps in the corners. But i want 2x2 and 4x4.
Could it be possible to make thick_trunks an int where one can define the diameter?

Casimir wrote:Forests you can burn down (this is fun too).

I like your style!


with the new update thin_trunks=true/false will be replaced with trunks=single/double/crossed
which will be 1 node trunks, 2x2 node trunks, 3x3 in cross shape
 

tinoesroho
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

by tinoesroho » Fri Jan 04, 2013 02:09

Nice.

Of course, with a lack of a decent "lumber physics" (you know, drop the tree down a block in level when part of the trunk is removed), floating tree-islands will propogate. Still, nothing a good [s]fire[/s] flaming arrow can't fix!
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Fri Jan 04, 2013 09:28

Can the runs on an existing tree trunk enlarge the tree, or it will look like a tree placed on a tree? I mean, can I make tree growing by running a treegen on an existing trees?
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Fri Jan 04, 2013 15:46

neko259 wrote:Can the runs on an existing tree trunk enlarge the tree, or it will look like a tree placed on a tree? I mean, can I make tree growing by running a treegen on an existing trees?


technically it could be possible, mechanics is here
but it would be too much time consuming.
Thats why i introduced random_level to generate trees on random growth stages
 

lord_james
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 22:06

by lord_james » Sat Jan 05, 2013 01:12

Nice feature! You're pretty good. Could it be possible add vines/ladders with the trees generation?
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 14:39

RealBadAngel wrote:
neko259 wrote:Can the runs on an existing tree trunk enlarge the tree, or it will look like a tree placed on a tree? I mean, can I make tree growing by running a treegen on an existing trees?


technically it could be possible, mechanics is here
but it would be too much time consuming.
Thats why i introduced random_level to generate trees on random growth stages

I want to implement tree growing with l-systems. But I can't generate a tree on a later grow stage cause existing tree is already there. Removing it and re-running treegen is a bit strange.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Thu Jan 10, 2013 00:54

some new screenshots:
Jungle trees:
Image
Birches:
Image
Spruces:
Image
Willows:
Image
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Thu Jan 10, 2013 01:17

Whoa nice set of trees RealBadAngel, very impressive :D
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Thu Jan 10, 2013 02:05

now we need them in the default mapgen. I like the tree's, their big but very cool :)
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3031
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Thu Jan 10, 2013 02:08

Those trees are very nice looking, RealBadAngel. I really do hope that they will appear in mapgen v7.
Last edited by Inocudom on Thu Jan 10, 2013 02:10, edited 1 time in total.
Recovering from the abomination I am. Clocking time for Garry's Mod I am too.
 

PreviousNext

Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GamingAssociation39, veNext​ and 1 guest