[Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3051
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Mon Jun 24, 2013 03:08

You should make it possible to tame rats too, PilzAdam. Apples could be used for this.
The comedic value of my videos is how abysmal they are: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5cyeM ... YTfYFlih_A
 

kiran92
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 21:35

by kiran92 » Mon Jun 24, 2013 21:36

Is there a way to hide the

[mobs] Add mobs: (monster) at (location)

thing that shows up in the chat everytime a monster spawns?
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Mon Jun 24, 2013 21:39

kiran92 wrote:Is there a way to hide the

[mobs] Add mobs: (monster) at (location)

thing that shows up in the chat everytime a monster spawns?

As you can see in the wiki you have added one line in your minetest.conf that enables these chat message. Just remove that line.
 

User avatar
DaN
Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 19:09
Location: Silicon Valley

by DaN » Thu Jun 27, 2013 04:20

Um, on 0.4.7, I do no damage to mobs. Help?
DaN H.
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Thu Jun 27, 2013 07:08

Are you using a sword? Whether you are or not you still need to hit them a few times, unless it is a good sword.
DaN wrote:Um, on 0.4.7, I do no damage to mobs. Help?
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
DaN
Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 19:09
Location: Silicon Valley

by DaN » Thu Jun 27, 2013 15:04

Yes, I have a stone sword. That should kill a sheep in one or two hits.
It's not like I missed. The console says I made a hit. And it says 0 damage was done.
Befuddles me.
DaN H.
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Thu Jun 27, 2013 15:07

Maybe you are suffering from lag... Sometimes I get un-noticeable lag, which doesn't drop my framerate but means that I can't kill anything, that when I next log in shows that I was lagging because everything about 10 minutes before logging out is gone.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Thu Jun 27, 2013 15:14

DaN wrote:Yes, I have a stone sword. That should kill a sheep in one or two hits.
It's not like I missed. The console says I made a hit. And it says 0 damage was done.
Befuddles me.

Dont hold down the mouse button but rather hit once, wat a second until the weapon is "reloaded" and then hit again.
 

User avatar
Linxx
Member
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 00:37

by Linxx » Thu Jun 27, 2013 15:49

PilzAdam wrote:
DaN wrote:Yes, I have a stone sword. That should kill a sheep in one or two hits.
It's not like I missed. The console says I made a hit. And it says 0 damage was done.
Befuddles me.

Dont hold down the mouse button but rather hit once, wat a second until the weapon is "reloaded" and then hit again.

is there a way to get rid of the "reload" time? it's really annoying when you are triying to kill quickly a mob...
 

Slain
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 20:20

by Slain » Sun Jun 30, 2013 23:22

i know there are already NPC mob mods, but i was wondering if you could update simple mobs to include an npc, or a couple.
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Mon Jul 01, 2013 01:02

Linxx wrote:is there a way to get rid of the "reload" time? it's really annoying when you are triying to kill quickly a mob...


Yes, you can write a mod that does it. I wrote one quickly here:

no_reload/init.lua:

Code: Select all
minetest.register_tool(":default:sword_wood", {
    description = "Wooden Sword",
    inventory_image = "default_tool_woodsword.png",
    tool_capabilities = {
        full_punch_interval = 0,
        max_drop_level=0,
        groupcaps={
            snappy={times={[2]=1.6, [3]=0.40}, uses=10, maxlevel=1},
        },
        damage_groups = {fleshy=2},
    }
})
minetest.register_tool(":default:sword_stone", {
    description = "Stone Sword",
    inventory_image = "default_tool_stonesword.png",
    tool_capabilities = {
        full_punch_interval = 0,
        max_drop_level=0,
        groupcaps={
            snappy={times={[2]=1.4, [3]=0.40}, uses=20, maxlevel=1},
        },
        damage_groups = {fleshy=4},
    }
})
minetest.register_tool(":default:sword_steel", {
    description = "Steel Sword",
    inventory_image = "default_tool_steelsword.png",
    tool_capabilities = {
        full_punch_interval = 0,
        max_drop_level=1,
        groupcaps={
            snappy={times={[1]=2.5, [2]=1.20, [3]=0.35}, uses=30, maxlevel=2},
        },
        damage_groups = {fleshy=6},
    }
})
minetest.register_tool(":default:sword_bronze", {
    description = "Bronze Sword",
    inventory_image = "default_tool_bronzesword.png",
    tool_capabilities = {
        full_punch_interval = 0,
        max_drop_level=1,
        groupcaps={
            snappy={times={[1]=2.5, [2]=1.20, [3]=0.35}, uses=40, maxlevel=2},
        },
        damage_groups = {fleshy=6},
    }
})
minetest.register_tool(":default:sword_mese", {
    description = "Mese Sword",
    inventory_image = "default_tool_mesesword.png",
    tool_capabilities = {
        full_punch_interval = 0,
        max_drop_level=1,
        groupcaps={
            snappy={times={[1]=2.0, [2]=1.00, [3]=0.35}, uses=30, maxlevel=3},
        },
        damage_groups = {fleshy=7},
    }
})
minetest.register_tool(":default:sword_diamond", {
    description = "Diamond Sword",
    inventory_image = "default_tool_diamondsword.png",
    tool_capabilities = {
        full_punch_interval = 0,
        max_drop_level=1,
        groupcaps={
            snappy={times={[1]=1.90, [2]=0.90, [3]=0.30}, uses=40, maxlevel=3},
        },
        damage_groups = {fleshy=8},
    }
})


no_reload/depends.txt:

Code: Select all
default


The downside of this is that it is too easy to kill things, since all you have to do is spam the left mouse button. Also, a proper mod should copy the default mod's table and modify that instead of redefining the whole thing again. But for now, it works fine.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
Linxx
Member
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 00:37

by Linxx » Mon Jul 01, 2013 02:20

Temperest wrote:
Linxx wrote:is there a way to get rid of the "reload" time? it's really annoying when you are triying to kill quickly a mob...


Yes, you can write a mod that does it. I wrote one quickly here:

no_reload/init.lua:

Code: Select all
minetest.register_tool(":default:sword_wood", {
    description = "Wooden Sword",
    inventory_image = "default_tool_woodsword.png",
    tool_capabilities = {
        full_punch_interval = 0,
        max_drop_level=0,
        groupcaps={
            snappy={times={[2]=1.6, [3]=0.40}, uses=10, maxlevel=1},
        },
        damage_groups = {fleshy=2},
    }
})
minetest.register_tool(":default:sword_stone", {
    description = "Stone Sword",
    inventory_image = "default_tool_stonesword.png",
    tool_capabilities = {
        full_punch_interval = 0,
        max_drop_level=0,
        groupcaps={
            snappy={times={[2]=1.4, [3]=0.40}, uses=20, maxlevel=1},
        },
        damage_groups = {fleshy=4},
    }
})
minetest.register_tool(":default:sword_steel", {
    description = "Steel Sword",
    inventory_image = "default_tool_steelsword.png",
    tool_capabilities = {
        full_punch_interval = 0,
        max_drop_level=1,
        groupcaps={
            snappy={times={[1]=2.5, [2]=1.20, [3]=0.35}, uses=30, maxlevel=2},
        },
        damage_groups = {fleshy=6},
    }
})
minetest.register_tool(":default:sword_bronze", {
    description = "Bronze Sword",
    inventory_image = "default_tool_bronzesword.png",
    tool_capabilities = {
        full_punch_interval = 0,
        max_drop_level=1,
        groupcaps={
            snappy={times={[1]=2.5, [2]=1.20, [3]=0.35}, uses=40, maxlevel=2},
        },
        damage_groups = {fleshy=6},
    }
})
minetest.register_tool(":default:sword_mese", {
    description = "Mese Sword",
    inventory_image = "default_tool_mesesword.png",
    tool_capabilities = {
        full_punch_interval = 0,
        max_drop_level=1,
        groupcaps={
            snappy={times={[1]=2.0, [2]=1.00, [3]=0.35}, uses=30, maxlevel=3},
        },
        damage_groups = {fleshy=7},
    }
})
minetest.register_tool(":default:sword_diamond", {
    description = "Diamond Sword",
    inventory_image = "default_tool_diamondsword.png",
    tool_capabilities = {
        full_punch_interval = 0,
        max_drop_level=1,
        groupcaps={
            snappy={times={[1]=1.90, [2]=0.90, [3]=0.30}, uses=40, maxlevel=3},
        },
        damage_groups = {fleshy=8},
    }
})


no_reload/depends.txt:

Code: Select all
default


The downside of this is that it is too easy to kill things, since all you have to do is spam the left mouse button. Also, a proper mod should copy the default mod's table and modify that instead of redefining the whole thing again. But for now, it works fine.

what about boosting theyr stats?
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Mon Jul 01, 2013 03:14

Stats? Easy, just edit the code. The damage_groups property controls how much damage they do.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
Linxx
Member
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 00:37

by Linxx » Mon Jul 01, 2013 03:44

Temperest wrote:Stats? Easy, just edit the code. The damage_groups property controls how much damage they do.

oh ok i'll tinker with it for a bit then haha thanks :)
 

User avatar
DaN
Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 19:09
Location: Silicon Valley

by DaN » Mon Jul 01, 2013 17:18

PilzAdam wrote:
DaN wrote:Yes, I have a stone sword. That should kill a sheep in one or two hits.
It's not like I missed. The console says I made a hit. And it says 0 damage was done.
Befuddles me.

Dont hold down the mouse button but rather hit once, wat a second until the weapon is "reloaded" and then hit again.


Okay thanks :)
DaN H.
 

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
 
Posts: 853
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
Location: Romania, Bucharest
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

by MirceaKitsune » Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:47

I got a glimpse of this system on VanessaE's server a few days ago . It looks pretty good, but I could easily tell what the most basic problems are (at least the ones a user will first notice). Some of it are not a problem with the mod, but with Lua entities in C++ overall.

- First of all, the ones related to the code: Movement is very laggy, maybe due to the lack of prediction and proper interpolation. A sheep going in a straight line will occasionally teleport back a few times. I'm not sure what can be done about this, but I think client-side prediction of moving Lua entities needs to be improved a bit.

- Mobs make the lack of angle interpolation very visible. Although movement updates are smoothed out, rotation is still not interpolated for players and entities. Seeing mobs teleport to various angles is the biggest realism and normality breaker.

- Player <-> entity collisions need to include pushing. Sheep feel like boulders of stone... you walk into them and they won't move. Also if you sit on a sheep, you will simply levitate above it and fall to the ground after it's out of your radius.

- Now for the Lua issues: Main thing I don't like about the default creatures is that they move too slowly and unrealistically. I believe they should move faster but for shorter amounts of time.

- Mobs turn around in place, while it's usually preferred they only turn while walking (otherwise it looks strange and badly animated). They should also turn gradually, not instantly on long distances.

- My last complaint is in regards to mob intelligence: Mobs don't notice when they're walking into a node and will blindly continue in the same direction. Even if they're meant to be SIMPLE mobs, I think there needs to be a minimal prediction system. Mobs look brain dead as they walk into a wall and even after they're blocked they continue to push into it at random angles.

I didn't play around with the mod enough, and there are probably a lot of other things that can be noticeably improved. But those are what I noticed during a few minutes of following sheep and mice around. If they can be fixed, I think the mod will be a lot closer to ready and usable.
Last edited by MirceaKitsune on Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:50, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
Location: United States
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi

by philipbenr » Wed Jul 03, 2013 23:24

Hey Plizadam;
I'm using 0.4.7, and whenever I use the mod, the rats all of a sudden start jumping (I suppose they are flying). After a little while, some will fall and some won't. After they fall though, I can do no damage to the whatsoever. Idk what the heck is going on...
“Would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now?”

“I'd far rather be happy than right any day.”

“What, are you, crazy?" "It's a possibility I haven't ruled out yet"
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Sat Jul 06, 2013 01:01

MirceaKitsune wrote:- First of all, the ones related to the code: Movement is very laggy, maybe due to the lack of prediction and proper interpolation. A sheep going in a straight line will occasionally teleport back a few times. I'm not sure what can be done about this, but I think client-side prediction of moving Lua entities needs to be improved a bit.

Teleporting sheep are harmless. It gets worse when you get flying fish :-) Those may occour when there is not enough time for them to notice that they left the water - especially when the server is busy with mapgen (ok, not simple mobs but mobf).

MirceaKitsune wrote:- Mobs make the lack of angle interpolation very visible. Although movement updates are smoothed out, rotation is still not interpolated for players and entities. Seeing mobs teleport to various angles is the biggest realism and normality breaker.

Especially for huge animals. That applies less to simple mobs which has mostly smaller or human-shaped mobs. The large cows of mobf are very difficult to handle in this case. Sapier does a good job, but it's difficult and still not completely convincing.

MirceaKitsune wrote:- Player <-> entity collisions need to include pushing. Sheep feel like boulders of stone... you walk into them and they won't move. Also if you sit on a sheep, you will simply levitate above it and fall to the ground after it's out of your radius.

Yes, that's unrealistic but also quite fun :-) And it's a lot better than the previous stage where everything moved through everything else.

MirceaKitsune wrote:- Now for the Lua issues: Main thing I don't like about the default creatures is that they move too slowly and unrealistically. I believe they should move faster but for shorter amounts of time.

Mobf does this slightly better. It may also depend on the type of animal. It seems the larger they get, the more complicated their movement needs to become in order to feel realistic.

Hopefully the mobs can be improved. I personally prefer the mobf animals because those are more realistic and can be kept as farm animals (catching/placing/reproduction is possible). At least simple mobs is available on many servers, so there's something "living" moving around!
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

Enzio
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 02:13

by Enzio » Sat Jul 13, 2013 15:00

how can i get the sheep to follow me?
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Sat Jul 13, 2013 15:38

Enzio wrote:how can i get the sheep to follow me?


With wheat, see the documentation in this link:

http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?pid=42715#p42715
 

User avatar
AndrOn
Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 22:32
Location: Orléans, France

by AndrOn » Thu Jul 25, 2013 15:15

I can't get the sheep to follow me! I do my best, and I checked the code and it seems to work but it doesn't in game.
sorry for bad english
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4521
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Thu Jul 25, 2013 15:40

Andr0n, you need farming:wheat for a sheep to follow you. Or you are using an old version of simple mobs.
Last edited by Jordach on Thu Jul 25, 2013 15:41, edited 1 time in total.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
Location: SP-Brasil
GitHub: BrunoMine

by BrunoMine » Thu Jul 25, 2013 21:44

VERY GOOD!!

For more impossible it is, try to make the mods do not lock the server!
I feel that lack a monster that throws something on the player. but one mobs that walk the earth
STILL MISSING A GOOD MOD THAT ADDS WEAPONS OR BOW ARROW
Last edited by BrunoMine on Thu Jul 25, 2013 21:46, edited 1 time in total.
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com
 

Josh
Member
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Fri Jul 26, 2013 04:51

PilzAdam, I have adopted a pet Sheep named Alexander, He is doing very well, i even made a cage for him! But he has something to say: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/102401091/screenshot_424355542.png
It would be really great if you did, if you did, it would get him out of the cage :-)
 

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
Location: SP-Brasil
GitHub: BrunoMine

by BrunoMine » Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:58

How do I cancel a mob? I want to remove the mob and desert rats.
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com
 

PreviousNext

Return to Old Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest