[Mod] worldedge [worldedge]

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

[Mod] worldedge [worldedge]

by Don » Post

worldedge is a mod that teleports the player to the other side of the world when they reach the edge.

When the player walks past 30000 in any direction they will be teleported to the other side of the world as if they walked around the world.

Krock has made it so when you teleport to the other side you will be at ground height.

This mod was created by Amaz and modified by Krock.

License - DWYWPL
Dependencies - none
Download - worldedge
Github - worldedge

Tested on Minetest 0.4.10
Last edited by Don on Wed Mar 23, 2016 21:31, edited 3 times in total.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1008
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Napiophelios » Post

oooh, I can use this to limit my worlds size?
I wanna trap my players to a smaller game area.

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Post

Napiophelios wrote:oooh, I can use this to limit my worlds size?
I wanna trap my players to a smaller game area.
Yes. Just edit init.lua change the first 2 lines to the size you want. Make the second a few smaller so they don't keep teleporting. It is not perfect but it works.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1008
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Napiophelios » Post

Nice it works well,
except I keep teleporting inside nodes.
I think its an easy fix tho.

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Post

Napiophelios wrote:Nice it works well,
except I keep teleporting inside nodes.
I think its an easy fix tho.
you get teleported to the same height as what you was at. If you can find a way to fix this I will added it.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
AMMOnym
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 14:18
IRC: AMMOnym
In-game: AMMOnym
Location: Slovakia

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by AMMOnym » Post

Wow

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Post

AMMOnym wrote:Wow
Yes. Amaz is Amazing
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by paramat » Post

It's possible to use noise to precalculate terrain before it is generated, so that the player can be placed at the surface on teleportation, it's complex though, see my 'spawnplayer' functions in my recent mapgens for examples. I'm a bit busy at the moment to do this for this mod.

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Post

paramat wrote:It's possible to use noise to precalculate terrain before it is generated, so that the player can be placed at the surface on teleportation, it's complex though, see my 'spawnplayer' functions in my recent mapgens for examples. I'm a bit busy at the moment to do this for this mod.
Unfortunately I know nothing about mapgen. If you are about to do it I would be happy. I know you are very good with mapgen. Maybe you can put it on you "if I get bored" list. I think this mod could be really good but I do not have the skills to do it.

If anyone wants to improve this mod please do so.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2747
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Hybrid Dog » Post

paramat wrote:It's possible to use noise to precalculate terrain before it is generated, so that the player can be placed at the surface on teleportation, it's complex though, see my 'spawnplayer' functions in my recent mapgens for examples. I'm a bit busy at the moment to do this for this mod.
Would it keep the mgv6 look (caves, cliffs,…) at the map corners?

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4503
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Krock » Post

https://github.com/DonBatman/worldedge/pull/1

I will add a terrain height detection when I've got time.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Post

Krock wrote:https://github.com/DonBatman/worldedge/pull/1

I will add a terrain height detection when I've got time.
Thanks for that. It is now merged.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

TG-MyinaWD
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 21:22
GitHub: Maddie-Myina
IRC: Maddie-Myina
In-game: .
Location: Far Eden

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by TG-MyinaWD » Post

I love this mod Don. Really use for when got a flat world. I might use this in my massive city. but First would need update the world a bit get work better.
I'm a Transgender no shame about it.
I prefer to be considered as a "Girl/Lady/Miss/Madam/Female" for now on.

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Post

Alt. Tester wrote:I love this mod Don. Really use for when got a flat world. I might use this in my massive city. but First would need update the world a bit get work better.
Thank Amaz. He wrote it. And Krock for his help.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by paramat » Post

Don i never get bored hehe.
Hybrid Dog wrote:Would it keep the mgv6 look (caves, cliffs,…) at the map corners?
Yes there will be no change to the mapgen, the method would be similar to how player spawnpoint is chosen: use mapgen parameters and noise to precalculate the ground level at the teleport destination before that terrain is generated. You have to know exactly where to teleport to before teleporting.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2747
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Hybrid Dog » Post

paramat wrote:Don i never get bored hehe.
Hybrid Dog wrote:Would it keep the mgv6 look (caves, cliffs,…) at the map corners?
Yes there will be no change to the mapgen, the method would be similar to how player spawnpoint is chosen: use mapgen parameters and noise to precalculate the ground level at the teleport destination before that terrain is generated. You have to know exactly where to teleport to before teleporting.
ok, l thought that you would change the map at the other side, where the player becomes teleported at, that it looks exactly like the current place and so the player doesn't notice teleporting.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Post

@paramat - if I had your skills I would not get bored either.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by paramat » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:ok, l thought that you would change the map at the other side, where the player becomes teleported at, that it looks exactly like the current place and so the player doesn't notice teleporting.
That could only possibly be done in a lua mapgen, with a core mapgen the terrain will always be different when you teleport.

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by philipbenr » Post

Actually, it would be cool if you were to make it so the magpen would wrap around. That way, there would be possiblilty to make the world wrap around.

Offtopic: That feature could also make it possible to have different world modes. You could have it so there would be a wrap around world, and an infinite flat world... Just some cool ideas that have been thought of.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2747
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Hybrid Dog » Post

philipbenr wrote:Actually, it would be cool if you were to make it so the magpen would wrap around. That way, there would be possiblilty to make the world wrap around.

Offtopic: That feature could also make it possible to have different world modes. You could have it so there would be a wrap around world, and an infinite flat world... Just some cool ideas that have been thought of.
some time ago l tried to make my own mg noises
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=156&p=158729#p158729
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=156&start=2625#p158957

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
twoelk
Member
Posts: 1365
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by twoelk » Post

paramat wrote:...
That could only possibly be done in a lua mapgen, with a core mapgen the terrain will always be different when you teleport.
I have always wondered wether such a transportation mod could not be combined with a restricted mapgen of sorts. This special "mapgen" could force a certain terrain along the predefined borders but leave all other parts of the map/world to what ever other mapgen is doing the job.

Such a border could be for example a broad stretch of desert that gradually draws to a certain hight that fits to the corresponding edge on the other side. My favourite version though would be a nice surrounding ocean of considerable depth and width. I guess other things such as a stretch of grassy plains or a high mountain ridge should also be possible. At least in theory. It might be usefull to restrict interaction in the borderlands to avoid people trying to build structures over the border.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2747
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Hybrid Dog » Post

twoelk wrote:
paramat wrote:...
That could only possibly be done in a lua mapgen, with a core mapgen the terrain will always be different when you teleport.
I have always wondered wether this could not be combined with a restricted mapgen of sorts. This special "mapgen" could force a certain terrain along the predefined borders but leave all other parts of the map/world to what ever other mapgen is doing the job.

Such a border could be for example a broad stretch of desert that gradually draws to a certain hight that fits to the corresponding edge on the other side. My favourite version though would be a nice surrounding ocean of considerable depth and width. I guess other things such as a stretch of grassy plains or a high mountain ridge or a deep forest should also be possible. At least in theory. It might be usefull to restrict interaction in the borderlands to avoid people trying to build structures over the border.
this:
Image

could be used as an approximate height map:
Image

for the whole world
Attachments
part2.png
(7.64 KiB) Not downloaded yet
part1.png
(314.72 KiB) Not downloaded yet

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
twoelk
Member
Posts: 1365
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by twoelk » Post

lol
I had just edited out the forests as I don't think trees in the borderlands would work well :-D

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by paramat » Post

paramat wrote:That could only possibly be done in a lua mapgen, with a core mapgen the terrain will always be different when you teleport.
What i mean of course is it could be done in a new core mapgen as well.
Also yes a mod could add matching borderlands to a core mapgen.

User avatar
ArguablySane
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 21:29

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by ArguablySane » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:<snip>
I have a better solution. Gradually blend your perlin noise values with the values on the opposite side of the world for chunks near the edge. Choose a distance which is large compared to the features in your terrain gen, then gradually blend from one side to the other over that distance. Blocks exactly on the edge should be a 50-50 mix of the terrain from each side.
The above post and any ideas expressed therein are released to the public domain under a Creative Commons CC0 license.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests