[Mod] Timber-Frame [0.4.9.1] [fachwerk]

jbb
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 17:16
GitHub: JBBgameich
IRC: JBB
In-game: JBB
Contact:

[Mod] Timber-Frame [0.4.9.1] [fachwerk]

by jbb » Post

Features

I made a framework mod!
It adds timber-framed blocks. The License is of the 0.4 is WTFPL.
The mod only depends on default, but you can add new timber-framed materials with our API in nodes.lua.

You can get the latest code is available at Github.

If you are using a a textuepack wich has a resolution greater than 16x16, you can use the alternates. If they are not included in the zip file you downloaded, download them here.

Screenshots

Image
Screenshot by JBBgameich
Image
Mod Review by Nathan S
Image
Screenshot by Sokomine

To see more screenshots and craftings look here!

Craftings

(This screenshots are taken with the crafting and inventory plus mod.)
Image

Image

Image

All crafting recepies work work with different materials like clay, cobblestone or brick.
Last edited by jbb on Tue Oct 03, 2017 14:47, edited 55 times in total.
Minetest runs better on Linux. So I'm using Linux.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4572
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by Krock » Post

Please fix the images and tell us about the dependencies and the license.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

jbb
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 17:16
GitHub: JBBgameich
IRC: JBB
In-game: JBB
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by jbb » Post

Is it better now? I only had images in google chrome!
Thank you for the Tips.
Minetest runs better on Linux. So I'm using Linux.

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by Evergreen » Post

No, the images still won't show. Please use something more normal, like mediacrush.
Back from the dead!

User avatar
afflatus
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:47
GitHub: 0-afflatus
IRC: afflatus
In-game: afflatus
Location: Avalonia
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by afflatus » Post

Nice.
Buildings made entirely from default wood are nearly as depressing as buildings made entirely out of default cobble.
Your crafting recipes seem a bit fussy, but I'll try it out. I don't think the screenshots really do it justice.
Thanks!
Grailtest is dreaming ...

jbb
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 17:16
GitHub: JBBgameich
IRC: JBB
In-game: JBB
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by jbb » Post

The numbers in the crafting recepies do not care!
if you think that the crafting recepies look like minecraft, is that on crafting and inventory plus mod.
By the way,
Do you think I should add glass with truss beams around?
Last edited by jbb on Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:21, edited 1 time in total.
Minetest runs better on Linux. So I'm using Linux.

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1020
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by Napiophelios » Post

This is not a bad mod :)

But your stonebrick recipes are botched; you need to replace:
"default:stone_brick" with "default:stonebrick"

If you add: paramtype2 = "facedir", to the node registrations,
you can eliminate 3 nodes as players can simply rotate them to needed positions.

Also you can eliminate a bunch of textures in your mod by using the default textures in conjunction with an overlay image intead of stagnant textures you provide.
Image Image
Like so:
tile_images = {"default_brick.png^fachwerk_a.png"},
tile_images = {"default_brick.png^fachwerk_b.png"},
tile_images = {"default_brick.png^fachwerk_c.png"},

This way your mod will adapt to whatever texture pack the players are using for bricks, clay, or stonebrick images.

Image

In doing this you will only have to have 2-3 textures in your mod,however,its limited to the size of your overlay textures.
If your overlay texture is 16px it will look shrunken on 64px default_brick.png

just some suggestions, I am not being critical, just trying to help.
Attachments
screenshot_117588083.png
(68.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet
fachwerk_b.png
overlay image
(10.98 KiB) Not downloaded yet
fachwerk_a.png
overlay image
(9.27 KiB) Not downloaded yet

jbb
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 17:16
GitHub: JBBgameich
IRC: JBB
In-game: JBB
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by jbb » Post

Thank you for the tips!
good ideas. First I will do the stonebrick bugfix!
Minetest runs better on Linux. So I'm using Linux.

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4170
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by Sokomine » Post

Looks very fine. The screenshots done by Napiophelios give a better impresson of what the mod is about than the ones linked in the first posting. Better screenshots would be helpful. Please also consider offering a version for clay and loam (loam is included in my cottages mod). Please also provide a working download link. Or just attach the mod to your forum posting :-)

In German:
Sieht gut aus! Die Screenshots von Napiophelios geben einen besseren Eindruck davon, was das Mod kann. Screenshots sind für den ersten Eindruck sehr wichtig. Es wäre gut, wenn Du bessere einfügen könntest. Wenn möglich, wäre eine Version für clay (=Ton) und loam (=Lehm, aus meinem Cottages-Mod) wünschenswert. Bitte biete das Mod irgendwo anders zum Download an, denn Mediafire ist kaputt (braucht JavaScript für einen simplen Download -> kaputt). Du kannst das Mod auch einfach an Dein Forenposting anhängen. Dann kann man es einfach runterladen.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
afflatus
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:47
GitHub: 0-afflatus
IRC: afflatus
In-game: afflatus
Location: Avalonia
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by afflatus » Post

I really like Napiophelios' ideas. paramtype2 = "facedir" would be much less hassle. It also doesn't fit that well with my existing textures, so making it overlay existing textures would be great.

Image

I'll do a better screenshot, but this gives some idea.

Sokomine - is loam what we call "cob" here? (The further away walls of the house in the pic above)
Grailtest is dreaming ...

User avatar
twoelk
Member
Posts: 1400
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by twoelk » Post

afflatus wrote:...
Sokomine - is loam what we call "cob" here? (The further away walls of the house in the pic above)
hm, in german the terms that describe building with loam (Lehm) seem to be a little more general so they would include building with the pure loam, adobe and indeed cob and quite often also "wattle and daub".

jbb
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 17:16
GitHub: JBBgameich
IRC: JBB
In-game: JBB
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by jbb » Post

Im working on the new version!
It will release today!
Im using overlay-textures and you can craft it now with all sorts of wood.
Overlay textures dont work well with texturepacks so I i have maked an other vesion, that works with meinekraft textues
Image
Image
Attachments
screenshot_2152606.png
(608.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Minetest runs better on Linux. So I'm using Linux.

jbb
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 17:16
GitHub: JBBgameich
IRC: JBB
In-game: JBB
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by jbb » Post

Im ready!
Minetest runs better on Linux. So I'm using Linux.

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1020
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by Napiophelios » Post

Jbb, the two screen shots above are great.
This mod goes really well with Darkage mod and Cottages mod (2 of my favorites).
Its very similar to the Reinforced wood nodes from Darkage, but yours are more applicable imo
Nice job man.

And I meant to say static images you provide...not stagnant images..that sounds kinda insulting,
but I didnt mean it like that. :-) sorry
twoelk wrote:
afflatus wrote:...
Sokomine - is loam what we call "cob" here? (The further away walls of the house in the pic above)
hm, in german the terms that describe building with loam (Lehm) seem to be a little more general so they would include building with the pure loam, adobe and indeed cob and quite often also "wattle and daub".
Adobe and loam and cob are essentially the same materials:clay sand and straw;
but their names differentiate their building techniques and applications.
Adobe constructions use forms and molds to produce building materials (block/bricks if you will) where as cob is generally applied and formed from the ground up without molds,both can also be used like a plaster.
Loam is basically a course material consisting of clay and sand that is usually used like a plaster.
It dries very hard and is very resistant and is generally for foundations work.

@afflatus: Dude, I love these pimp sticks that keep popping up in your various screen grabs;
what are they and where can I get one?

User avatar
afflatus
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:47
GitHub: 0-afflatus
IRC: afflatus
In-game: afflatus
Location: Avalonia
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by afflatus » Post

Napiophelios wrote:@afflatus: Dude, I love these pimp sticks that keep popping up in your various screen grabs;
what are they and where can I get one?
They are gem-topped staffs.
https://github.com/0-afflatus/grail_tes ... /mods/tool

One of the popular accessories on my game, despite the fact that currently they do nothing useful.
The intention is that they will be used as magical tools.
Grailtest is dreaming ...

jbb
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 17:16
GitHub: JBBgameich
IRC: JBB
In-game: JBB
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by jbb » Post

[deleted]
Last edited by jbb on Mon Jun 24, 2019 13:50, edited 1 time in total.
Minetest runs better on Linux. So I'm using Linux.

User avatar
fireglow
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:36
IRC: fireglow
In-game: fireglow
Location: Germany

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by fireglow » Post

jbb wrote:You can test the mod now at the minetest server [server offline]
There are some nice truss houses.
[server offline]:30001, to be exact.
Last edited by fireglow on Mon Jun 24, 2019 13:45, edited 1 time in total.

Rochambeau
Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:37

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by Rochambeau » Post

OT:

Sorry for OT, but what kind of mobs mod do you have? I like it how the cow and sheeps look.

jbb
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 17:16
GitHub: JBBgameich
IRC: JBB
In-game: JBB
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by jbb » Post

Im using creatures and mobs like minecraft
But Ive deleted the ghosts in creatures and zombies and sheeps in mobs.
So im using two mods: viewtopic.php?id=3063
viewtopic.php?id=8638
Last edited by jbb on Tue Apr 21, 2015 14:54, edited 1 time in total.
Minetest runs better on Linux. So I'm using Linux.

LNJ
Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 16:02
GitHub: lnjX
IRC: LNJ
In-game: LNJ
Location: Europe/Berlin

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by LNJ » Post

Very Good =D
Storage Drawers - The simplest item storage in Minetest

jbb
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 17:16
GitHub: JBBgameich
IRC: JBB
In-game: JBB
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by jbb » Post

New version aviable!
Minetest runs better on Linux. So I'm using Linux.

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2673
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by Linuxdirk » Post

What about hosting at Github (or any other Git powered site)?

Having a standardized, ad-free (and less annoying than Mediafire) way to download the mod would be awesome.

Plus: Version control and some kind of backup.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6295
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by rubenwardy » Post

I keep thinking this is the "Facebook mod", rather than the "fachwerk" mod.

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4170
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by Sokomine » Post

rubenwardy wrote: I keep thinking this is the "Facebook mod", rather than the "fachwerk" mod.
Intresting. That connection doesn't come up for speakers of German. The english "face" and "book" are pronounced completely diffrent than the historic "fachwerk" used for building houses (which doesn't seem to have one general translation either; it seems to depend on context).

Pronounce it like f[ree] a[pple].. and then it gets kind of complicated...I looked it up, and there really seems to be no corresponding sound to German "ch" in (modern?) English. Wikipedia calls it a "voiceless velar fricative" sound. Maybe that'll help you. The sound is perfectly common in spoken German. "werk" is probably easier - like the beginning and end of "week", with a normal "er" in the middle instead of "ee".
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6295
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: fachwerk mod [fachwerk]

by rubenwardy » Post

It's because they look similar. You brain doesn't read every letter, it just looks at the letters generally, and the first and the last. Fac__e__k.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests