[Mod] Hoppers [hopper]

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

[Mod] Hoppers [hopper]

by jordan4ibanez » Post

It's just a clone of Minecraft hoppers, functions nearly identical to them minus mesecons making them stop and the way they're placed. I'm just releasing it now so you guys can mess around with it and have some fun.

Read this before you download

A hopper will use a chest as a reservoir. A hopper connected to a furnace from the top will put items in the source box and a hopper connected to the side will put it into the fuel. Now if you put one below the furnace, it will take smelted items out of it.
Image

You can use hoppers to transport items from chest to chest without worrying about them despawning.
Image

You can throw items into the top of hoppers. They'll get "sucked" into them.
Image

This is the recipe.
Image

Have fun.

https://github.com/jordan4ibanez/Hopper ... master.zip

Clone it/probe it/mod it
https://github.com/jordan4ibanez/Hoppers

Video of it: https://youtu.be/Z_dYMjN75jE

Pointless development screenshots! http://imgur.com/a/UPmNA

License

Code: Select all

            DO WHAT THE FUCK YOU WANT TO PUBLIC LICENSE
                    Version 2, December 2004

 Copyright (C) 2004 Sam Hocevar <sam@hocevar.net>

 Everyone is permitted to copy and distribute verbatim or modified
 copies of this license document, and changing it is allowed as long
 as the name is changed.

            DO WHAT THE FUCK YOU WANT TO PUBLIC LICENSE
   TERMS AND CONDITIONS FOR COPYING, DISTRIBUTION AND MODIFICATION

  0. You just DO WHAT THE FUCK YOU WANT TO.
Last edited by jordan4ibanez on Fri Jul 15, 2016 03:10, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2867
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by TenPlus1 » Post

Nice one... been waiting for hoppers to come to Minetest :)

Would you mind adding a recipe to craft hopper:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craft({
	output = "hopper:hopper",
	recipe = {
		{"default:steel_ingot", "default:chest", "default:steel_ingot"},
		{"", "default:steel_ingot", ""},
	},
})
Last edited by TenPlus1 on Wed Nov 04, 2015 10:44, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by jordan4ibanez » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:Nice one... been waiting for hoppers to come to Minetest :)

Would you mind adding a recipe to craft hopper:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craft({
	output = "hopper:hopper",
	recipe = {
		{"default:steel_ingot", "", "default:steel_ingot"},
		{"default:steel_ingot", "default:chest", "default:steel_ingot"},
		{"", "default:steel_ingot", ""},
	},
})
Thanks. Added a recipe. Also now you can place the hoppers with ease. I'm pretty sure this mod is finished now.

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
Posts: 1141
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
GitHub: Desour
IRC: DS-minetest
In-game: DS
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by DS-minetest » Post

nice mod
please do not say it is a clone of minecraft, say it is inspired of minecraft
please use an other texture maybe steel block
Note that I've recently renamed myself on github and co. to "Desour". (I'm bad at naming things.)
Feel free to call me DS.

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by jordan4ibanez » Post

DS-minetest wrote:nice mod
please do not say it is a clone of minecraft, say it is inspired of minecraft
please use an other texture maybe steel block
I'm very sorry, but I literally reverse engineered it into Minetest, haha.

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by jordan4ibanez » Post


User avatar
cd2
Member
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 06:30
GitHub: cdqwertz
In-game: cd cd2
Location: Linux
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by cd2 » Post

wow, nice video!
And the mod is really cool.
It is a bit like pipeworks (VanessaE)...

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by cx384 » Post

1+
Can your read this?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2867
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by TenPlus1 » Post

Hoppers seem to have a bug that allows for automatic tool repair when used tools move through them... This has been fixed so here's the latest release:

DOWNLOAD REMOVED, use github link: https://github.com/tenplus1/hopper
Last edited by TenPlus1 on Wed Nov 04, 2015 10:45, edited 1 time in total.

jbb
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 17:16
GitHub: JBBgameich
IRC: JBB
In-game: JBB
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by jbb » Post

Nice mod.

But i have a question: I tested the mod in creative mode and in the inventory there are to items named" I THINK YOU HAVE BROKEN SOMETHING". Why?

and why do you use the coal texture?
In the crafting is just steel. this isnt really logic.
Minetest runs better on Linux. So I'm using Linux.

jbb
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 17:16
GitHub: JBBgameich
IRC: JBB
In-game: JBB
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by jbb » Post

Hi,
I changed the code a bit so some nodes wich have the descriptin "I think you broke something" arent shown in creative inverntory anymore.
I also changed the texture to default_steel_block, but if you dont like this you can easily change back this. I hope my init.lua can help you.
Attachments
hopper.zip
(3.24 KiB) Downloaded 371 times
Minetest runs better on Linux. So I'm using Linux.

dannyplaysminetest
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 19:20
In-game: Danny

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by dannyplaysminetest » Post

Thanks for this Mod, i love to build Machines in MineTest using Furnaces, Tubes, Mesecons, Digilines, Technic, etc the Hoppers fit in perfectly with the Tools i have already. ^_^

I just tested this mod works perfectly, a hopper above a chest (a perfect garbage collector) gonna use this in my city since i always throw items away, it´s a much faster way of storing items in a chest, just press Q several times for the items you want to drop (get rid of) while you stand on the hopper or next to it and like magic the Hopper stores it all in the chest.
Image

Realy cool and useful, it will also solve the problem i had before with overloading a Furnace with Fuel and or Raw materials when they are hooked up to other machines. :)

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by Napiophelios » Post

This is a very handy mod :)

I added textures to TenPlus1's version 4.0
to keep up with the 32px texture pack I use.
Also added inventory images.

Here it is if anyone wants to check it out.


Image
Attachments
hoppers.png
(229.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Napiophelios on Fri Sep 08, 2017 00:53, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2867
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by TenPlus1 » Post

Nice textures dude...

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by Napiophelios » Post

Thanks man. I cant code worth a crap
but I am picking up some M$Paint skillz :P

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2867
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by TenPlus1 » Post

Updated to version 0.8:
  • Added Napiophelios' new textures (optimized)
  • Hoppers hold half as much (won't affect current hoppers)
  • Can be dug using wooden axe
  • Recipe changed to use only 3 steel ingots
  • Fixed rotational bug causing minetest to crash
  • Tweaked and tidied code
https://github.com/tenplus1/hopper

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by philipbenr » Post

Napiophelios wrote:Thanks man. I cant code worth a crap
but I am picking up some M$Paint skillz :P
LOL, do you really use M$paint???

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by Napiophelios » Post

HAHA No Of course not :)
I use Photofiltre 7 by Antonio DaCruz

User avatar
mbb
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB
Location: in front of my pc
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by mbb » Post

i like this mod but jbbs is coooler
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev

wilkgr76
Member
Posts: 833
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 02:44
GitHub: wilkgr76

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by wilkgr76 » Post

mbb wrote:i like this mod but jbbs is coooler
Is that where your name comes from?
N/A

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2867
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by TenPlus1 » Post

Updated to version 0.9:
  • Added protection checks
  • Added support for wine mod's wine barrel
https://github.com/tenplus1/hopper

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2867
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by TenPlus1 » Post

Updated to 1.0:

- New node timer furnaces don't work properly so reverted back to abm one's instead

https://github.com/tenplus1/hopper

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by jordan4ibanez » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:Updated to 1.0:

- New node timer furnaces don't work properly so reverted back to abm one's instead

https://github.com/tenplus1/hopper
That's pretty awesome. Could you reimplement the auto place of side and normal hoppers based on the pointed_thing.above when you place a hopper?
I've been gone for a long time

K1ck
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 17:12
GitHub: k1ckcyph3r

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by K1ck » Post

Hi guys,

Sorry for the silly question, but I'm not a minecraft player and I barely have 2 weeks playing testcraft. Today I installed the mod (the version from tenplus1) but I can't connect connectir from the sides.

I tried to do something like the image in the first post, I can place it in a side of the furnance (shift+r_click) but it does not connect neither one to each other. The only way it works for me is when they are one in the top of the other, in the top or bottom of the chests.

Any idea about what I'm doing wrong?

Regards

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2867
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

by TenPlus1 » Post

Place a hopper into the crafting grid and it becomes a 'side' hopper, place side-hopper and use a screwdriver tool (1 stick with 1 steel on top) to rotate the hopper until connected with chest or furnace etc.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests