[Mod] 3D Noise world generator [lumpmg]

Joz
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 21:37

[Mod] 3D Noise world generator [lumpmg]

by Joz » Tue Aug 11, 2015 11:32

Description
This is a map generator that just generates big lumps of dirt and stone in the air. There is no ground, only these lumps.

Screenshots
(made with shaders and my own 1024px texture pack)
Image
Image
Image
Image

Download
Zip | Tar

License
WTFPL

Contribute
Pull requests are heavily appreciated.
https://github.com/UgnilJoZ/lumpmg
This map generator needs trees and ores and getting rid of those hard chunk borders.
 

User avatar
cd2
Member
 
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 06:30
Location: Linux
GitHub: cdqwertz
In-game: cd cd2

Re: [Mod] 3D Noise world generator [lumpmg]

by cd2 » Fri Aug 14, 2015 16:03

looks great :D
I think you might add trees and flowers...
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4144
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [Mod] 3D Noise world generator [lumpmg]

by Krock » Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:24

Looks quite interesting. As cd2 suggested, add trees and some decorative plants.
It also would be good to have bigger floatlands, so they won't disappear quickly when you try to mine them.

One question about the travel from one floatland to the other: Which mods do you suggest - or - Are you going to change the jump height/gravitation, so it's possible to jump from one to the next?
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU
 

User avatar
RSLRedstonier
Member
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 21:00
Location: some were in middle earth
GitHub: RSL-Redstonier
In-game: RSLRedstonier

Re: [Mod] 3D Noise world generator [lumpmg]

by RSLRedstonier » Wed Feb 07, 2018 16:29

is there a way to set the height at which this gen occurs? I want to use it to make a dimension for skyfactory
"A programmer is just a tool which converts caffeine into code"

try out my skytest mod always being updated!
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17568
 

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
Location: Lyon, France
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly

Re: [Mod] 3D Noise world generator [lumpmg]

by Gael de Sailly » Wed Feb 07, 2018 21:15

Interesting and fairly simple mapgen mod, I just discovered it this evening (thanks RSLR for bumping), even if it is >2 years old. I'd like to take up the development if Joz is no more coding on it.

RSLRedstonier wrote:is there a way to set the height at which this gen occurs? I want to use it to make a dimension for skyfactory

I've already rewritten a part of it, added ores, and Y boundaries (set the variables YMIN and YMAX at the top of "init.lua"). For now lumps are truncated at Y limits, this could be fixed with further work.

The code is here.

Image
Contributor of Minetest and OpenStreetMap, on Ubuntu 16.04. ~ ~ ~ Meet me on MinetestForFun, VanessaE's Basic, Capture the Flag and Inside the Box.
 

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
Location: Lyon, France
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly

Re: [Mod] 3D Noise world generator [lumpmg]

by Gael de Sailly » Fri Feb 09, 2018 14:08

I wrote:For now lumps are truncated at Y limits, this could be fixed with further work.

Done. The top and bottom of lump layers now look like that:

Image

You can now find some useful parameters in the settings tab.Image
Contributor of Minetest and OpenStreetMap, on Ubuntu 16.04. ~ ~ ~ Meet me on MinetestForFun, VanessaE's Basic, Capture the Flag and Inside the Box.
 

User avatar
RSLRedstonier
Member
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 21:00
Location: some were in middle earth
GitHub: RSL-Redstonier
In-game: RSLRedstonier

Re: [Mod] 3D Noise world generator [lumpmg]

by RSLRedstonier » Fri Feb 09, 2018 14:54

Best thing is if you change the obsidian for stone then ores start to spawn
I even found a mese block naturally spawning!
"A programmer is just a tool which converts caffeine into code"

try out my skytest mod always being updated!
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17568
 


Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests