WIP: The Island

hb.operandi
In-game: Belle

WIP: The Island

by hb.operandi » Post

So in one of my play through I made something that sparked an idea. Basically it was a forcefield powered by an underground Nuclear Powerplant (both from the Technics mod) that was covering a staircase in the middle of nowhere. The forcefield could be turned off by a Mesacon signal...hidden on a different part of the island. I don't play online so I had no use for the security, but it got me thinking....that'd be a really cool thing to randomly find in your world. It may even frustrate you as to what is down there, enough to go looking for the switch.

So I started building more things around the island [chain] that are weird. I even started writing in the 'books' little hints as to where things are in the world. As well as bones with specific items needed to work/disable the machines. This got me thinking that it'd make a really cool sub-game.

However I have no experience with making one, so I was wondering if I could get some assistance.

Right now all I have is a (WIP) world folder that could be zipped up and given out, but I want to make things more official as time goes on.

Is this possible? or am I over thinking my gameplay? Would people be interested?
There is an art to flying, or rather a knack. Its knack lies in learning to throw yourself at the ground and miss. ... Clearly, it is this second part, the missing, that presents the difficulties."

my other life
http://hboperandi.blogspot.com/

LionsDen

Re: WIP: The Island

by LionsDen » Post

Is it possible? - I think it is but the question should be is it easy? Not likely easy but probably not Manhattan Project level of difficulty. I think keeping it a map would be your easiest option as coding in where to place each item of interest into the random game world while possible is likely more difficult.

Would people be interested? - I would be, I would think others would be as well.

Sane
GitHub: mt-sane
In-game: Sane