Some world screenshots

Post Reply
User avatar
SachielMF
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 19:13

Some world screenshots

by SachielMF » Post

As it has been mentioned that the map generator has been overhauled in the recent build, I was curious and gave flying a try, trying to reveal as much of the map as possible before MT crashes (wihich it does on my machine when worlds get too big).
Not too sure about the differences with before en detail but it seemed a lot nicer ad hoc. Had quite a large body of water in the map. The overall variety of cliff shapes seemed to have a bit more variety as well. Oh, and dungeons. Not on the screen but they're there. Very nice and leaves you wanting for more.

Image

Going underground revealed caves linked together much more interestingly than before, I think. Linked parts seem to be far more stretched out. I tried to light one system up to show how far they go. Wasn't even able to light every branch due to a crash.

Image

User avatar
benajamin
Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 16:14

by benajamin » Post

To see more into the distance, add "enable_farmesh=1" to your mintest.conf file.

User avatar
SachielMF
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 19:13

by SachielMF » Post

Yeah, I know the command but unfortunately it tends to make the game a lot more prone to crash on my rig. It's a cool feature, but I wanted to see the "real" world with overhangs and all. Or didn't it change that much actually? If so, I apologize. I really didn't want to spam here.
Edit: Actually I wasn't really sure if this was threadworthy. I mean, the caves did improve a lot, didn't they? Or did that happen in a more recent version already? If so, that would be rather embarrasing (which I feel this is already, hehe). So maybe it's better to delete this thread anyway.
Last edited by SachielMF on Tue Jul 05, 2011 23:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bcmpinc
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 09:10

by bcmpinc » Post

SachielMF, what is your setup? And can you try running a debug build of the game in gdb (or other debugger) to obtain a backtrace of the crash?

User avatar
SachielMF
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 19:13

by SachielMF » Post

Got a Phenom X4 955, Win 7 64, GTX275, 4 GB RAM. Maybe I'm gonna have a look at gdb.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests