[Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

User avatar
LMD
Member
 
Posts: 624
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 08:16
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow : Bonn, Germany
GitHub: appgurueu
In-game: LMD + PRO_LMD + Limo

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by LMD » Mon May 21, 2018 13:54

However, AFAIK, collisionboxes can be differing from selection/hitboxes...
GitHub PR :
https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pull/6218
Last edited by LMD on Sat May 26, 2018 19:51, edited 1 time in total.
Magic-CTF(soon)MTPCFractal-SuiteModel Creator Schematic CreatorColorfulXmas BallsWebsite • Never judge me by my age
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7434
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by azekill_DIABLO » Mon May 21, 2018 14:34

not for entities though. however entities are able to slip trough other entitites if the collider isn't actived!
 

User avatar
LMD
Member
 
Posts: 624
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 08:16
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow : Bonn, Germany
GitHub: appgurueu
In-game: LMD + PRO_LMD + Limo
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Mon May 21, 2018 22:19

Caerulean wrote:Where can I find collision boxes settings? o.O But regardless, I've encountered Peahats before and they seem to actually be able to phase. @_@ Or is that what collision boxes do - prevent objects from phasing through?

In the settings tab there is a drop-down list with "node outlining", "node highlighting" and "none", it looks like you have it set to "none".
You could also search the advanced settings for "selection", and there is a setting for disabling entity collision boxes
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by Caerulean » Wed May 23, 2018 03:44

I do have Node Outlining set to None because it's more immersive. :3 Does it affect/cause phasing though? I also have all but one of the other graphics settings disabled to avoid lag.

Found the 'Show entity selection boxes'; should I disable that? It was enabled.
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Wed May 23, 2018 21:25

No you don't have to disable the selection boxes.
If you want to play without node outlining, I guess you'll just have to be careful of peahats! :)

Also I don't know what you mean by phasing.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by Caerulean » Fri May 25, 2018 13:56

Wait, what does having no Node Outlining have to do with fighting peahats? D:

'Phasing' as in 'going through walls and other obstacles'.
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Fri May 25, 2018 20:50

It makes entity selection boxes invisible, and peahats have a very small selection box near their base.
So you cant attack their spikes for example.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by Caerulean » Sun May 27, 2018 03:37

Screw that. I'm sticking with my immersion. xD

So there's nothing about peahats phasing through obstacles? I experienced that once. I was hiding in a rather narrow cave and I put doors and the peahat still made its way to me, cornered me, and eventually killed me. lol
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Sun May 27, 2018 20:46

They do that because of the tiny hitbox. They could make their way through a 1x1 space, and also they might be able to hit through walls because of the way mobs_redo does damage. I might have to reduce their attack radius.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
StarNinjas
Member
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 00:32
Location: aincrad
GitHub: starninjas
IRC: StarNinjas
In-game: J1
 

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Wed May 30, 2018 22:11

"Bouncy" is actually a hostile mob, it just wasn't causing damage because of your armour. Maybe I should make a friendly variant.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by Caerulean » Thu May 31, 2018 01:38

Ha! I knew it! xD

Yes, please! Make a friendly variant. :D Or a tameable version. Thanks~
 

Phoenixflo44
Member
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 15:01
Location: Behind my PC, in Germany
In-game: Phoenixflo44

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by Phoenixflo44 » Thu May 31, 2018 16:43

D00Med wrote:"Bouncy" is actually a hostile mob, it just wasn't causing damage because of your armour. Maybe I should make a friendly variant.


That would be nice
You can't see it here. I'm doing everything wrong anyway.
 

jcfrosty
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 19:18
GitHub: jcfrosty

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by jcfrosty » Sat Jun 02, 2018 19:25

I'm having issues getting this to work at all. I'm trying to set this up on my son's computer.

First launch immediately fails and points to experience mode init.lua. changing lines "experience = tonumber(xp:read("*l")) " seems to fix that. Then it moves on to crashing on hyrule_weather :( bad argument #2 to 'random' (interval is empty)

Some help would be appreciated.
 

jcfrosty
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 19:18
GitHub: jcfrosty

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by jcfrosty » Sat Jun 02, 2018 19:51

OK, I'm beginning to see why I'm seeing so many errors with the use of the "random" function. its supposed to be (lower#, higher#) and they are switched backwards like (-25,-30) -30 is less than -25 so switching them to (-30,-25) fixes those functions. unfortunately the errors are everywhere. I'll sit at my desk for a while and send a few Pull requests in github to fix the problems.
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Sat Jun 02, 2018 21:19

Which version of Minetest are you using? Sounds like it's the wrong one. The game works fine for me in v0.4.16
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
LMD
Member
 
Posts: 624
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 08:16
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow : Bonn, Germany
GitHub: appgurueu
In-game: LMD + PRO_LMD + Limo

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by LMD » Thu Jun 07, 2018 16:29

Why are you using a custom random ? Just use math.random(), multiply by interval size+interval start
Magic-CTF(soon)MTPCFractal-SuiteModel Creator Schematic CreatorColorfulXmas BallsWebsite • Never judge me by my age
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Thu Jun 07, 2018 21:14

I'm not sure what you mean. Anyway I'm going to fix the problem. I'm assuming it got broken in 0.4.17 or something.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by Caerulean » Fri Jun 08, 2018 03:18

Hey, I forgot to ask: Do tree leaves drop saplings? 'Cause so far, I've not gotten any saplings and I don't wanna deforest entire islands. xD
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Fri Jun 08, 2018 21:11

Yes they do, but probably not the leaves for the new trees, since I haven't updated the way that their leaves decay.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by Caerulean » Fri Jun 08, 2018 22:29

So trees grown from saplings won't drop saplings? D: Guess I'll wait before I cut down some more trees. xD
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Sat Jun 09, 2018 21:43

If you got the saplings then there's a way to get them
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean
 

PreviousNext

Return to Game Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests