[Mod] Miners Robots [0.1] [GitHub] [miners_robots]

lovelas
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 16:21
GitHub: lovelas

[Mod] Miners Robots [0.1] [GitHub] [miners_robots]

by lovelas » Sun Mar 13, 2016 17:22

This mods is a fork of https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=10789, which for me is not working properly. I decided to do a little remake and there came Miners Robots:

Image
Image

Download: https://github.com/lovelas/miners_robot ... master.zip

This is a mod that provides simple,programmable,robots.
They have a (hopefully) extremely simple programming language.
You have 64 spaces of "command memory" on the robot,each space containing 1 command.
Most importantly,robots cannot pass through anything except pure air.
If the air actually is a node(such as water),the robot will not pass though. If you detect water(you mine a block sucessfully yet you cannot move),place and then mine a block that is very quick to mine. Failing that,it's either not water,or you have to try again.

License of textures and models:

Texture and model of Robots by kilbith, modified by Nore and modified by lovelas under the CC0 license. (from mod Turtle)

License of code, under Apache License Version 2.0:

This is a fork(author: lovelas on GitHub) of simple_robots, whose authors are:

gamemanj on GitHub,for original mod.
HybridDog on GitHub,for adding place/dig sounds.

Here's the recipe:
* s:Steel Ingot
* t:Stick
* m:Mese Crystal
* g:Glass

The recipe for a simple robot is:

sss
gmt
sss
 

TitiMoby
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 09:00
In-game: titimoby

Re: [Mod] Miners Robots [0.1] [GitHub] [miners_robots]

by TitiMoby » Tue Oct 11, 2016 07:50

A bunch of people are trying to find their graal.
Your mod could be a part of it.
Do you mind to have a look at viewtopic.php?f=47&t=15665 ?

I'm sure there is something good to be done.
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: [Mod] Miners Robots [0.1] [GitHub] [miners_robots]

by hajo » Wed Nov 02, 2016 17:27

lovelas wrote:This mods is a fork of https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=10789,
which for me is not working properly.
This is a mod that provides simple,programmable,robots.

I have tried simple_robots (briefly), and it appears to work.
What problem did you find with that mod ?

I also tried your fork miners_robots, and it looks like several
commands from the original simple_robots are missing
(e.g. GOTO, and most of the inventory-commands).

Also, the dropdown-menu for selecting commands
using the same background color as the underlying formspec
makes it hard to use.
 

User avatar
xeranas
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 11:06

Re: [Mod] Miners Robots [0.1] [GitHub] [miners_robots]

by xeranas » Fri Nov 04, 2016 07:37

What does "NOP" means? Not sure what does it loads when I press "Load from file".

Did not understand at first that 'esc' needs to be pressed to leave robot after 'reset' was pressed. Was leaved with transparent ui panel without any hint whats goin on (at first thought that game was frozen).

In most cases each UI element (e.g. button) adds complexity which is not desired. I'm not sure what does 'scout', 'miner' 'builder' means but if they are different modes maybe better to create different robot (nodes) for each functionality. In that way it would be at least 3 buttons less.
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: [Mod] Miners Robots [0.1] [GitHub] [miners_robots]

by hajo » Fri Nov 04, 2016 10:57

xeranas wrote:What does "NOP" means?

NOP = No Operation.
Do you know any assembly ?

I'm not sure what does 'scout', 'miner' 'builder' means
but if they are different modes maybe better
to create different robot (nodes) for each functionality.

There are no different modes.
The commands for the robot have been grouped into categories,
just to organize them on the gui.

Scout = Commands for movement.
Probably unclear wording...
 

User avatar
xeranas
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 11:06

Re: [Mod] Miners Robots [0.1] [GitHub] [miners_robots]

by xeranas » Fri Nov 04, 2016 14:26

hajo wrote:
xeranas wrote:What does "NOP" means?

NOP = No Operation.
Do you know any assembly ?

Please don't do any assumptions from your mod users. Less they need to know more useful your mod will be. There are plenty space to write "No Operation".
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: [Mod] Miners Robots [0.1] [GitHub] [miners_robots]

by hajo » Wed Nov 09, 2016 13:05

xeranas wrote:What does "NOP" means?
hajo wrote:NOP = No Operation. Do you know any assembly ?
xeranas wrote:Please don't do any assumptions from your mod users.

It's not my mod. Just answering your question,
and giving a bit of background. Just so you know...
 


Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: runs and 6 guests