[Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
Location: Lyon, France
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly

[Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by Gael de Sailly » Sun Apr 03, 2016 09:59

Hello,

As the title say it, this mod is still experimental, and aims to develop an advanced biome system using the v5/v7/valleys mapgens biomes. The official MT game's biome system has 8 biomes. This mod will have 30 biomes.

These 30 biomes are already registered, but they're not all differentiated for now. I will add some more plants for that.

+ Voronoi diagram

+ Screenshot

Direct download: 30-biomes-master.zip
GitHub: 30-biomes
Depends: default.
When installed on Minetest, the mod is named "30biomes".
Last edited by Gael de Sailly on Sun Feb 04, 2018 01:11, edited 2 times in total.
Contributor of Minetest and OpenStreetMap, on Ubuntu 16.04. ~ ~ ~ Meet me on MinetestForFun, VanessaE's Basic, Capture the Flag and Inside the Box.
 

User avatar
srifqi
Member
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 04:31
Location: Indonesia
GitHub: srifqi
IRC: srifqi
In-game: srifqi

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by srifqi » Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:19

This will be crazy, many biomes on Minetest!

Currently amgmt only has 18 biomes, but this is 30 - almost two-third. Also, your mod has 3 kinds of biomes: main, beach, and sea.

What is the .ggb file?
I'm from Indonesia! Saya dari Indonesia!
Terjemahkan Minetest!
Mods by me. Modifikasi oleh saya.

Pronounce my nick as in: es-rifqi (IPA: /es rifˈki/)
 

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
Location: Lyon, France
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by Gael de Sailly » Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:27

srifqi wrote:What is the .ggb file?

Sorry I've forgotten to explain it. This is the Voronoi diagram. You need GeoGebra to open it.
GeoGebra is an interactive geometry application, that is mostly used for teaching maths, but I've found it very convenient for creating the Voronoi diagram.

I will post the png diagram too, on the repo.
Contributor of Minetest and OpenStreetMap, on Ubuntu 16.04. ~ ~ ~ Meet me on MinetestForFun, VanessaE's Basic, Capture the Flag and Inside the Box.
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by paramat » Sun Apr 03, 2016 21:20

Nice diagram. This has potential.
How about also changing things at high altitude by using biome limits? A clever way to do this is to simply remove biomes one by one with increasing altitude, starting with the hot and humid ones, so that all high mountans end up as tundra or glacier.
However this limits what happens in floatlands, although those could be a seperate biome system.
MTGame has more than 8 biomes.
You can have up to 256 biomes using the biome API.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7460
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1642
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by Don » Tue Apr 05, 2016 01:42

+1
I will keep an eye on this!
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

Aftermoth
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 01:26

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by Aftermoth » Wed Apr 06, 2016 03:41

Excellent!

My only advice is not to force yourself into providing all the extra geography, nodes, textures, effects etc. up front.
Just provide a robust system so the community can be inspired to flesh out the details for much more inventive and well-discussed variety over time.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by duane » Wed Apr 06, 2016 05:06

For some reason, "io.lines(path .. "/biomes.csv")" returns nil on my system, throwing an error before the init.lua finishes. However, "io.open(path .. "/biomes.csv", 'r'):lines()" works normally.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3019
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by Inocudom » Thu Apr 07, 2016 05:29

Those 30 biomes could look better if you use all of the plants and trees that you have in your forest and valleys mods.
Recovering from the abomination I am. Clocking time for Garry's Mod I am too.
 

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
Location: Lyon, France
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by Gael de Sailly » Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:08

Inocudom wrote:Those 30 biomes could look better if you use all of the plants and trees that you have in your forest and valleys mods.

That's the goal. But adding trees is not easy because I need new schematics and I don't know how to make it easily.
Contributor of Minetest and OpenStreetMap, on Ubuntu 16.04. ~ ~ ~ Meet me on MinetestForFun, VanessaE's Basic, Capture the Flag and Inside the Box.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by duane » Thu Apr 07, 2016 15:14

Gael de Sailly wrote:That's the goal. But adding trees is not easy because I need new schematics and I don't know how to make it easily.


Making the schematics isn't a trick, as long as you're not too particular. Here's a grove of schematic pine trees copied from one in valleys. They may not have enough variety for you. (They'd look a bit better if I'd set them to rotate.)

Image

Placing them in the biomes and getting the noises right is tougher. Also, note that you have to register trees before anything else, otherwise they refuse to displace other nodes, and end up on top of grass and such. I had to copy all the decorations, clear the queue, and requeue everything after my trees, when I did it.
Attachments
biomes_pine_tree.zip
(957 Bytes) Downloaded 33 times
biomes-01.jpg
(303.79 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

bobomb
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 20:28
GitHub: bobombolo
IRC: bobomb

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by bobomb » Tue Apr 19, 2016 16:25

biomes could also be determined using slope and aspect as factors
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by paramat » Wed Apr 20, 2016 00:00

Gael de Sailly wrote:That's the goal. But adding trees is not easy because I need new schematics and I don't know how to make it easily.


This is how https://github.com/minetest-mods/saveschems
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by Sokomine » Sat Apr 30, 2016 17:37

Gael de Sailly wrote:That's the goal. But adding trees is not easy because I need new schematics and I don't know how to make it easily.

The way the trees are built can remain mostly the same as long as the textures change. That can cover a lot of diffrent tree types already. The old standard trees/apple trees (not the new ones from a schematic!) are good for gameplay reasons as they can be harvested pretty easily. Some bigger trees now and then are fine, but don't exaggerate. Moretrees are extremly decorative - but also a pain to cut down if one of them's in the way.

Maybe my trees_lib could also be of use.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
demon_boy
Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:53
Location: Melbourne, Australia
GitHub: vlapsley
In-game: demon_boy

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by demon_boy » Mon May 02, 2016 05:25

Sokomine wrote:Moretrees are extremly decorative - but also a pain to cut down if one of them's in the way.


With a bit of clearing beforehand around the area, I suggest burning the large trees down to save time felling them.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by duane » Tue May 03, 2016 06:46

demon_boy wrote:
Sokomine wrote:Moretrees are extremly decorative - but also a pain to cut down if one of them's in the way.


With a bit of clearing beforehand around the area, I suggest burning the large trees down to save time felling them.


Real lumberjacks just climb to the top and take the whole thing down. I clear whole groves of redwoods when I get bored. : )
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by Sokomine » Fri May 20, 2016 13:35

duane wrote:Real lumberjacks just climb to the top and take the whole thing down. I clear whole groves of redwoods when I get bored. : )

Ought to have had you with me when I attacked all those trees that grew on the hill that was calling for a castle. Seemed to take ages to cut it all down. And it wasn't even moretrees. Just reglular dense wood.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

Nyarg
Member
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 04:32

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by Nyarg » Fri May 20, 2016 16:30

I have an error (
Image

Also mod have dependence to "flowers" mod but I don't found "...[flowers]" topic. Only "...[sun_flowers]" mod was found.
I am a noob. still yet. Not so noob ) [vml] WIP and a little proof for fun PlantedTorch )))
MT Strike 78a36b468554d101e0be3b0d1f587a555f396452 Great! Somebody have found it )
"My english isn't well" I know. I'm sorry )
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7460
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by Nore » Sat May 21, 2016 08:07

Nyarg: you need to use a recent version of minetest_game.
 

User avatar
Diamond knight
Member
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
Location: stalker...
GitHub: Diamondknight
In-game: Ferrumprinceps

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by Diamond knight » Sat May 21, 2016 14:19

he is, unless that is mg he is using for the dry grass

if he is using the recent it might be a subgame error, is that the default subgame nyarg, are you using mg
The IMPERIVM FERRVM shall once more blossom!
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=20851

My modding team:
https://github.com/Ferrumian-modding-team
https://discord.gg/FDjC2ah
 

User avatar
burli
Member
 
Posts: 1608
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by burli » Tue Aug 23, 2016 18:45

I used this mod to add more stone types. Works well. You can find screenshots in this post
 

User avatar
burli
Member
 
Posts: 1608
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by burli » Wed Aug 24, 2016 09:51

I noticed that the biomes can change near water or in really low areas. You can see that around that lake. I saw the same phenomenon with snow around a lake.

Why does this happen?

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20160824_091552.jpg
(325.37 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7460
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Biome system experiment [30-biomes]

by azekill_DIABLO » Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:59

because i think the mg has tried to create a river (jugletrees seems to spawn near low areas with water.) but the level was tooo low imho
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
 

Next

Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BuckarooBanzay and 0 guests