[Mod] Caches [caches]

mtango688
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 15:16

[Mod] Caches [caches]

by mtango688 » Wed Apr 13, 2016 15:27

Description: This mod adds containers for Technic that store a single type of item in large amounts. The containers are simple, portable, and upgradeable.

License: WTFPL

Mod dependencies: Default, Technic, Pipeworks, and Moreores

Also requires the latest dev version of Minetest (or Minetest 0.4.14).

Image

Now available on github for your forking pleasure:

https://github.com/mtango688/caches/archive/master.zip
Attachments
caches2b.zip
fixes for torches mod, tree blocks, some visuals
(8.63 KiB) Downloaded 118 times
Last edited by mtango688 on Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:06, edited 4 times in total.
 

User avatar
cd2
Member
 
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 06:30
Location: Linux
GitHub: cdqwertz
In-game: cd cd2

Re: [Mod] Caches [caches]

by cd2 » Wed Apr 13, 2016 16:07

wow, that looks cool :D
Could you upload your code to GitHub?
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7461
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

mtango688
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 15:16

Re: [Mod] Caches [caches]

by mtango688 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 13:03

Feel free to fork my code. It is all WTFPL, after all.
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4152
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [Mod] Caches [caches]

by Krock » Thu Apr 14, 2016 20:12

Why did I never have an idea like this? What a perfect idea to store my useless cobble stackwise in one single node!

Could you change the pipeworks and technic dependencies into optional? Not every server/client wants to enable those mods. But having a way to store a giant amount of material would make the life much easier.

I did a fast-fix for the pipeworks dependency because there's only one function called in the whole mod:
Code: Select all
pipeworks.scan_for_tube_objects(pos)
-VVVV- Changed to -VVVV-
if pipeworks then
   pipeworks.scan_for_tube_objects(pos)
end
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
Location: United States
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi

Re: [Mod] Caches [caches]

by philipbenr » Fri Apr 15, 2016 01:07

Awesome mod idea! Best thing is, I can use /giveme to put a bunch of nodes in one place and not worry about them not looking weird as the only thing in the "chest".
 

mtango688
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 15:16

Re: [Mod] Caches [caches]

by mtango688 » Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:08

If you mod this to get away from Pipeworks, you'll want to consider how to handle do_output() (since that calls Technic, which also calls Pipeworks). I mean, you'd pretty much want to remove/convert all the automation code.
 

User avatar
Lejo
Member
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: [Mod] Caches [caches]

by Lejo » Fri May 06, 2016 18:14

I always if I start the mod I get this Error:
Code: Select all
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]: /usr/share/games/minetest/mods/caches/init.lua:
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]: /usr/share/games/minetest/mods/caches/init.lua:447: attempt to call field 'register_lbm' (a nil value)
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]:    /usr/share/games/minetest/mods/caches/init.lua:447: in main chunk
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /usr/share/games/minetest/mods/caches/init.lua
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run /usr/share/games/minetest/mods/caches/init.lua
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]: Error from Lua:
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]: /usr/share/games/minetest/mods/caches/init.lua:447: attempt to call field 'register_lbm' (a nil value)
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]:    /usr/share/games/minetest/mods/caches/init.lua:447: in main chunk
2016-05-06 20:12:00: ERROR[main]: Siehe debug.txt für Details.

I hope you can fix it.

Thanks.
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4152
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [Mod] Caches [caches]

by Krock » Fri May 06, 2016 18:24

Lejo wrote:I hope you can fix it.

YOU can fix it by using an indev build. The version you use does not have the required features that were used in this mod. Look in the Builds sub-forum for a newer build. If you don't want to update, wait one or two weeks, then you will be able to download 0.4.14-stable from the website.
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Lejo
Member
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo
 

User avatar
Lejo
Member
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: [Mod] Caches [caches]

by Lejo » Sat Oct 01, 2016 15:13

If I use a cache in a area on a server I always get a message that I not the owner of the cache.
This is only if you don't have the area privilege and if the cache is in a area.
 


Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests