[Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Thu Aug 30, 2018 10:43

Exactly.
Player presses a control -> client sends it to server(L) -> server indicates that the train should start moving -> server sends movement to client(L)
The steps with (L) are where network latency comes into effect. In singleplayer games, this should hardly be noticable, but it is on servers.
Regarding the computation efficiency of Lua advtrains, I have not much experience, gpcf can probably tell you better how it impacts performance. What I know is that on the Linuxworks server we have about 100 trains running simultaneously, and the performance loss is (still) acceptable compared to the perfomance loss caused by large factories of certain people, which employ thousands of item entities.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Thu Aug 30, 2018 10:47

gpcf was thinking about offloading the whole train logic into a separate process, independent of minetest, and only communicating required details into the minetest engine through some communication channel. However this is a large amount of work, and we haven't started things like this yet.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
daufinsyd
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 16:43
GitHub: daufinsyd
In-game: daufinsyd

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by daufinsyd » Mon Sep 03, 2018 08:24

Okay thanks :)
The thing is that I hardly noticed a latency difference between LinuxWorks server and my laptop.
 

BuckarooBanzay
Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: thomasrudin-mt
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by BuckarooBanzay » Mon Sep 03, 2018 09:34

There seems to be a resource duplication bug in the steam locomotive.
You get 4 steel blocks back, thats more than you actually need to craft it :(

btw: really nice mod!
 

BuckarooBanzay
Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: thomasrudin-mt
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by BuckarooBanzay » Mon Sep 03, 2018 09:48

orwell wrote:gpcf was thinking about offloading the whole train logic into a separate process, independent of minetest, and only communicating required details into the minetest engine through some communication channel. However this is a large amount of work, and we haven't started things like this yet.


About that: how about a communication channel over http/curl with an advtrains-backend?
 

User avatar
dogMine
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 16:36
Location: france

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by dogMine » Tue Sep 04, 2018 15:44

Super mod, I installed it on my server, (mt.dogmine.fr, pass: youki) and I love it. I have not started the automation that looks very complicated, but would not it be possible to have the red and green signs that indicates the position of the switch, it would be great.
Otherwise good luck for this very promising project.
Sorry for the translation.
serveur DogMine - http://mt.dogmine.fr/minetest- mt.dogmine.fr:30000
 

User avatar
dogMine
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 16:36
Location: france

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by dogMine » Tue Sep 04, 2018 15:50

The rails are protected, but a clever little broke the blocks below to remove them. I'll have to put obsidian under the rails until you fix this bug, if it's one.
serveur DogMine - http://mt.dogmine.fr/minetest- mt.dogmine.fr:30000
 

Byakuren
Member
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:59
GitHub: raymoo
IRC: Hijiri
In-game: Raymoo + Clownpiece

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by Byakuren » Tue Sep 04, 2018 19:10

dogMine wrote:The rails are protected, but a clever little broke the blocks below to remove them. I'll have to put obsidian under the rails until you fix this bug, if it's one.

Couldn't you protect the nodes under the rails? (Assuming protected = protected using protection mods)
Every time a mod API is left undocumented, a koala dies.
 

User avatar
gpcf
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by gpcf » Tue Sep 04, 2018 22:29

The thing with protection is a known problem, there is a long thread on the bug tracker discussing how to do proper protection. Link is https://bugs.linux-forks.de/advtrains/22.html (Warning: in German).
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Wed Sep 05, 2018 19:55

dogMine wrote:Super mod, I installed it on my server, (mt.dogmine.fr, pass: youki) and I love it. I have not started the automation that looks very complicated, but would not it be possible to have the red and green signs that indicates the position of the switch, it would be great.
Otherwise good luck for this very promising project.
Sorry for the translation.

The switches (I use the more uncommon word "turnout" because I want to evade misunderstandings with mesecon switches) can be controlled with mesecons. You can create a small Mesecon circuit with a microcontroller, two lightstones and a button to create such a display.
EDIT: Smacker has created very cool turnout levers. I don't exactly know where to find them, gpcf can probably tell you. They are in use on the Linuxworks server.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
dogMine
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 16:36
Location: france

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by dogMine » Thu Sep 06, 2018 08:07

thank you, that's exactly what I wanted to control my station
Image
aiguillage.jpg
(159.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet
-
serveur DogMine - http://mt.dogmine.fr/minetest- mt.dogmine.fr:30000
 

User avatar
gpcf
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel
 

User avatar
dogMine
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 16:36
Location: france

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by dogMine » Thu Sep 06, 2018 13:06

thankyou but I have an error
2018-09-06 14:16:35: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from /var/games/minetest-server/.minetest/mods/railroad/init.lua:
2018-09-06 14:16:35: ERROR[Main]: /usr/share/games/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:65: Name railroad_paraphernalia:switch_with_arrow does not follow naming conventions: "railroad:" or ":" prefix required
serveur DogMine - http://mt.dogmine.fr/minetest- mt.dogmine.fr:30000
 

User avatar
gpcf
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by gpcf » Thu Sep 06, 2018 14:18

mv railroad railroad_paraphernalia

your directory is not named correctly.
 

User avatar
dogMine
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 16:36
Location: france

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by dogMine » Thu Sep 06, 2018 14:52

thank you it works, I will try this mod
I added you to the whitelist if you connect I will give you all privs.
serveur DogMine - http://mt.dogmine.fr/minetest- mt.dogmine.fr:30000
 

User avatar
dogMine
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 16:36
Location: france

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by dogMine » Sun Sep 09, 2018 08:51

it would be nice to put the light in the wagons, a train that circulates lit up in the night, it's beautiful.
serveur DogMine - http://mt.dogmine.fr/minetest- mt.dogmine.fr:30000
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Tue Sep 11, 2018 09:20

Sadly, this is currently not possible (except with ugly hacks) due to engine limitations. Minetest doesn't support attaching light sources to entities...
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

Byakuren
Member
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:59
GitHub: raymoo
IRC: Hijiri
In-game: Raymoo + Clownpiece

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by Byakuren » Wed Sep 12, 2018 17:30

A simple hack would be to place invisible light-emitting nodes that decay when there's no train on top of them. Though that could be expensive due to modifying the world and triggering lighting calculations.
Every time a mod API is left undocumented, a koala dies.
 

User avatar
gpcf
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by gpcf » Wed Sep 12, 2018 19:18

maybe we should start compiling engine changes we want to happen for them to be included in 0.5
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Fri Sep 14, 2018 19:41

I've finished writing the interlocking system guide. It can be found at http://advtrains.bleipb.de/interlocking
You can try it out using the TSS branch, download link:
https://git.bananach.space/advtrains.gi ... ns-tss.zip
Once it is proven that everything works, this will become the new stable version. Please download and test it, and give me feedback!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

Mikola
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 18:01
GitHub: Mikola314
In-game: mikola

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by Mikola » Sun Sep 16, 2018 20:00

Hello. Which version Minetest you use for testing and best performance mod Advanced Trains: minetest 0.4.17 or minetest 5.0?
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Tue Sep 18, 2018 07:08

I use 0.4.17.1, and everything is designed to work in at least 0.4.17, but may work in earlier versions.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

Mikola
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 18:01
GitHub: Mikola314
In-game: mikola

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by Mikola » Thu Sep 20, 2018 16:49

I found the problem in advtrains-tss.
The mod advtrains_itrainmap does not work. In a stable version, this mod works.
In the tss version there are no functions advtrains.detector.on_node and advtrains.detector.get .
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.13]

by orwell » Thu Sep 20, 2018 19:41

Ah, right, thank you. Fixing itrainmap is one of the next things to be done, however I need to clarify this.
Itrainmap is broken. It will be fixed soon (TM)
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

Previous

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests