[Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

Heraclitus
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 17:14

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by Heraclitus » Sun Jan 06, 2019 02:21

Am I the only one for whom the "extrusion" setting with builder modules seems to do nothing?

I've tried all sorts of values, all sorts of orientations for the builders -- the builder only seems to output one block in the given direction. I'm running Minetest 0.4.17.1 (though I'm pretty sure it didn't work when I had 0.4.16 either). I don't see any errors given -- the setting just seems not to do anything.

Is there something I could be missing? Is there some sort of mod conflict or something that could cause this?

Terrific mod, by the way. I've built tunnels and roads and skyscrapers -- the extrusion capability would just make it a lot more useful.
 

FaceDeer
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 19:01
GitHub: FaceDeer

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by FaceDeer » Sun Jan 06, 2019 04:33

Are you using a completely fresh download? I just did a major bit of optimization work that I merged into the master branch yesterday, it shouldn't have changed anything about how the mod worked but I don't think I tested extrusion explicitly. I'll test that now and see if I broke it.

Edit: Yup, extrusion is broken. One moment, I'll fix it.

Edit 2: How embarrassing. I think it was broken for a while now, the work I submitted yesterday didn't touch the spot that was going awry. In any event, though, is now fixed.
 

BuckarooBanzay
Member
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: thomasrudin-mt
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by BuckarooBanzay » Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:02

FaceDeer wrote:Are you using a completely fresh download? I just did a major bit of optimization work that I merged into the master branch yesterday, it shouldn't have changed anything about how the mod worked but I don't think I tested extrusion explicitly. I'll test that now and see if I broke it.

Edit: Yup, extrusion is broken. One moment, I'll fix it.

Edit 2: How embarrassing. I think it was broken for a while now, the work I submitted yesterday didn't touch the spot that was going awry. In any event, though, is now fixed.


Nice :O
/me pulls
 

Heraclitus
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 17:14

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by Heraclitus » Sun Jan 06, 2019 18:24

THANK YOU! I sincerely appreciate your taking a look at it so quickly. I first tried using extrusion a few months ago (I think) when I tried to design some more sophisticated machines, but I assumed I was doing something wrong. I guess I should have reported it here then.

Anyhow, it seems to work now. No reason to be embarrassed -- as I said, this is a great mod, and before I was able to workaround without extrusion by just making a somewhat more complicated builder. But I wanted to do something that really wouldn't be possible without extrusion, so thanks for fixing it!
 

DzarTheDemon
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 01:15
In-game: CrystalFox

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by DzarTheDemon » Sat Jan 19, 2019 01:17

Umm I downloaded the mod but it doesn't seem to have added the digtron items... I have it in my Minetest_Game mods folder and it is enabled on my worlds so can you tell me what im doing wrong?


Edit: I am also having this issue with Technic, I am not seeing any Technic or Digtron blocks
 

FaceDeer
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 19:01
GitHub: FaceDeer

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by FaceDeer » Sat Jan 19, 2019 09:37

My guess would be that Technic has an unsatisfied dependency. Digtron has an optional dependency on Technic (so that it knows how to add Technic-specific nodes such as the battery holder and power cable connector), and I've noticed that Minetest will let dependency failures propagate up through optional dependencies even though it doesn't really make sense for it to do so.

See if you can find debug.txt. It should be in the /bin directory where the Minetest executable is (for version 0.4.16) or in the root Minetest folder (for 5.0). It'll likely have lines like the following in it:

Code: Select all
2019-01-19 02:31:59: ERROR[Main]: mod "technic" has unsatisfied dependencies:  "pipeworks" "technic_worldgen"
2019-01-19 02:31:59: ERROR[Main]: mod "digtron" has unsatisfied dependencies:  "technic"


In this case I deliberately left out the "pipeworks" and "technic_worldgen" dependencies Technic requires, and that caused Technic to fail to load. Which caused Digtron to fail to load, even though it doesn't really need Technic for most of Digtron. Satisfy Technic's dependencies and everything should just work.
 

DzarTheDemon
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 01:15
In-game: CrystalFox

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by DzarTheDemon » Sat Jan 19, 2019 17:01

Okay, thanks! Turns out I needed the (not so) simple Materials mod. Once I put that in the ole mods folder, *pop!* Instant digtron mechanics! Now to digtron a mineshaft...!
Attachments
screenshot_20190119_115812.png
My new "Drill-x" Digtron! Who hasn't made a digtron that digs straight down?
(317.24 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

DzarTheDemon
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 01:15
In-game: CrystalFox

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by DzarTheDemon » Sat Jan 19, 2019 17:33

After playing around with the different parts, I decided to build... A Tank-Car! It moves forward, placing blocks in front of it and picking them back up at the back! It also digs in front of it so you don't have to worry about car crashes, but everyone else make way!!

screenshot_20190119_121946.png
The Tank-Car in it's glory! Also note the fiery dirt from 10+'s Ethereal mod :P
(968.93 KiB) Not downloaded yet


Edit: There is a kink when it rotates, where it doesn't turn or it leaves behind some track blocks. Is there a way to fix this? (There's an axle in the center of the storage platform for rotating, it's hard to see in this picture.)
Last edited by DzarTheDemon on Sat Jan 19, 2019 18:15, edited 1 time in total.
 

DzarTheDemon
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 01:15
In-game: CrystalFox

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by DzarTheDemon » Sat Jan 19, 2019 18:15

DzarTheDemon wrote:(There's an axle in the center of the storage platform for rotating, it's hard to see in this picture.)



Here's an updated picture showing all the parts. I did shift the fuel storages, though. Now there's 3 fuels to 5 inventories. Other than that, this revision isn't really different, I just wanted to get a better picture of the car
Attachments
screenshot_20190119_130930.png
The Tank-Car in a desert... Can't think of any flavor text to put here.
(763.97 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
Isja Krass
Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 19:30
Location: {X=25.25, y=-400, z=478,8} Bavaria, Germany
In-game: init.lua

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by Isja Krass » Sat May 18, 2019 14:36

Hello,
I have a problem with the digtron:
The digtron says that it self has 26 nodes but only have the traction to moove 6 nodes.
How can i get more traction?

thanks
my topics | profile | contact me | nothing else to say...
 

DzarTheDemon
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 01:15
In-game: CrystalFox

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by DzarTheDemon » Sun May 19, 2019 01:27

Isja Krass wrote:Hello,
I have a problem with the digtron:
The digtron says that it self has 26 nodes but only have the traction to move 6 nodes.
How can i get more traction?


Traction is basically how much ground the digtron has to move on, what you need to do is build something under or around the digtron to give it more to scoot around on.
 

Jancv
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 09:02

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by Jancv » Fri Jun 14, 2019 09:17

Someone knows how I can fill in materials faster than manually my Digtron made train tunnels, with two tracks and is prepared for any tipe of terrain.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/13C01Fc ... sp=sharing
Attachments
Captura.PNG
(209.42 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

yw05
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:59
Location: linux-forks.de port 30000
IRC: yw05
In-game: ywang

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by yw05 » Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:22

Jancv wrote:Someone knows how I can fill in materials faster than manually

Use pipeworks, I think.
Jancv wrote:my Digtron made train tunnels, with two tracks and is prepared for any type of terrain.

If you want to make tracks fit in terrains then I guess it has to be done by hand. Digtron is more like WorldEdit except it is for normal users.
Huh, why am I still using Minetest 4.x?
 

Jancv
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 09:02
 

User avatar
LRV
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 17:29
In-game: Mooncarman Moonvehicleman LunarRovingVehicle LRV Mooncarguy

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by LRV » Thu Jul 04, 2019 12:24

The awards mod breaks digtrons in Minetest 5.0.1.
LRV wrote:
LRV wrote:I got another food mod xtraarmor, of course a customleather item needs to be added, but the chainmaila nd leather armor would be pretty fitting.

Why is there food in my sentence? XD

Why didn't my siganture show up completly til' I did that?
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 1266
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: Yes
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by GreenDimond » Thu Jul 04, 2019 17:05

LRV wrote:The awards mod breaks digtrons in Minetest 5.0.1.

Please make sure you have the latest version of awards and digtron. You might also need to apply this pull request to awards.
Y▹uTube | Mods | Patreon | Minetest Discord | GreenDimond#3232
 

User avatar
LRV
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 17:29
In-game: Mooncarman Moonvehicleman LunarRovingVehicle LRV Mooncarguy

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by LRV » Tue Jul 16, 2019 13:18

I have (at least I had when reported that bug). I don't have git hub.
LRV wrote:
LRV wrote:I got another food mod xtraarmor, of course a customleather item needs to be added, but the chainmaila nd leather armor would be pretty fitting.

Why is there food in my sentence? XD

Why didn't my siganture show up completly til' I did that?
 

FaceDeer
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 19:01
GitHub: FaceDeer

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by FaceDeer » Mon Aug 05, 2019 15:14

I've submitted a pull request to awards, in the meantime you can use my fork of awards that removes the crash bug that Digtron's been triggering.
 

CalebJ
Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 19:21
Location: Tunnelers' Abyss
In-game: CalebJ

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by CalebJ » Thu Aug 15, 2019 17:48

I've found a bug that crashed our server (Tunnelers' Abyss) 5 times. The ERROR was this, and maybe this is already reported, but here goes:
Code: Select all
 ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
.../mods/digtron/util.lua:315: in function "update_builder_item"
.../mods/digtron/nodes/node_builders.lua:131: in function "?"
.../game/register.lua:419: in function <.../game/register.lua:399>

I know exactly how this bug happens, but I don't want to say it publically. I will PM you instead.
If you want realism, you're in the wrong place. Get off your mobile.
 

FaceDeer
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 19:01
GitHub: FaceDeer

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by FaceDeer » Fri Aug 16, 2019 00:06

CalebJ wrote:I know exactly how this bug happens, but I don't want to say it publically. I will PM you instead.


I have a guess based on the callstack, but I'll wait for you to PM me the specifics. If I'm guessing right I think this might not be too hard to fix.

And I will fix it. However, at this point I've become rather flummoxed by subtle bugs in Minetest's API that Digtron has been provoking, and the general fragility of Digtron's coding structure. A point of trivia, Digtron was actually my very first Minetest mod, and the first thing I'd written in Lua. In hindsight, having become a little better at this over the years, I think I made a few bad choices down in the foundations of how this thing is structured. So I think aside from emergency bug fixes like this one to stave off crashes where I can I'm going to stick a fork in this particular codebase...

...<ominous pause>...

...and begin work on DIGTRON 2.0, Digtron Lagann (name subject to change). I'm going to tear this monstrosity down and rebuild it from the ground up. I think I'll be able to do it in a manner that will allow existing digtron 1.0 constructs to be upgraded into DIGTRON 2.0s fairly seamlessly, but the code behind it is going to be very different and I think in addition to reducing the fragility and bugginess there will be some significant improvements to the user interface. I've got some ideas.
 

CalebJ
Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 19:21
Location: Tunnelers' Abyss
In-game: CalebJ

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by CalebJ » Fri Aug 16, 2019 01:45

I've already sent you the bug report in PM, I see it in my sent messages :)
If you want realism, you're in the wrong place. Get off your mobile.
 

Yvanhoe
Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 03:18

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by Yvanhoe » Fri Aug 16, 2019 01:52

FaceDeer wrote:DIGTRON 2.0

ohboyohboyohboy!

Transportable factories? Attachable mesecons, digilines, pipes and fabbers? Ability to access the inventories while moving? That can be wild!
 

FaceDeer
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 19:01
GitHub: FaceDeer

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by FaceDeer » Fri Aug 16, 2019 03:27

CalebJ wrote:I've already sent you the bug report in PM, I see it in my sent messages :)


Huh, I didn't get an alert. I see it too, though.

Yvanhoe wrote:
FaceDeer wrote:DIGTRON 2.0

Transportable factories? Attachable mesecons, digilines, pipes and fabbers? Ability to access the inventories while moving? That can be wild!


Er... I was mainly just planning on it not crashing so much... :)

But now that you mention it, I think the inventory-while-moving thing might actually work well with what I have in mind. Since the main failure point seems to be a subtle Minetest bug with writing node metadata, including inventories, I'm planning to have Digtron 2.0 controllers "own" detached inventories instead. So if you open the inventory while it's moving it should keep on functioning.

There's already a pipeworks attachment node, what did you have in mind beyond that? And would the Mesecon interaction be a signal to trigger a Digtron to start or stop operating?

What sort of "factory" were you thinking of? I'd probably mark such things for Digtron 2.1 or beyond, but I could perhaps look at integrating some kind of furnace or auto-crafter into a Digtron node. The usual approaches to this don't work well with Digtron because any running node timers get left behind when Digtron moves, it'd have to be a custom deal.

Maybe I should make a separate mod that's focused on "picking up" a generic group of constructed nodes and "placing" it somewhere else, that might be more versatile and robust in the long run than trying to bolt everything on to Digtron itself. You could put your ore-processing factory in your pocket, let Digtron run off for a while, then go to wherever Digtron has run out of gas and plunk your processing factory down next to it. Run a short length of Pipeworks between them and voom.
 

Yvanhoe
Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 03:18

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by Yvanhoe » Fri Aug 16, 2019 08:32

Ok sorry about the overenthusiasm. Digtron is my favorite mod so far and the one that got me hooked into minetest.

The one thing I wanted to explore was what would happen if I were to add a block in digtron that would attach the 6 blocks touching it to the machine? I wondered if pipes, furnaces and autocrafters would work correctly. If yes, that would allow to, for instance, build glass while digging and laying it down the sea. It would allow my forest-eating plastic factory to be autonomous. But I fear pipes may be finicky to work with. Is there really no way to make node timers move around?

And yes, I would like a way for mesecons to trigger a start/stop signal and especially a turn signal. Even without being attached, I would make an automated and renewable forest harvester with that!

I would have loved to be able to attach a node detector to the machine and allow it to trtigger a "slope" event. Whenever the front line is above ground, make it go down one unit.
 

FaceDeer
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 19:01
GitHub: FaceDeer

Re: [Mod] Digtron tunnel boring/building machine [digtron]

by FaceDeer » Fri Aug 16, 2019 08:50

Yvanhoe wrote:Ok sorry about the overenthusiasm. Digtron is my favorite mod so far and the one that got me hooked into minetest.


That's fine, I just want to aim for feature parity with Digtron 1.0 first. The goal is to reduce bugs, not introduce new ones. :)

Yvanhoe wrote:The one thing I wanted to explore was what would happen if I were to add a block in digtron that would attach the 6 blocks touching it to the machine? I wondered if pipes, furnaces and autocrafters would work correctly.


It's hard to say, because mods are fully Turing-complete programs and can do basically anything they want to. So there's no telling what exactly will happen if I try to seize hold of a node and "relocate" it somewhere. Minetest wasn't written with the concept of "moving" a node, what Digtron does is destroy and recreate nodes adjacent to where they were previously. So to "move" an arbitrary node I'd need to be able to recreate it.

This should actually be possible with a lot of nodes. It's even possible to read a NodeTimerRef's state and recreate it somewhere else. But I'd be very wary of "gotchas", as we're already seeing with the existing Digtron sometimes leaving its inventory metadata in the wrong location. I could easily imagine running into order-of-operations problems where Digtron reads a timer in one node and the timer goes off before Digtron can recreate it in the next node, leaving everything in an inconsistent state.

So... let's leave this as a "maybe" for now. We'll see how easy it is once the hard part of rewriting Digtron is done. If I do the rewrite right it'll leave Digtron in a state that may make adding features like this easier in the future.

And I'm flattered you like Digtron so much. I'll try to make sure that DIGTRON 2.0 lives up to it. :)
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests