[abandoned mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

[abandoned mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by duane » Sun Jan 29, 2017 11:02

Note: I'm no longer working on this mod.

This mod adds large underworlds to Minetest. Each is an open horizontal plane with different characteristics. The underzones table in init.lua contains all the data on each plane, including how far underground to generate it.

There are five default underworlds: Caina (ice realm), Phlegethos (fire and lava), Dis (city of hot iron and brass), Minauros (decay and pollution), and Styx (vast ocean).

Screenshots
+ Spoiler



The source is available on github.

Code: LGPL2

Mod dependencies: default

Download: https://github.com/duane-r/underworlds/ ... master.zip
Last edited by duane on Sun May 27, 2018 23:48, edited 3 times in total.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by duane » Sun Jan 29, 2017 11:03

Problems:
- document the underzones table
Last edited by duane on Sun Jan 29, 2017 23:39, edited 2 times in total.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7460
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by azekill_DIABLO » Sun Jan 29, 2017 15:21

duane stop doing such great mods, you kill the creativity of other poeple. how could they do better?!

+1
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1063
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by texmex » Wed Mar 08, 2017 09:30

Mod author is obviously on a creativity streak, great stuff duane! Will try it out, possibly on a server.
I wonder how those air particles are made? Where in the code is it built?
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7460
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by duane » Thu Mar 09, 2017 00:53

texmex wrote:Mod author is obviously on a creativity streak, great stuff duane! Will try it out, possibly on a server.
I wonder how those air particles are made? Where in the code is it built?


Thanks. Those lights come from the flare gun in fun_tools. I use it a lot while exploring.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
Neuromancer
Member
 
Posts: 794
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 22:28
GitHub: Neuromancer56

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by Neuromancer » Sat Mar 11, 2017 18:15

This mod absolutely needs to be added to Minetest Game!
 

User avatar
Diamond knight
Member
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
Location: stalker...
GitHub: Diamondknight
In-game: Ferrumprinceps
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by TheReaperKing » Sat Mar 11, 2017 23:23

Some of my students were actually creating Olympus. This is soooo perfect for that theme, thanks for always making such cool stuff!
Resources on happiness and life management - http://MikesHappyPlace.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by duane » Sun Mar 12, 2017 00:27

Diamond knight wrote:I cant find the depth levels in the init.lua


The high_chunk and low_chunk parameters set the top and bottom of the spaces.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
Milan*
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 06:45
Location: Germany
GitHub: tchncs
IRC: Passant
In-game: Milan Passant

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by Milan* » Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:05

I have the following problem:

I wanna create a world with geomoria, fun_caves, underworlds and caverealms.
To balance it, it should be parted into max height _and_ max depth.
Didn't see a "simple" option to alter the code of {geomoria, fun_caves, underworlds}.
Can u please help me with that / implement the max-height feature? :)
Illuna Minetestservers | Mastodon | [ matrix ] | I may host you a Minetestserver, just contact me.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by duane » Mon Mar 13, 2017 23:12

Milan* wrote:I have the following problem:

I wanna create a world with geomoria, fun_caves, underworlds and caverealms.
To balance it, it should be parted into max height _and_ max depth.
Didn't see a "simple" option to alter the code of {geomoria, fun_caves, underworlds}.
Can u please help me with that / implement the max-height feature? :)


I don't understand what you're asking. Geomoria and underworlds both have height settings. Are you trying to limit fun_caves to a certain range?
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
Milan*
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 06:45
Location: Germany
GitHub: tchncs
IRC: Passant
In-game: Milan Passant

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by Milan* » Mon Mar 13, 2017 23:55

They have?
I only have seen a max depth setting of -31000 but i want to alter the max height setting as well.
I mean the whole thing, where to start and stop generating... .
Illuna Minetestservers | Mastodon | [ matrix ] | I may host you a Minetestserver, just contact me.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by duane » Tue Mar 14, 2017 04:51

Milan* wrote:They have?
I only have seen a max depth setting of -31000 but i want to alter the max height setting as well.
I mean the whole thing, where to start and stop generating... .


The underworld parameters are all in a table in "underworlds/init.lua". "high_chunk" and "low_chunk" define how deep each starts and ends. There are too many parameters to define in settings.

In geomoria, the variable is "geomoria_mod.geomoria_depth = -1", also in the init.lua. That could be a setting, but I suspect it would cause problems if anyone changed it after a world was created.

Depths are measured in map chunks, since there's no practical way to generate terrain in fractions of a map chunk. (I did it in squaresville, but it's very slow.)
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
Milan*
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 06:45
Location: Germany
GitHub: tchncs
IRC: Passant
In-game: Milan Passant

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by Milan* » Tue Mar 14, 2017 09:57

Depths are measured in map chunks


So high_chunk = -12 would be -192 nodes, right?
Because i flied around there alot but didn't find anything with just underworlds activated.
Did i made miscalculations or are they just so rare?

In geomoria, the variable is "geomoria_mod.geomoria_depth = -1"

Oh i think geomoria itself is just fine also it will be a fresh world when everything is set up so no worries. :)

Just in case and to avoid misunderstandings due my language borders, the following picture shows what i am planning to do so far:

Image
Illuna Minetestservers | Mastodon | [ matrix ] | I may host you a Minetestserver, just contact me.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7460
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by TheReaperKing » Wed Mar 15, 2017 13:09

? could be the earths core
Resources on happiness and life management - http://MikesHappyPlace.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7460
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by azekill_DIABLO » Wed Mar 15, 2017 13:47

underworlds can imitate the core IMHO. for me it would mostly be a dark place like the heart of shadwos
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by TheReaperKing » Wed Mar 15, 2017 14:32

That hell mod by d00med might be neat for the ? area too.
Resources on happiness and life management - http://MikesHappyPlace.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

User avatar
Milan*
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 06:45
Location: Germany
GitHub: tchncs
IRC: Passant
In-game: Milan Passant

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by Milan* » Wed Mar 15, 2017 22:13

Got help from agaran, can continue with my plans, jey!
Illuna Minetestservers | Mastodon | [ matrix ] | I may host you a Minetestserver, just contact me.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by duane » Fri Mar 17, 2017 01:17

Milan* wrote:
Depths are measured in map chunks


So high_chunk = -12 would be -192 nodes, right?
Because i flied around there alot but didn't find anything with just underworlds activated.
Did i made miscalculations or are they just so rare?


-12 would be 48 + (80 * -12) = -912 on most maps (though chunk size can be changed). If I get some free time, I'll put altitude limits on fun_caves, but it's not as simple as just cutting them off at some point unless you want the caves to look obviously sliced away. Unfortunately, that will leave no caves in the rest of the world or grossly mismatched caves, since fun_caves isn't compatible with other caves.

Getting caverealms to fit in sounds very difficult. I can separate the cave generation from the decoration in fun_caves, so that they'll (theoretically) use any cave system. That should be as easy as commenting out the cave generator. There would still have to be some way to give caverealms priority in its volume, which could be a headache. Maybe just inserting fun_caves in the depends.txt for caverealms would be all it takes.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
Milan*
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 06:45
Location: Germany
GitHub: tchncs
IRC: Passant
In-game: Milan Passant

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by Milan* » Fri Mar 17, 2017 17:03

Thanks for the calculation formula, duane, i think it will help me alot as i though it is just the *16 thing.

The caverealms are not a huge deal - i configured them to don't crash inside the funcaves slice - a mixture is not wanted but yea - somehow one actually did crash inside them - adding the depends entry made it looking a bit better i guess - not 100% sure but i think the effect is different and better.

I am currently wondering why funcaves deco is near the top of the world, stops and went back deep below the world where the funcaves are supposed to spawn. But this is kinda out of topic here, i am sure i will figure this out - if not, i may write u a pm. :)

Thanks again for your work and help!
Illuna Minetestservers | Mastodon | [ matrix ] | I may host you a Minetestserver, just contact me.
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1063
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by texmex » Thu Mar 30, 2017 17:41

I've investigated the mod a bit in order to see if it could work on my server. It is quite impressive! I was wondering if there's a way to not cut off the caves and veins from the regular mapgen, but have them more integrated into each other?
+ Spoiler
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1274
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by duane » Fri Mar 31, 2017 00:30

texmex wrote:I've investigated the mod a bit in order to see if it could work on my server. It is quite impressive! I was wondering if there's a way to not cut off the caves and veins from the regular mapgen, but have them more integrated into each other?
+ Spoiler


It's not only possible, it's easy... as long as you don't generate water or lava in your stock mapgen caves. The way the mapgen creates them leaves big balls of water/lava floating in the air in any space a lua mapgen creates afterward. I've never been able to come up with an adequate solution to this in either a mod or a change to the C code or any combination of them. That's why I don't use the stock mapgen caves.

I took this screenshot immediately upon entering Caina, so it happens a lot. In case this doesn't bother you, I added a switch to enable integration. This will work with lua caves of course, as long as you put the cave mod's name in the depends.txt for underworlds. Fun caves doesn't work that way at the moment, because I haven't figured out where the cave decorations should end.

Image
Attachments
t.jpg
(236.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2546
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: [mod] Underworlds [underworlds]

by TumeniNodes » Fri Mar 31, 2017 04:43

gratuitous Nyan_Cat noted sir...
Are you part of the rebellion? :P
I'm not your buddy, guy...
 

Next

Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest