[mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

[mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by D00Med » Post

This mod adds flowerpots which can hold flowers, grass, leaves and cactus.
Just place a pot and right click it to add a flower, right click again to remove the flower.

craft a flowerpot like this:
clay, dirt, clay
_, clay, _

Screenshot:
Image

License of code: LGPL 2.1+ Created by D00Med and toby109tt(aka tobyplowy)
License of textures: CC BY-SA 3.0 UNPORTED. Created by toby109tt (excluding the contents of the pot, ie: flower textures etc.)

Dependancies: default, flowers

Download: https://github.com/D00Med/flowerpots/archive/master.zip
Github: https://github.com/D00Med/flowerpots

Update:
>Removed non-existent plants
>Added bush sapling support
>Added a texture mask
Last edited by D00Med on Fri Jan 05, 2018 22:16, edited 1 time in total.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

toby109tt
Member
Posts: 649
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
In-game: toby

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by toby109tt » Post

Yay first XD

User avatar
GreenXenith
Member
Posts: 1335
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenXenith
In-game: GreenXenith
Location: The singularity
Contact:

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by GreenXenith » Post

Y▹uTube | Mods | Patre●n | Twitter | Minetest Discord | GreenXenith#3232

Hey, you. You're finally awake.
You were trying to view their profile, right? Found the rest of their signature, same as us, and that guest over there.

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by D00Med » Post

Lol, that's a funny coincidence xD
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

toby109tt
Member
Posts: 649
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
In-game: toby

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by toby109tt » Post

D00Med wrote:Lol, that's a funny coincidence xD
Yeh it is XD (I guess people really like flowerpots)

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by burli » Post

We definitely need more flowers

toby109tt
Member
Posts: 649
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
In-game: toby

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by toby109tt » Post

burli wrote:We definitely need more flowers
Do you mean in the mod or in minetest game?

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by burli » Post

Both

toby109tt
Member
Posts: 649
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
In-game: toby

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by toby109tt » Post

burli wrote:Both
OK I will try

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by Chibi ghost » Post

removed

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by sofar » Post

Yes, I'm well aware that this mod came out at roughly the same time. One would wonder how they're different!

This mod uses a single texture for the mesh node, which means that if the player uses a texture pack, they will only ever see the standard textures, not the texture pack textures. It also means a lot more textures need to be sent to the client (one for the normal plant texture, and one for the flowerpot version of the plant).

The choice of 3 meshes (empty pot, cube plant in pot, normal plant in pot) is defensible. 3 meshes isn't so bad.

My implementation uses a single mesh but can handle texture packs, so it will be a bit friendlier on servers (quicker load times).

Still, this isn't such a bad implementation. Cheers.

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4128
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by Wuzzy » Post

I would love to include this mod in MineClone 2, as I still need a functionioning flower pot. My current flower pot is broken. This mod looks promising as it supports both plantlike flowers as well as cuboid plants (like the cactus). I need both. So it's very good this mod gives me both.

Sadly, the texture chaos makes it very hard for me to actually adapt it for MineClone 2. It forces me to manually redraw all textures for each plant. The task is hardened by the fact that MineClone 2 still uses 32×32 textures, rather than 16×16. As sofar already said, the large amount of textures is pretty unflexible. Especially since many textures are mostly just repetitions of the original texture with the flower image pasted into it.
Would it be possible to use the texture modifiers to do this automatically? If you can find a way to reduce the amount of textures required, that would be greatly appreciated.

I suggest to add support for all saplings, bush leaves and bush stems. I would remove the normal leaves from the trees as you can hardly pot tree leaves. ;-)
I would also remove the potted plants from being visible in creative inventory, so that only the empty pot remains. The names of the potted plants also look ugly/ungrammatical (Hint: Try minetest.registered_items[itemname].description).
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by D00Med » Post

I did plan on doing that, but if I use an overlay, then the textures will stretch completely over one and other won't they?
I'm definitely removing the pots from the creative inventory.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by sofar » Post

Wuzzy wrote:I would love to include this mod in MineClone 2, as I still need a functionioning flower pot. My current flower pot is broken. This mod looks promising as it supports both plantlike flowers as well as cuboid plants (like the cactus). I need both. So it's very good this mod gives me both.
This wouldn't be too hard to add to my version, and you'd avoid the texture problem altogether. It's just another material.

toby109tt
Member
Posts: 649
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
In-game: toby

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by toby109tt » Post

Wuzzy wrote:I would love to include this mod in MineClone 2, as I still need a functionioning flower pot. My current flower pot is broken. This mod looks promising as it supports both plantlike flowers as well as cuboid plants (like the cactus). I need both. So it's very good this mod gives me both.

Sadly, the texture chaos makes it very hard for me to actually adapt it for MineClone 2. It forces me to manually redraw all textures for each plant. The task is hardened by the fact that MineClone 2 still uses 32×32 textures, rather than 16×16. As sofar already said, the large amount of textures is pretty unflexible. Especially since many textures are mostly just repetitions of the original texture with the flower image pasted into it.
Would it be possible to use the texture modifiers to do this automatically? If you can find a way to reduce the amount of textures required, that would be greatly appreciated.

I suggest to add support for all saplings, bush leaves and bush stems. I would remove the normal leaves from the trees as you can hardly pot tree leaves. ;-)
I would also remove the potted plants from being visible in creative inventory, so that only the empty pot remains. The names of the potted plants also look ugly/ungrammatical (Hint: Try minetest.registered_items[itemname].description).
It's being worked on thanks for the feed back

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by Chibi ghost » Post

you know what would be nice some large outdoor planters that are decorative
that work with the bigger plant life like ferns and bushes and such
I've seen one that is okayish but is very plain
but the best thing I found that sort of works is the cauldron from xdecor
but something like this would work with the minetest look
Image
Image
Image
sorry if I seem a little demanding feel free to ignore me

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by D00Med » Post

Hmm this is a nice idea! thankyou
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by D00Med » Post

Update: Only the empty pot is in the creative inventory.
plantlike nodes, such as flowers, don't need their own pot texture anymore.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

i like this flowerpot mod too :)

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4128
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by Wuzzy » Post

Great! Thanks for the improvements so far. The texture fix was very important IMO, it is really annoying to juggle with lots of redundant textures.
I have just included this mod in my subgame, MineClone 2, and modified it for my needs (mod name: “mcl_flowerpots”).
It was incredibly easy to modify this mod and I managed to add all flower pots I need:
Image
Yay!

For your information (to improve your own mod):

This mod has still some minor quality issues. I have some minor suggestions:
- Remove the explicit inventory/wield image definition for filled flower pots. Minetest makes a nice 3D image instead, which is also easier to distinguish
- The filled flower pots should have better names (Good: “Flower Pot with Yellow Dandelion”. Bad: “Flower Pot with flowers:dandeliion_yellow”). The easiest fix would be to just define the full description for each node seperately. This will also make a later possible integration with intllib easier
- Arggghh! minetest.env is VERY old legacy stuff and makes my eyes bleed. ;-)
- Flower pots with flower should drop empty flower pot and it's flower, not themselves (otherwise there's a quick inventory clutter again, with lots of different flower pots)

Hint:

Code: Select all

         drop = {
                 items = {
                         { items = { "mcl_flowerpots:flower_pot", flower_node } }
                 }
         },   
- Consider making the flower pot nodes attached nodes (attached_node=1)
- When you place a flower into a flower pot in Creative Mode, it gets used up
- Remove the “stone” group. This group is only intended for full-sized cubes made out of stone (Cobblestone, Stone, Desert Stone, Stone Brick, Stone Block, etc). This is clearly not the case for flower pots. This group is used in Minetest Game as a crafting group to craft e.g. furnaces or stone tools. I think the player should NOT be able to craft a furnace out of 8 flower pots. XD

Apart from all this, this mod seems pretty fine. Good work you made here. I have fixed these issues on my subgame already and this mod was exactly what I needed.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by D00Med » Post

Thankyou for all the suggestions, I will add them in.
I'm glad it suits your needs. good luck with your subgame too
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by Chibi ghost » Post

wow your pots have improved a lot I love how the plants look now

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

Wuzzy wrote:I think the player should NOT be able to craft a furnace out of 8 flower pots.
i don't want to see the face of their furnace after such a non-sense. LOL

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by D00Med » Post

Updated: I've made the changes that Wuzzy suggested (thanks Wuzzy)
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4128
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [mod] flowerpots [flowerpots]

by Wuzzy » Post

Bravo!
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davidthecreator, Google [Bot] and 8 guests