[offtopic] Graphics card?

Post Reply
mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

[offtopic] Graphics card?

by mauvebic » Post

I know its one of the cheapest cards i can get, but considering the P4 still uses (integrated) radeon xpress 200, would this be a step up? i know next to nothing about graphics card and drivers, i tend to avoid those discussions on linux forums, though the linux users here are friendlier, so i thought id ask :P

http://www.staples.ca/ENG/Catalog/cat_s ... xedcode=WW

User avatar
ExcessZues
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 14:33

by ExcessZues » Post

Isn't this a forum about Minetest? Not graphics cards?

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

can we have you on mastermind? special subject: the bleeding obvious. (theres a reason i put *offtopic* in the title...)

Im asking here because this is a forum of gamers, and i want a card thats going to make minetest look as good on my old box as it does on the new laptop.
Last edited by mauvebic on Mon Apr 23, 2012 16:31, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4554
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

To be fair, a graphics card is necessary to run minetest in some cases :-)

That said, that's a link to a site that demands a Canadian postal code, so some of us can't see what's at the other end of the link.

I use a Radeon HD6870 (1GB, PCI express) on a fairly beefy machine myself (AMD Phenom II x6 1055T, 4GB RAM, 60GB SSD)
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
Ragnarok
Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:56
Location: Poland
Contact:

by Ragnarok » Post

IMHO GT210 is a bad idea. 9600 GT will be better (and slightly more expensive). Even cheap Radeon 4670 will be better:

Image

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

this one is a little more advance for a negligable price difference: http://www.staples.ca/ENG/Catalog/cat_s ... xedcode=WW

though im not sure my old tower has the right connectors. (emachines h5048A). I dont plan on trying to play WoW with it thought, its more so i can play minetest on one side of the screen while i got cheers/frasier/startrek playing on the other side of the screen. Right now my integrated graphics takes a 500mb chunk out of my 2gigs ram, and the whole system locks up sometimes :S

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4554
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

mauvebic: what postal code should one use in order to view that site?
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

J6E 2Y2

the first one is listed at 55$ canadian.
second one 79$ canadian.

though if i get the first one, ill have just enough left over to get a mouse for the laptop (minetest +trackpad = self-immolation)

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4554
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Ragnarok: What, no minetest benchmark? ;)
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

minetest running by itself on the P4 will average 23-27 FPS lol

if im watching ST voyager (BR quality) the FPS drops to 12 :S
Last edited by mauvebic on Mon Apr 23, 2012 17:06, edited 1 time in total.

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

50 FPS with the cheap one aint bad :-)

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4554
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

On the aforementioned system, I'll get 55 to 60 fps (beyond that I think it's hitting an internal limiter) with the default textures, and 20-30 fps with my high-resolution ones.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

heck i thought 30 was good until this afternoon :P i read alot of bad reviews about this card overheating, but my sensors say 52c so those reviewers were probably trying to play intensive games with a low end card (which, i wouldnt do lol) - honestly, ive played simcity 1,2,3,4 and sim societies, and i always thought 2-3 were the best. graphics got better but gameplay got so much worse. i didnt really see the point until i started watching BR videos.
Last edited by mauvebic on Tue Apr 24, 2012 00:15, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4554
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

A lot of the frame rate also depends on how much is being displayed. If you turn your viewing range up or down (+ and - on the keyboard), that will lower or raise the rate accordingly. Snap it to maximum with the 'r' key on a wide view and watch your frame rate plummet. :-)

I keep my range set at around 170, fog enabled.
Last edited by VanessaE on Tue Apr 24, 2012 00:37, edited 1 time in total.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

go figure, i didnt even know you could do that -/+ thing lol

though, it was prolly watching tv and having 5-6x gimp windows open that was killing my performance lol
Last edited by mauvebic on Tue Apr 24, 2012 02:27, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Never, EVER buy an AMD card, regardless of the operating system you use, because of shitty drivers (this is not restricted to Linux, applies to Windows too).

Tip: disable fog and clouds, it slightly improves performance and helps seeing further.

EDIT: lol @ the antispam.
Last edited by Calinou on Tue Apr 24, 2012 08:38, edited 1 time in total.

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

actually w/ the radeon xpress200 fog didnt affect my fps, it hovered around the same levels.

I had noticed in the last couple of weeks though my display had this yellowish tint, and i wasnt able to boot up without acpi=off for the past six months...the colors are much more defined w/ the new card, no tints, no tearing, no artifacts. Im pretty sure the old card was on it's last leg lol

User avatar
Death Dealer
Member
Posts: 1379
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 18:46
Location: Limbo
Contact:

by Death Dealer » Post

mauvebic wrote:actually w/ the radeon xpress200 fog didnt affect my fps, it hovered around the same levels.

I had noticed in the last couple of weeks though my display had this yellowish tint, and i wasnt able to boot up without acpi=off for the past six months...the colors are much more defined w/ the new card, no tints, no tearing, no artifacts. Im pretty sure the old card was on it's last leg lol
Have you tryed to renew the thermal paste on the GPU's heat sink? I advise you use arctic silver 5.
Keep calm and code python^_^

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

the heatsink also needs to be change, probably the last upgrade on this box, after that, theres just the casing and motherboard that are still original lol

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests