[Game] Hamlet's Quest "Valhalleluja" [3.1.2] [hamlets_quest]

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

[Game] Hamlet's Quest "Valhalleluja" [3.1.2] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Image

Nanowar Of Steel - Valhalleluja (video)

A survival, medieval themed game.

Screenshots:
+ Spoiler
Main game features:
+ Spoiler
About the underground worlds:
An illustrated guide about the Dwarf Fortress' Style Caverns


Based on: Minetest Game v.5.2.0

Source code's license: EUPL v1.2 or later*
Media (Textures, Models, Sounds) license: CC BY-SA v4.0 or later. *

* Except where differently stated, check the licenses in each subfolder.


Downloads:
Archives: .zip .tar.gz
Source code: Codeberg
Changelog: link
Credits: link


Hamlet's Quest main menu's background music
Archive: .zip
6.28MB, latest update: 2020-06-18
Unzip the archive, place the sounds folder in ../minetest/


Hamlet's Quest showcase map
Archive: .zip
5.2MB, latest update: 2020-06-23
See below how to install it.


Suggested texture pack
John Smith Texture Pack


Game Installation
Unzip the archive, rename the folder to hamlets_quest and place it in
../minetest/games/

GNU+Linux: If you use a system-wide installation place it in
~/.minetest/games/

For further information or help see:
https://wiki.minetest.net/Games#Installing_games


Map Installation
Unzip the archive, place the map's folder in
../minetest/worlds/
(create it if it doesn't exist)

GNU+Linux: If you use a system-wide installation place it in
~/.minetest/worlds/
(create it if it doesn't exist)

For further information or help see:
https://wiki.minetest.net/Maps#Installation
Attachments
screenshot2.png
(330.96 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot3.png
(395.04 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot.png
(257.45 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Hamlet on Mon Jul 13, 2020 13:48, edited 66 times in total.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7494
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest Game Falling Nodes [minetest_game]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

i agree, a simple mod with some override_item:"default:block" could do it.

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2542
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest Game Falling Nodes [minetest_game]

by Linuxdirk » Post

Untested (i.e. made up out of the air while sitting in the office and have nothing to do except waiting for customers to call), but made the same as mod.

https://nopaste.me/view/57119190

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Minetest Game Falling Nodes [minetest_game]

by Hamlet » Post

@ Ruggero, azekill_DIABLO, Linuxdirk

This is a subgame work in progress, I will add/remove things along the way, this is just the first step.

I know that there's already a mod doing that but I've chosen to use the game's built-in falling_node instead of adding unneeded code for simplicity's sake; i.e. if the game itself can do that, there's no need to reinvent the wheel.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2542
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest Game Falling Nodes [minetest_game]

by Linuxdirk » Post

Hamlet wrote:I know that there's already a mod doing that but I've chosen to use the game's built-in falling_node instead of adding unneeded code for simplicity's sake; i.e. if the game itself can do that, there's no need to reinvent the wheel.
There is nothing that was re-invented or unneeded. Just look at the pastebin link. That is everything that is needed in order to achieve what your fork currently does.

Nothing was added nor removed. All it does is altering the currently existing node definitions. You can do that with all of the nodes and items in the game like that.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7494
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Game] Minetest Game Falling Nodes [minetest_game]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

Linuxdirk wrote:
Hamlet wrote:I know that there's already a mod doing that but I've chosen to use the game's built-in falling_node instead of adding unneeded code for simplicity's sake; i.e. if the game itself can do that, there's no need to reinvent the wheel.
There is nothing that was re-invented or unneeded. Just look at the pastebin link. That is everything that is needed in order to achieve what your fork currently does.

Nothing was added nor removed. All it does is altering the currently existing node definitions. You can do that with all of the nodes and items in the game like that.
I agree with that, but let him do some of his stuff and work on it. He is new, every1 started like that!

User avatar
Phoenixflo44
Member
Posts: 639
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 15:01
In-game: EvilPhoenix
Location: Behind my PC, in Germany

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest

by Phoenixflo44 » Post

cool game
+ Spoiler

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest

by Hamlet » Post

Being halfway to the first stable release I've thought to write you a... Teaser:

"To be or not to be?"

You used to think that you were being, but suddenly you have realized that you were not because real people have real needs while you did not ever since you can remember; for a turn of luck - wether good or bad, Fate will tell - now you do have real needs. Being alive can be a pain, but how can you tell what is a pleasure if you did not ever know what pain is? That is the whole point.

Being born in an age were gunpowder and electricity are yet to come, you need to roll up your sleeves and prove your muscles are worth for what they have been given you to.

Standing in a field of grass the wind blows as the wild beasts roam minding their own businesses - you are blessed, for all you have to do is to take what Mother Nature has readied for you to just to take it... unlike Town Folks you will never suffer the lack of a bed where to sleep, a roof under which rest, food to eat.

But every rose has its thorns: as the cat eats the mouse, there are some thinking that you could be a good meal - have no fear, as powerful as they could be, you are a step above them regarding intelligence: that's the ace up your sleeve, use it and it won't fail you.

And remember: if life on the above world seems though, think again - the Abyss is just a few meters under your feet. You might think that your arm is strong and your luck will protect you... it might be, or it might be not. Deep under the ground lies an hostile realm, but as fearsome and harsh it can be, well, its wonders are worth the journey.

Prepare yourself, for the Underworld Kings and Overlords have earned their titles, now it's your turn to prove yourself being worth of being called an Hero - or if you just want the loot... well, wealth beyond your wildest dreams... beyond any measure.

To be or not to be? That is the quest.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [0.1] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Released version 0.1.0
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [0.1] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

I've been testing countless mods for the next release, keeping an eye on the new ones being developed. I've decided to drop some mods related to the map, because I want to keep my subgame as light as possible - i.e. "craptop-friendly".

If you are curious to have a peek at what's coming next, this is a not-yet-complete list of the chosen mods:
At the moment I am focusing on the mods that add nodes, I've already chosen Darkage (Addi's fork), and Castle++ - the goal is to give to the builders out there a fair range of medieval-style nodes to choose from.
If you know any other mods that are about medieval nodes and furniture, let me know! :)
Last edited by Hamlet on Sun Sep 17, 2017 18:29, edited 1 time in total.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7494
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [0.1] [hamlets_quest]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

i'll be hated once more...

"Why not put it on Github?"

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [0.1] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:i'll be hated once more...

"Why not put it on Github?"
It's a very work in progress: actually it is quite stale because I'm focusing on developing my mods - that will be in the next release - as well as testing the next release locally to tune it, choosing mods, testing, discarding, etc.; the next release will be on GitHub for sure, this beta release isn't really worth it.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7494
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [0.1] [hamlets_quest]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

okay, cool :)

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Version 1.0.0 released

Do not use it with the previous version's worlds, there is no retrocompatibility.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Stix » Post

screenshots please?
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Stix wrote:screenshots please?
Sure, here:

Image
A mese monster (Mobs redo mod) lurking in my mines, the lamps are from the Darkage (Addi's fork) mod.

Image
Fighting while using the Hardtorch mod's oil lamp (hold in the left hand where there's the yellow halo. - This feature will be in the next release.

Image
Some of the extra ores from the Real Ores mod.

1/5
Attachments
real_ores.jpg
(81.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet
fight.jpg
(49.05 KiB) Not downloaded yet
mese_monster.jpg
(63.75 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Hamlet on Sun Sep 17, 2017 18:30, edited 2 times in total.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Image
A fountain (Thirsty mod) placed in a corridor to drink while mining.

Image
My tower, still under construction.

Image
My tower's drawbridge as seen from the moat, note the arches from the pkarks mod.

2/5
Attachments
moat_drawbridge.jpg
(84.25 KiB) Not downloaded yet
tower.jpg
(84.54 KiB) Not downloaded yet
mines_fountain.jpg
(48.92 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Image
One of my tower's rooms, note the chalked walls, the arches used both for the ceiling and for the balconies' door passages.

Image
Another tower's room, note the stained glass (Darkage mod [Addi's fork]) used for the window.

Image
The anvil (Anvil mod) while used to repair my sword.

3/5
Attachments
anvil_usage.jpg
(72.14 KiB) Not downloaded yet
stained_glass.jpg
(65.99 KiB) Not downloaded yet
room_one.jpg
(88.56 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Hamlet on Sun Sep 17, 2017 18:31, edited 1 time in total.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Image
The armour stand (3D armor mod) with my steel armour on it.

Image
The armour system, in the inventory menu.

Image
The backpack (Backpacks mod) placed on the ground.

4/5
Attachments
leather_backpack.jpg
(74.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet
armour_system.jpg
(57.51 KiB) Not downloaded yet
armour_stand.jpg
(73.51 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Hamlet on Mon Sep 04, 2017 13:26, edited 1 time in total.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Image
The backpacks' contents, in the inventory menu's top.

Image
The chalk cave (Darkage mod [Addi's fork]), used to craft chalked bricks.

Image
Some growing pines (Real Trees mod) - the near ones - with full grown pines on the background.

5/5
Attachments
growing_pines.jpg
(137.41 KiB) Not downloaded yet
chalk_cave.jpg
(103.63 KiB) Not downloaded yet
backpack_contents.jpg
(51.51 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Hamlet on Sun Sep 17, 2017 18:32, edited 1 time in total.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Stix » Post

looks nice, but the hudbars aren't aranged very neatly.
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Stix wrote:looks nice, but the hudbars aren't aranged very neatly.
Consider that a couple aren't being shown, one being the suffocation bar and the other being the sprint bar - W+E = run - placed above the hydration bar.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Stix » Post

i think it would look nicer if the layout was like this: leftside: bottom: healthbar, middle: armorbar, top: suffocationbar.
rightside: bottom: hungerbar, middle: thirstbar, top: sprintbar.
EDIT: it would also be nice if you made the armorbar always shown even when you have no armor on, it would just say 0%.
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7494
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

Great work hamlet, it looks like a complete subgame!

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Game] Hamlet's Quest [1.0.0] [hamlets_quest]

by Hamlet » Post

Stix wrote:i think it would look nicer if the layout was like this: leftside: bottom: healthbar, middle: armorbar, top: suffocationbar.
rightside: bottom: hungerbar, middle: thirstbar, top: sprintbar.
EDIT: it would also be nice if you made the armorbar always shown even when you have no armor on, it would just say 0%.
I like your idea, I will try to sort them that way.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests