mobs redo 2 different texturs for 1model without overlays?

User avatar
22i
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 18:52
GitHub: 22i

mobs redo 2 different texturs for 1model without overlays?

by 22i » Fri Aug 11, 2017 19:21

use case for more textures per model - if all the mobs have same wings texture then it would be wise to use same texture for all of them instead of modifying every mob texture to add the same wing texture.

Many mobs would benefit from this: mooshroom - shroom texture, enderman - holding stuff, horse - armour_chest_saddle, llama - decorations, skeleton - bow, vindicator - axe, vex - sword also all the future mobs

For this i have made a new simple blender model made out of two cubes that uses two different textures the lower cube uses the 64x32 Image amc_2.png blue squid texture the top cube uses the 16x16 Image amc_1.png red texture you can grab it in this post attachements

Image

you can test the 2 textures test model by getting amc https://github.com/22i/amc and mobs redo https://github.com/tenplus1/mobs_redo and post the solution here

to spawn the model in minetest just search in creative inventory for 2 textures test spawn egg

Something needs to be changed in the textures line https://github.com/22i/amc/blob/master/init.lua#L2929

in case you need to do changes to the blender model dont forget to
double press A to select both cubes and CTRL-J to join both objects together - export using https://github.com/minetest/B3Dexport

https://github.com/22i/amc/issues/18#is ... -321768646
Attachments
2texturetest.zip
test blender model
(80.34 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
 

User avatar
Christian9
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 20:29
Location: Hell Creek
In-game: Christian9

Re: mobs redo 2 different texturs for 1model without overlay

by Christian9 » Sat Aug 19, 2017 04:28

Are they both merged into one object in blender? If so disconnect them, if not then do something like this

Code: Select all
   textures = {
      {"T1.png"},
      {"T2.png"},


While Exporting you should have both of the objects selected. Hope this helps!
 

User avatar
22i
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 18:52
GitHub: 22i

Re: mobs redo 2 different texturs for 1model without overlay

by 22i » Sun Aug 20, 2017 19:15

its not merged into one object in blender. Did you get it to work? i tried to export while having both cubes separated and selected. Then used the textures = {{"amc_1.png"}, {"amc_2.png"}} then i tested it and it failed it randomly chooses between first and second texture and it does not show them both at the same time correctly.

just remembered the slimes mobs by jordan4ibanez they use multiple textures per mob https://github.com/jordan4ibanez/Slimes ... r/init.lua

https://github.com/jordan4ibanez/Slimes

and slimes in open ai https://github.com/jordan4ibanez/open_ai
 

User avatar
22i
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 18:52
GitHub: 22i

Re: mobs redo 2 different texturs for 1model without overlay

by 22i » Mon Aug 21, 2017 15:50

it worked! i needed to do what you said not join both cubes together, select both cubes and export. For textures line i used:

textures = {"amc_2.png", "amc_1.png"},
 


Return to Modding Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest