[Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 1773
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: You wouldn't believe me
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf or Somebody

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

by Lone_Wolf » Fri May 18, 2018 00:24

Wuzzy wrote:Note that anything outside the world directory is taboo, this is a restriction dictated by Minetest's mod security system.
And I don't plan to violate that, I don't want my mod to be able to write on any directory.

The only leeway I might have is changing the directory inside the world directory, but this doesn't seem too helpful.

Maybe this should first be discussed with Minetest developers, the mod security system only allows us to write into a very few specific locations.

Please tell me your specific use case for this feature, and how you would use it. Maybe I'll understand your motivation then.

I'm using this mod to create schematics for a mod that adds items which you can use to instantly build saved structures (Right-click the ground with the item and it spawns the building). Right now I have to save the schematic, pause Minetest, and drag the schematic file into my mod.
It won't make a very large difference if you did allow me to just set the file destination to my mod. But it would be useful. My current method works
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

by Wuzzy » Fri May 18, 2018 01:40

Yeah, this is writing into a foreign mod directory. Sorry, this is a no-go area.
My projects: MineClone 2. Hades Revisited. Help modpack. A ton of other mods, see here.
 

zing269
Member
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 19:10

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

by zing269 » Fri May 18, 2018 02:33

Could both mods share a directory in the world directory?
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

by Wuzzy » Fri May 18, 2018 02:53

Yes, but only if they are in the same world.
My projects: MineClone 2. Hades Revisited. Help modpack. A ton of other mods, see here.
 

Previous

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests