[Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

User avatar
csirolli
Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 21:46
Location: Florida, USA
GitHub: ChristianSirolli
IRC: CSirolli
In-game: CSirolli

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by csirolli » Fri Jun 08, 2018 05:19

For the volcanoes, take a look at these mods: [magma_conduits] & [volcano]. I imagine you can do much better than these, but they are some neat ideas.

I was playing around with it and found this:
screenshot_20180607_115807.png
(296.17 KiB) Not downloaded yet


I don't know about cacti in snow.
Jesus is the only Way to heaven, the only saving Truth, and the only Life that is worth living.
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Fri Jun 08, 2018 06:42

csirolli wrote:I don't know about cacti in snow.


Hmmm... something strange is going on there. That shouldn't exist. At all. Are you running other plant mods, weird settings, anything??

mg_tectonic has it's own plant generation... my cactus looks nothing like that.

I haven't properly tested this in 0.4.17... maybe default is kicking in... which will make a mess of it... arghh!

Have you seen scattered ores (like in default), or other default trees?

I'm going to have to test this.
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Fri Jun 08, 2018 08:20

Okay... I have investigated.

It seems the fix sometimes works... and sometimes produces strange effects (possibly: turning 2d noise into 3d? Adding default veg. Allowing strata combos that should never happen... But not everywhere!)

I have no idea what is going on with that so...

I have undone this "fix".

I'm not sure what the longterm solution to the issue is, but there is an easier way to get it to work in 0.4.17 (it works fine as far as I can tell):

settings>server/singleplayer>game>advanced>deprecated LUA api handling = legacy.

(This appears to be the default so most people don't need to worry. I will need to do further testing to make sure it really is working in 0.4.17... but it looks okay)
 

User avatar
csirolli
Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 21:46
Location: Florida, USA
GitHub: ChristianSirolli
IRC: CSirolli
In-game: CSirolli

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by csirolli » Fri Jun 08, 2018 13:36

I wonder if there is a way to detect the version. If it is 0.4.17 then use the fix; if not, then use the original line. I have seen the default trees throughout, not sure about the ores. So far the only thing I have found is mese and coal (mese being in that one starting island and coal being found underneath the surface in the stone layer above the water). As far as I am aware, I don't have any plant mods except the MineTest game mods enabled.
Jesus is the only Way to heaven, the only saving Truth, and the only Life that is worth living.
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Sat Jun 09, 2018 04:18

csirolli wrote:I wonder if there is a way to detect the version. If it is 0.4.17 then use the fix; if not, then use the original line.


Sadly this was happening to me in 0.4.17!

The fix mangles it for both versions of Minetest.

The issue is bizarre though. On the same map, some places are perfect, others are slightly warped, and some... got put through a blender.

Regarding trees and ores etc, you probably need to know the map like I do to be able to tell when things are going horrendously wrong!

Fortunately mg_tectonic can be made to run in 0.4.17 (via the settings, which are correct by default). Still need to test it fully... but it does look okay.
 

User avatar
csirolli
Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 21:46
Location: Florida, USA
GitHub: ChristianSirolli
IRC: CSirolli
In-game: CSirolli

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by csirolli » Sat Jun 09, 2018 05:42

FYI, rubenwardy said that there will be a 0.4.17.1 that addresses this issue and fixes it. So shouldn't have to worry about supporting 0.4.17, just 0.4.17.1. I think it will only have that one fix, I don't know of any other bugs that are fixed in that supposed version. Hopefully this is really going to happen.
Jesus is the only Way to heaven, the only saving Truth, and the only Life that is worth living.
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Sat Jun 09, 2018 07:04

This screenshot was taken in Minetest 0.4.17. I've given it a better test. Everything appears to be working fine, as long as the settings mentioned previously haven't been fiddled with.

Image

To be honest this whole bug has got me confused. But it works! And as long as I don't have to overhaul everything at some point I'm happy. :-)
Attachments
mgtect0417.jpeg
(324.21 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Sat Jun 30, 2018 23:25

The question of how you would turn mg_tectonic into one giant mountain has come up on another thread. I think it should be possible... (but we wont know until we try!).

I'm not planning to do this myself, I provide the information for anyone who wants to try.

+ How to turn mg_tectonic into mg_megamountain
 

User avatar
Hume2
Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
Location: Czech Republic
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Hume2 » Sun Jul 01, 2018 14:55

Nice mapgen. I like your idea of generating ores in huge clusters. It's quite realistic. Have you considered changing the Minetest's source to run faster? Can there be any options those reduce the quality and increase the speed?

I found that lighting is glitchy in some areas. Look at my screenshot. Also are these caves intended behaviour? They don't look bad though.
Attachments
screenshot_20180701_163802.jpg
(166.83 KiB) Not downloaded yet
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Mon Jul 02, 2018 00:01

Hume2 wrote:Nice mapgen...


Thank you

Hume2 wrote:Have you considered changing the Minetest's source to run faster? Can there be any options those reduce the quality and increase the speed?


I'm not sure what you mean???

As far as any technical questions go remember:
1) this is my first mapgen!
2) I taught myself how to code by making Minetest mods. This is already at the limits of my abilities!

(On that note: If people want this map to reach it's full potential it should probably be taken over by someone with better coding skills than I!)

Hume2 wrote:I found that lighting is glitchy in some areas.


If you mean occassional dark spots on the ground, or sunlight inside caves, then... yeah... those are known minor bugs that I don't know how to fix.

Hume2 wrote: Look at my screenshot. Also are these caves intended behaviour? They don't look bad though.


I've never found any that extreme! But... I guess that's normal. You shouldn't be getting this everywhere though... I see you are by the river, that would cut into the landscape and expose things like that.
 

User avatar
Hume2
Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
Location: Czech Republic
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Hume2 » Mon Jul 02, 2018 08:18

Dokimi wrote:I'm not sure what you mean???

As far as any technical questions go remember:
1) this is my first mapgen!
2) I taught myself how to code by making Minetest mods. This is already at the limits of my abilities!

You are doing well. I quickly analysed your code and I found that there's not much to change in order to increase speed. Only if I wanted faster generation, I could reduce octaves in perlin noises. Each mod can have its options those can be configured in Minetest. This might be one option. I thought that modifying the Minetest source might increase the speed. It could be an option among v5, v6, v7, flat…. Now I don't know how much would this be possible. I'm not telling you to do anything of what I've just said, I'm just saying what are the possibilities.
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.
 

User avatar
SAMIAMNOT
Member
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 00:51
Location: Desert
In-game: notanewbie

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by SAMIAMNOT » Sat Aug 04, 2018 15:51

Why does this game always spawn on a snowy island? Every single time, even why making a new world.
I test mines.
 

slemon
Member
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 03:56
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by texmex » Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:41

Btw, your mapgen is beautiful and much appreciated.

I have a question though. Are nodes associated with hot biomes supposed to mix with "cold" nodes? Take this screenshot for example. It's taken in the far SW corner of the map. You can see that snow nodes mix with rainforest littered dirt.
+ Spoiler
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Mon Sep 17, 2018 00:38

texmex wrote:Are nodes associated with hot biomes supposed to mix with "cold" nodes?


...from memory... I more or less ignored what they are "supposed" to be in default, and went by appearance. I was trying to keep it within the limits of the default set of nodes, but still have the variety this map needs (perhaps that's a limit that should be relaxed? It probably needs double the number of types of dirt etc).

texmex wrote:Have you considered porting this to C++ for greater performance?


Way beyond my abilities!

On that note...

I am looking for someone (or a team) to take over the development of mg_tectonic. There is a large pull request open on github (adding random lakes and things). Clearly people are interested in seeing this get taken further, and willing to do the work. But this has reached the limits of my abilities. Someone else needs to step up and take the challenge on!
 

munuc
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 06:17
In-game: munuc

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by munuc » Mon Dec 17, 2018 06:20

I've noticed that in 0.4.16 and 0.4.17 that the plant API isn't being accessed properly, and is being seen as a nil value. Does anyone have a solution for this?
 

FaceDeer
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 19:01
GitHub: FaceDeer

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by FaceDeer » Mon Dec 24, 2018 20:43

Oho, this looks right up my alley. I've mostly been focusing my mapgen efforts on the below-ground half of the world (I'm a few days away from releasing a massive rewrite of [dfcaverns] and some related mods) but a surface world like this to go along with it would be pretty awesome.

A little while back I found an old mod called "realtest" and pulled out all the mineral types from it for eventual reuse, creating the real_minerals repository. Since realtest used GLP 3.0 and I prefer the MIT license I plan to make "real minerals" into a very basic "here's a big pile of node types" library and do any real mapgen work with it in a different mod to prevent license cross-contamination, but I figured it might be useful to mg_tectonic as well. Since the eventual plans I have for real_minerals haven't really been started yet the mod is still a bit junky but if you're interested I can whip it into a more useful shape.

One idea I had in mind for real_minerals ores that would be simple to implement in mg_tectonic and perhaps improve on the need for genuinely mine-like mining operations was that I'd make ores drop an ore lump only a fraction of the time. If copper ore only drops a copper lump 1 out of 10 times, you can multiply the volume of a copper ore body by ten and not change game balance much. It'd perhaps make the player less likely to just mine everything out the moment they found it, leaving them with a billion copper bars and a depleted mine they'll never go back to, and instead mine out only as much as they need for whatever project they want and make a note to return to that location if they need more copper in the future.
 

markthesmeagol
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 13:15
GitHub: smeagolthellama

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by markthesmeagol » Sat Dec 29, 2018 20:49

I have tried this, and I would like to ask why there are small fountains of water next to the river (visible here
screenshot_20181229_223314.png
(635.28 KiB) Not downloaded yet
and here
screenshot_20181229_223335.png
(439.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet
).
Also, might it be possible to rewrite this in c++ (like valleys was) in order to be faster? At the moment, it is [it]realy[/it] slow (ok, I do have a bunch of other mods on at the same time, but still).

Excellent river by the way:
screenshot_20181229_224728.png
drat. the cloud got in the way
(433.25 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
voxelproof
Member
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 08:13
Location: Europe

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by voxelproof » Tue Jan 01, 2019 18:18

markthesmeagol wrote:Excellent river by the way:
screenshot_20181229_224728.png


River maybe is excellent, but the screenshot is annoyingly awful - imho you should try taking the same shot in daylight cause now it is not only frustratingly obscure, but doesn't show referenced feature as well.
>>>there is life beyond the Cube>>>
 

Previous

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests