[Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

User avatar
csirolli
Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 21:46
Location: Florida, USA
GitHub: ChristianSirolli
IRC: CSirolli
In-game: CSirolli

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by csirolli » Fri Jun 08, 2018 05:19

For the volcanoes, take a look at these mods: [magma_conduits] & [volcano]. I imagine you can do much better than these, but they are some neat ideas.

I was playing around with it and found this:
screenshot_20180607_115807.png
(296.17 KiB) Not downloaded yet


I don't know about cacti in snow.
Jesus is the only Way to heaven, the only saving Truth, and the only Life that is worth living.
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Fri Jun 08, 2018 06:42

csirolli wrote:I don't know about cacti in snow.


Hmmm... something strange is going on there. That shouldn't exist. At all. Are you running other plant mods, weird settings, anything??

mg_tectonic has it's own plant generation... my cactus looks nothing like that.

I haven't properly tested this in 0.4.17... maybe default is kicking in... which will make a mess of it... arghh!

Have you seen scattered ores (like in default), or other default trees?

I'm going to have to test this.
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Fri Jun 08, 2018 08:20

Okay... I have investigated.

It seems the fix sometimes works... and sometimes produces strange effects (possibly: turning 2d noise into 3d? Adding default veg. Allowing strata combos that should never happen... But not everywhere!)

I have no idea what is going on with that so...

I have undone this "fix".

I'm not sure what the longterm solution to the issue is, but there is an easier way to get it to work in 0.4.17 (it works fine as far as I can tell):

settings>server/singleplayer>game>advanced>deprecated LUA api handling = legacy.

(This appears to be the default so most people don't need to worry. I will need to do further testing to make sure it really is working in 0.4.17... but it looks okay)
 

User avatar
csirolli
Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 21:46
Location: Florida, USA
GitHub: ChristianSirolli
IRC: CSirolli
In-game: CSirolli

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by csirolli » Fri Jun 08, 2018 13:36

I wonder if there is a way to detect the version. If it is 0.4.17 then use the fix; if not, then use the original line. I have seen the default trees throughout, not sure about the ores. So far the only thing I have found is mese and coal (mese being in that one starting island and coal being found underneath the surface in the stone layer above the water). As far as I am aware, I don't have any plant mods except the MineTest game mods enabled.
Jesus is the only Way to heaven, the only saving Truth, and the only Life that is worth living.
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Sat Jun 09, 2018 04:18

csirolli wrote:I wonder if there is a way to detect the version. If it is 0.4.17 then use the fix; if not, then use the original line.


Sadly this was happening to me in 0.4.17!

The fix mangles it for both versions of Minetest.

The issue is bizarre though. On the same map, some places are perfect, others are slightly warped, and some... got put through a blender.

Regarding trees and ores etc, you probably need to know the map like I do to be able to tell when things are going horrendously wrong!

Fortunately mg_tectonic can be made to run in 0.4.17 (via the settings, which are correct by default). Still need to test it fully... but it does look okay.
 

User avatar
csirolli
Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 21:46
Location: Florida, USA
GitHub: ChristianSirolli
IRC: CSirolli
In-game: CSirolli

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by csirolli » Sat Jun 09, 2018 05:42

FYI, rubenwardy said that there will be a 0.4.17.1 that addresses this issue and fixes it. So shouldn't have to worry about supporting 0.4.17, just 0.4.17.1. I think it will only have that one fix, I don't know of any other bugs that are fixed in that supposed version. Hopefully this is really going to happen.
Jesus is the only Way to heaven, the only saving Truth, and the only Life that is worth living.
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Sat Jun 09, 2018 07:04

This screenshot was taken in Minetest 0.4.17. I've given it a better test. Everything appears to be working fine, as long as the settings mentioned previously haven't been fiddled with.

Image

To be honest this whole bug has got me confused. But it works! And as long as I don't have to overhaul everything at some point I'm happy. :-)
Attachments
mgtect0417.jpeg
(324.21 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Sat Jun 30, 2018 23:25

The question of how you would turn mg_tectonic into one giant mountain has come up on another thread. I think it should be possible... (but we wont know until we try!).

I'm not planning to do this myself, I provide the information for anyone who wants to try.

+ How to turn mg_tectonic into mg_megamountain
 

User avatar
Hume2
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Hume2 » Sun Jul 01, 2018 14:55

Nice mapgen. I like your idea of generating ores in huge clusters. It's quite realistic. Have you considered changing the Minetest's source to run faster? Can there be any options those reduce the quality and increase the speed?

I found that lighting is glitchy in some areas. Look at my screenshot. Also are these caves intended behaviour? They don't look bad though.
Attachments
screenshot_20180701_163802.jpg
(166.83 KiB) Not downloaded yet
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.
 

User avatar
Dokimi
Member
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 03:52
GitHub: DokimiCU

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Dokimi » Mon Jul 02, 2018 00:01

Hume2 wrote:Nice mapgen...


Thank you

Hume2 wrote:Have you considered changing the Minetest's source to run faster? Can there be any options those reduce the quality and increase the speed?


I'm not sure what you mean???

As far as any technical questions go remember:
1) this is my first mapgen!
2) I taught myself how to code by making Minetest mods. This is already at the limits of my abilities!

(On that note: If people want this map to reach it's full potential it should probably be taken over by someone with better coding skills than I!)

Hume2 wrote:I found that lighting is glitchy in some areas.


If you mean occassional dark spots on the ground, or sunlight inside caves, then... yeah... those are known minor bugs that I don't know how to fix.

Hume2 wrote: Look at my screenshot. Also are these caves intended behaviour? They don't look bad though.


I've never found any that extreme! But... I guess that's normal. You shouldn't be getting this everywhere though... I see you are by the river, that would cut into the landscape and expose things like that.
 

User avatar
Hume2
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by Hume2 » Mon Jul 02, 2018 08:18

Dokimi wrote:I'm not sure what you mean???

As far as any technical questions go remember:
1) this is my first mapgen!
2) I taught myself how to code by making Minetest mods. This is already at the limits of my abilities!

You are doing well. I quickly analysed your code and I found that there's not much to change in order to increase speed. Only if I wanted faster generation, I could reduce octaves in perlin noises. Each mod can have its options those can be configured in Minetest. This might be one option. I thought that modifying the Minetest source might increase the speed. It could be an option among v5, v6, v7, flat…. Now I don't know how much would this be possible. I'm not telling you to do anything of what I've just said, I'm just saying what are the possibilities.
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.
 

User avatar
SAMIAMNOT
Member
 
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 00:51
Location: Desert
In-game: notanewbie

Re: [Mod] Tectonic Map Generator [mg_tectonic]

by SAMIAMNOT » Sat Aug 04, 2018 15:51

Why does this game always spawn on a snowy island? Every single time, even why making a new world.
I test mines.
 

slemon
Member
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 03:56
 

Previous

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests