World resets itself

gmkwo
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 18:29

World resets itself

by gmkwo » Wed May 30, 2018 18:40

Hello,
a while ago (~1 month) I set up a minetest server for private use. Everything worked as expected. However recently the world seems to reset itself. It started with some blocks, now it seems the entire world is as it was in the very beginning.

Why does this happen and what can I do about it? Is that a server issue or some in-game mechanic I am not aware of? Any help is appreciated.

Thx, gmk
 

User avatar
PolySaken
Member
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 05:18
Location: djelibabi
GitHub: PolySaken-I-Am
In-game: PolySaken
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4478
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: World resets itself

by Krock » Fri Jun 01, 2018 06:40

This bug has been reported quite many times on the forums already. I also observed this issue when I ran a testing server on Windows for a few weeks, but that was years ago. At the beginning everything was fine, but then (I assume) the Antivirus kicked in and prevented from reading from and/or writing to the map.

Over-generation buy from 2014: https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/1397
LevelDB related: https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/1479

So I can only give the usual advice: Check that only Minetest accesses the map when minetestserver is running.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests