Texture Packs , How to get them to work ?!!!! HELP !! D:

Mootness
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 16:28
Location: UK - North East

Texture Packs , How to get them to work ?!!!! HELP !! D:

by Mootness » Sat Jun 09, 2012 16:42

Hello!
i have recently just downloaded Minetest and i am having problems getting Texture packs to work.

Im just wondering how on earth do you get texture packs to work?!?? ( i know were to get them from & how to download, its just the part after i need help on!)

I need some one PLEASE to post it in black & white and in simple terms on how to get the texture pack to work !!


As its seems no matter what i try / google nothing seems to work or make a difference :S , i dunno if what i am doing is wrong or if im just a noob.

but i would appreciate it very much is some one can help me to install ( even just one!!) texture pack. As i have a feeling if i keep messing about with the original content i will f****************** up the game D: !

Info on what to do next in simple terms after the texture pack has been download would be a good start!

Thank you :) x


Version i have ; minetest-0.4.dev-20120606
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sat Jun 09, 2012 16:52

Place the extracted textures into /minetest/textures/all
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada
 

Mootness
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 16:28
Location: UK - North East

by Mootness » Sat Jun 09, 2012 18:50

Jordach wrote:Place the extracted textures into /minetest/textures/all





So does that mean the actual folder of the texture pack? or copy & paste everything ( like the writing ) into were it says "Textures_here:
If you haven't modified the texture_path setting, you can copy textures of your texture packs into here. Folders are currently not supported.
"
yea...im having a thick day..

Screen shot or something please D: . as i think ive tried what you said before & didnt work :/
Usualy im fine with stuff like this, it just seems to be baffling me to death ¬_¬.

This is what is confusing me the most http://wiki.minetest.com/wiki/Installing_texture_packs , as i said ive tried various ways, and nothing changes :S X


But ty for your time! x
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada

by LolManKuba » Sat Jun 09, 2012 19:29

You do not put the zip file into it, this is what to do.

1)Open the zip file or tar.gz?
2) Copy all the .png files and paste into the folder that contains textures_here.txt
 

Mootness
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 16:28
Location: UK - North East

by Mootness » Sat Jun 09, 2012 19:34

LolManKuba wrote:You do not put the zip file into it, this is what to do.

1)Open the zip file or tar.gz?
2) Copy all the .png files and paste into the folder that contains textures_here.txt



WOOOOO it worked !!! hahah ty soooo much !! :D
Much love ! <3
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada
 

Mootness
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 16:28
Location: UK - North East

by Mootness » Sat Jun 09, 2012 20:06

LolManKuba wrote:Your welcome :)



Sorry to be a knob, but for Mods , is it done the same way ? x
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Sat Jun 09, 2012 20:07

well other than being a mods folder instead of textures yes i suppose it is
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 

Mootness
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 16:28
Location: UK - North East

by Mootness » Sat Jun 09, 2012 20:08

LAST Q I PROMISE!!


can you have more than 1 Mod / texture pack in use at once? or do you have to scrap the current one to be-able to use the one you want?
x
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada

by LolManKuba » Sat Jun 09, 2012 20:08

um kind've but this is how you do it
1) Go to the mods section, press minetest,
2) Where it says mods_here.txt put any of the mods there but do this.
i)when you open your mod, don't copy the zip file
ii) copy the folder that has the mod name and put it into the mod directory.
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada

by LolManKuba » Sat Jun 09, 2012 20:09

You can't have 2 texture packs on at the same time, only 1 sorry
but you can have 2+ mods at the same time
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Sat Jun 09, 2012 20:12

well that also runs toward texture packs as well so if one is dont assume the other isnt (my logic when writing my response) and its possible to have more than 1 mod but not more than one texture pack there is no option for switching
Edit:last i checked
Last edited by sdzen on Sat Jun 09, 2012 20:12, edited 1 time in total.
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Sat Jun 09, 2012 20:15

There's a quite involved but working way to swap texture packs.
Open minetest.conf using a text editor (ideally Notepad++ on Windows, avoid Windows's notepad), put this at the first line:
Code: Select all
texture_path = ../pack_folder_1

This will search textures in the "pack_folder_1" folder. If you put a # at the beginning of the line like this, the default texture pack will be used:
Code: Select all
#texture_path = ../pack_folder_1

Feel free to change the folder name, just keep the "../" there.
Put your texture pack folders in your Minetest installation folder, example structure:
Code: Select all
minetest
- bin/
- mods/
- ...
- pack_folder_1/
-- default_stone.png
-- ...
- pack_folder_2/
-- default_stone.png
-- ...
 

Mootness
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 16:28
Location: UK - North East

by Mootness » Sat Jun 09, 2012 20:28

Ty sooooooooo much guys !!! :)

Thought i was going to be failing forever at this game D: x
 

zzarko
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 08:19

by zzarko » Sun Aug 12, 2012 09:19

I'm using minetest 0.4.1 on Ubuntu, installed from official PPA. I tried to place new textures in ~/.minetest/textures/all, and I also tried to include full path in config file, but no matter what I do, I always get the default textures (log file says it only loads from /usr/share/minetest, there is no mention of texture_path variable, even with --verbose option). The only texture pack that I could apply was cisoun's, but only by overwriting original files in /usr/share/minetest/ (using root privileges). Is there a way to put textures in ~/.minetest, and not to overwrite original files?

Also, placing mods in ~/.minetest/mods/minetest/ (as said in official documentation) did nothing, I had to place them in ~/.minetest/mods/minimal/ to get them to work (I found about this from log file). Are the location of files changed in 0.4.1?
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4468
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Sun Aug 12, 2012 09:44

zzarko please do not crosspost. Also, see my answer on the other thread.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Sun Aug 12, 2012 09:47

zzarko wrote:I'm using minetest 0.4.1 on Ubuntu, installed from official PPA. I tried to place new textures in ~/.minetest/textures/all, and I also tried to include full path in config file, but no matter what I do, I always get the default textures (log file says it only loads from /usr/share/minetest, there is no mention of texture_path variable, even with --verbose option). The only texture pack that I could apply was cisoun's, but only by overwriting original files in /usr/share/minetest/ (using root privileges). Is there a way to put textures in ~/.minetest, and not to overwrite original files?

Also, placing mods in ~/.minetest/mods/minetest/ (as said in official documentation) did nothing, I had to place them in ~/.minetest/mods/minimal/ to get them to work (I found about this from log file). Are the location of files changed in 0.4.1?

The fact that you have to install your mods in ~/.minetest/mods/minimal/ indicates that you dont use the minetest_game but the minimal development game. Try creating a new World and select "Minetest" and not "Minimal".
 

zzarko
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 08:19

by zzarko » Sun Aug 12, 2012 11:29

PilzAdam wrote:The fact that you have to install your mods in ~/.minetest/mods/minimal/ indicates that you dont use the minetest_game but the minimal development game. Try creating a new World and select "Minetest" and not "Minimal".

Hmmm... I don't have any "minetest" game, only "minimal". I installed from Minetest official stable PPA, I didn't use development version. Is there another package for Ubuntu/Debian, or should I maybe compile from source?

Edit: I just realized that getdeb repository (which I'm using) also have minetest as one of their games and it was conflicting with minetest PPA. PilzAdam, thanks for the suggestion. Anyway, now I have minetest game, but I still don't have different textures either if I put them in textures/all, nor if I put full path in texture_path = in config file.

@Vanessa:E sorry, I didn't know that I was "crossposting" (I don't know wat that means, actually). Anyway, I posted here becasue title said how to make texture packs work.

Edit2: OK, some texture packs have image names begging with default_, and only those work, but only if I copy images from their default/textures subdirectory. Should I just ignore all the other files in texture pack archives?
Last edited by zzarko on Sun Aug 12, 2012 12:48, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Sun Aug 12, 2012 14:42

zzarko wrote:Edit2: OK, some texture packs have image names begging with default_, and only those work, but only if I copy images from their default/textures subdirectory. Should I just ignore all the other files in texture pack archives?

All pictures have to be directly in the "all" folder like this:
Code: Select all
textures/all/default_dirt.png
textures/all/default_cobble.png
....
 

ranta
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 23:30

by ranta » Thu Feb 06, 2014 23:39

i literally just installed minetest about an hour ago but cant seem to find textures_here.txt i have ubuntu 13.10gonna try to reinstall to see if i bunked it up there and i already unhid my files
Last edited by ranta on Fri Feb 07, 2014 00:31, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
 
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
Location: world
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice

by hoodedice » Fri Feb 07, 2014 01:17

ranta wrote:i literally just installed minetest about an hour ago but cant seem to find textures_here.txt i have ubuntu 13.10gonna try to reinstall to see if i bunked it up there and i already unhid my files


No worries if there's no texture_here file. Just make sure it's the texture folder within the .minetest directory and paste the entire folder as is within the texture folder.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build
 

ranta
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 23:30

by ranta » Sat Feb 08, 2014 01:25

hoodedice wrote:
ranta wrote:i literally just installed minetest about an hour ago but cant seem to find textures_here.txt i have ubuntu 13.10gonna try to reinstall to see if i bunked it up there and i already unhid my files


No worries if there's no texture_here file. Just make sure it's the texture folder within the .minetest directory and paste the entire folder as is within the texture folder.

and where would that be when i open the .minetest folder i see world,cache,client,debug.txt and minetset.confg when i open cache theres a media folder and a tmp folder. client just has server lists and and world just has a world 1 folder i really do have no clue what im doing i just recently switched to ubuntu as my main os still learning the ins and outs of the os
Last edited by ranta on Sat Feb 08, 2014 01:26, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Sat Feb 08, 2014 12:49

For me the directory looks like this:

/home/topywo/minetest-minetest-767b2e7/textures

could also be something like:

/home/ranta/minetest/textures


If you don't find a directory like this:
- What version of minetest did you install (0.3.1 - 0.4.9)?
- Did you install it for you as local user (like I do) or system wide?
 

ranta
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 23:30

by ranta » Sun Feb 09, 2014 21:56

Topywo wrote:For me the directory looks like this:

/home/topywo/minetest-minetest-767b2e7/textures

could also be something like:

/home/ranta/minetest/textures


If you don't find a directory like this:
- What version of minetest did you install (0.3.1 - 0.4.9)?
- Did you install it for you as local user (like I do) or system wide?



4.9 i think and i just downloaded it from the main site and ran the .deb file so i dont know where i installed it
 

Next

Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests