Server not shown in list

User avatar
uwu
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 15:01

Server not shown in list

by uwu » Tue Sep 25, 2018 01:27

Hey, my server is not shown in the server list anymore.
I can connect to it using the domain, port, username and password however. Of course I checked the config file already, it's still set to
Code: Select all
server_announce = true


What could be the problem?
 

Chiantos
Member
 
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 09:04

Re: Server not shown in list

by Chiantos » Tue Sep 25, 2018 13:18

Deleted message
Last edited by Chiantos on Mon Sep 30, 2019 05:11, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
uwu
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 15:01

Re: Server not shown in list

by uwu » Tue Sep 25, 2018 16:15

Yes, as I said, I can connect to the server if I enter its data manually.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3822
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Server not shown in list

by sfan5 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 22:22

Any errors in the log? Is it hosted on a "real" server or a DSL/similar connection?
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
uwu
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 15:01

Re: Server not shown in list

by uwu » Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:59

It's on a real VPS, so not a pyhsical server but still in a proper data center with 24/7 internet and power.

The log says it announced itself to servers.minetest.net:

Code: Select all
2018-09-26 12:53:39: INFO[Main]: PostgreSQL Database: Version 100005 Connection made.
2018-09-26 12:53:39: INFO[Main]: PostgreSQL: Player Database was inited.
2018-09-26 12:53:39: INFO[Main]: Server: Loading environment metadata
2018-09-26 12:53:39: INFO[Main]: Starting server on 0.0.0.0...
2018-09-26 12:53:39: ACTION[Server]: Announcing to servers.minetest.net
        .__               __                   __   
  _____ |__| ____   _____/  |_  ____   _______/  |_
 /     \|  |/    \_/ __ \   __\/ __ \ /  ___/\   __\
|  Y Y  \  |   |  \  ___/|  | \  ___/ \___ \  |  | 
|__|_|  /__|___|  /\___  >__|  \___  >____  > |__| 
      \/        \/     \/          \/     \/       
2018-09-26 12:53:39: ACTION[Main]: World at [/var/lib/minetest/savannah/]
2018-09-26 12:53:39: ACTION[Main]: Server for gameid="minetest" listening on 0.0.0.0:30000.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3822
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Server not shown in list

by sfan5 » Wed Sep 26, 2018 13:56

This can only mean the server is not properly reachable from the outside.
I suggest you join IRC so I or another community member can help you debug this.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
uwu
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 15:01

Re: Server not shown in list

by uwu » Sun Nov 18, 2018 14:42

For any lurkers, I had configured IPv6 in my domain's DNS but not the server config. After enabling it, I'm on the server list again:
Code: Select all
ipv6_server = true
 


Return to Servers



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests