[CSM] Distancer

User avatar
Clyde
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

[CSM] Distancer

by Clyde » Sat Dec 15, 2018 19:04

Simple, short, Distancer.

Distancer is a Client-Side Mod, which should help you to build in Minetest.
This Mod measures distances or show's you the current Mapblock of your Position.

Commands:
  • .marker | Shows you the current stored Marker.
  • .marker -s | Set's the Marker to your current Position.
  • .marker -m | Shows you the Distance between your current Position and the (valid) Marker.
  • .marker -p | Shows you a vector of the Distance between your current Position and the (valid) Marker.
  • .marker -w X,Y,Z | Writes a manual given Position to the Marker. Example: .marker -w 50,-10,100 - Set's the Marker to the Position 50,-10,100.

Other Commands:
  • .show_mapblock | Shows you the Mapblocknumber of your current Position.
  • .who_is_online | Lists the Names of the (online) Player.
  • .distancer_version | Shows you the Version of the Mod.
Depends:
nothing

License:
GPL 3.0

How to install:
Move the folder to your clientmods directory of your minetest-folder.
Then activate the mod in your mods.conf.
Important: Not the mod.conf inside of the mod!!

Download:
Release for >= 0.4.15:
https://github.com/acmgit/distancer/archive/1.0.zip

=======================================================================

Only for Version 5.x.x.


Image

Additional Commands:
  • .dhud on|off | Turns all HUD's of Distancer on or off.
  • .dhud_mapblock on|off | Turns the HUD for the current Mapblock on or off.
  • .dhud_measure on|off | Turns the HUD to measure distances on or off.
  • .dhud_waypoint on|off | Turns the HUD for the Waypoint on or off.
  • .dhud_waypoint -c <color> | Changes the Color of the Waypoint to <color> (like green) or shows the available colors.
  • .dhud_change | Shows you the current Position of the HUD.
  • .dhud_change -r | Resets the Position of the HUD to default.
  • .dhud_change -w .x,.y | Set's the Position of the HUD to the given Values. A Value of 0 left the Position unchanged.
  • .dhud_speed | Shows you the current Refreshspeed of the HUD in Seconds.
  • .dhud_speed Number | Changes the Refreshspeed of the HUD in Seconds. 0 turns the HUD off.

for Modwriter
With the Version 2.7 or higher, the Distancer has a API for other mods.

Var:
  • dst.ver | Version Number of the loaded Distancer.
  • dst.rev | Revision Number of the loaded Distancer.
  • dst.name | Name of the Mod.

API:
  • dst.send_pos(name, position) | name = playername, position = string like "0,0,0". Set's the Marker to the Position "x,y,z".
Download:
Source:
https://github.com/acmgit/distancer

Release for 5.x.x:
https://github.com/acmgit/distancer/archive/2.6.zip

Have Fun with it.
Greetings, Clyde.
Last edited by Clyde on Sat Aug 03, 2019 17:17, edited 15 times in total.
 

nrz
Developer
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 17:16
Location: France
GitHub: nerzhul
IRC: nrzkt
In-game: nrz

Re: [CSM] Distancer

by nrz » Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:33

Nice job,
Can you try to implement this using a CSM HUD ? It can be nice to au refresh data on screen using that
 

User avatar
Clyde
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

Re: [CSM] Distancer

by Clyde » Wed Dec 19, 2018 20:59

Update: Command .waypoint renamed to .marker

nrz wrote:Nice job,

Thanks a lot.

nrz wrote:Can you try to implement this using a CSM HUD ? It can be nice to au refresh data on screen using that

Good idea, but ....
Does support the 0.4.x Clients of MT the CSM HUD?

If yes, then i do something wrong and get an Error, that i attempt to index a field, what is an nil-value ..
I tried it with:
Code: Select all
minetest.localplayer:hud_add(def)

and
Code: Select all
minetest.localplayer.hud_add(def)


Greetings, Clyde.
 

User avatar
Clyde
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

Re: [CSM] Distancer

by Clyde » Thu Dec 20, 2018 23:19

Update:
New Release but only for MT 5.x.x.
Now the Distancer has a HUD, which can be turned on or off.

The new Commands for this Release are:

.distancer_hud_mapblock on|off
.distancer_hud_measure on|off

Greetings, Clyde.
 

User avatar
Clyde
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

Re: [CSM] Distancer

by Clyde » Sat Dec 22, 2018 12:42

Update:
Version 2.2

Command to changes the Position of the HUD added.
.distancer_hud_change | Shows you the current Position of the HUD in Chat.
.distancer_hud_change -r | Reset's the Position of the HUD to default.
.distancer_hud_change -w .x,.y | Changes the Position of the HUD to the given Positions. A Value of 0 does nothing on the axis.
.distancer_hud_speed | Shows you the current Refreshspeed of the HUD in Seconds.
.distancer_hud_speed Number | Changes the Refreshspeed of the HUD in Seconds. 0 turns the HUD off.

All Commands now starts with .distancer_XXXX.
Update of the HUD now about minetest.after().

Greetings Clyde.
 

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 2186
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: Hopefully very far from yours, snoop :P
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf

Re: [CSM] Distancer

by Lone_Wolf » Sat Dec 22, 2018 16:36

Clyde wrote:Update:
Version 2.2

Command to changes the Position of the HUD added.
.distancer_hud_change | Shows you the current Position of the HUD in Chat.
.distancer_hud_change -r | Reset's the Position of the HUD to default.
.distancer_hud_change -w .x,.y | Changes the Position of the HUD to the given Positions. A Value of 0 does nothing on the axis.
.distancer_hud_speed | Shows you the current Refreshspeed of the HUD in Seconds.
.distancer_hud_speed Number | Changes the Refreshspeed of the HUD in Seconds. 0 turns the HUD off.

All Commands now starts with .distancer_XXXX.
Update of the HUD now about minetest.after().

Greetings Clyde.


It might be a good idea to make the commands shorter. It's annoying to have to sit there and type a big long cmd just to do one simple little thing.
Suggestions:

  • Replace distancer_hud with dhud
  • Maybe replace change with s or set (Not really needed because `change` is pretty easy to type quickly)

Nice mod btw. It'll be useful for builders planning out their projects
 

User avatar
Clyde
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

Re: [CSM] Distancer

by Clyde » Sun Dec 23, 2018 11:36

Hello,

i like your idea with the shorter commands, it's nothing what is carved in stone, so i think, i will do it so.
Thx for your proposal, Lone_Wolf.

Greetings Clyde.
 

User avatar
Clyde
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde
 

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 2186
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: Hopefully very far from yours, snoop :P
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf

Re: [CSM] Distancer

by Lone_Wolf » Fri Dec 28, 2018 23:47

Clyde wrote:Update:

Commands now shorter .dhud ....
Command .dhud on|off added. Turns all HUD's of the Distancer on or off.

Greetings. Clyde.

Awesome. Thanks!
 

User avatar
Clyde
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

Re: [CSM] Distancer

by Clyde » Fri Dec 28, 2018 23:56

You're Welcome, Lone_Wolf ;-).

Update:
Hud for Waypoint added. You can see a Hud in red with <Marker> on the Screen.
Of course is this Hud on and off switchable.
.dhud_waypoint on|off

Greetings Clyde.
 

User avatar
Clyde
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

Re: [CSM] Distancer

by Clyde » Mon Jan 14, 2019 15:31

Update: Only for MT 5.x.x
With Version 2.7, added a API to Distancer for Modwriter.

Var:

  • dst.ver | Version Number of the loaded Distancer.
  • dst.rev | Revision Number of the loaded Distancer.
  • dst.name | Name of the Mod.

API:
  • dst.send_pos(name, position) | name = playername, position = string like "0,0,0". Set's the Marker to the Position "x,y,z".

Greetings, Clyde.
 

Gundul
Member
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 10:55
Location: Europe/Asia
GitHub: berengma
IRC: Gundul

Re: [CSM] Distancer

by Gundul » Sat Aug 03, 2019 09:17

Clyde wrote:How to install:
Move the folder to your clientmods directory of your minetest-folder.
Then activate the mod in your mod.conf.


Hi clyde, this works pretty good. At least once I figured out it is the mods.conf and not mod.conf :)
A player in Jungle wanted to have this to find boundaries of mapblocks for his technic stuff. It took us
a while to get it to work.

Maybe it should be mentioned also that mods.conf must be in the ~/.minetest/clientmods folder
and not in the folder of the mod. Also clientmods must be enabled in the client: /client/network/clientmodding = true
My servers: Jungle, Lilly in the valley, ZombieTest
 

User avatar
Clyde
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 14:23
GitHub: acmgit
In-game: clyde

Re: [CSM] Distancer

by Clyde » Sat Aug 03, 2019 17:26

Hello Gundul,

of course, you're right, it's the mods.conf in the clientmods directory and not the mod.conf inside the mod.
Thanks for reporting this, i've fixed it and deactivated my little trap, sorry for this ;-).

And yes, some day's ago, i helped Pixalou with the install of this mod on linux mint and figured out, that he had the folder for the mods in /var and not in .minetest.
We was doing the same procedure and then he found a second minetest-folder in /var, there the mod was working.

Greetings, Clyde.
 

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 2186
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: Hopefully very far from yours, snoop :P
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf
 


Return to Client-side modding



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests