[Raspberry PI] Server

DoyleChris
Member
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 19:54
In-game: DoyleChris

[Raspberry PI] Server

by DoyleChris » Fri Jan 04, 2019 02:14

My son wanted to start playing Minetest, so i created a server on my laptop. But I was not able to run it all the time. But I did have a Raspberry PI 3B and i knew you could run Minetest on it. So I set out to get a server running, but it was a little harder then I thought.

Then I hopped onto the Minetest IRC channel, and NathanS was nice enough to help me. And he was able to compile a Stable 4.17.1 version and a 5.0 Dev version.

So requirements that you need (what I am running):
Raspberry PI 3B
Raspbian (command line if possible)
libhiredis-dev package (sudo apt-get install libhiredis-dev)
Able to share the game folder to install worlds and mods

Download corresponding build you want. Extract it. And run /EXTRACTEDFOLDER/bin/./minetestserver (i had to run sudo ./minetestserver)

Stable http://www.nathansalapat.com/downloads/0.4.17.1.tar.gz
Dev http://www.nathansalapat.com/downloads/5.0.tar.gz

Thank you to NathanS for the help and building the program.
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 870
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Raspberry PI] Server

by Nathan.S » Sat Jan 05, 2019 16:33

It shouldn't be necessary to run minetestserver with sudo. I never needed to in any of my testing, and I was able to connect to the server from other computers on the home network.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

User avatar
BBmine
Member
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
Location: USA
GitHub: BBmine
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins

Re: [Raspberry PI] Server

by BBmine » Mon Jan 07, 2019 03:14

Nathan.S wrote:It shouldn't be necessary to run minetestserver with sudo. I never needed to in any of my testing, and I was able to connect to the server from other computers on the home network.

I believe he had to use sudo because it was throwing an error about not have permission. Run the following command to fix it:
Code: Select all
sudo chmod a+w /var/log/minetest
 


Return to Builds



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests