I encounter a problem

iamdafu
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 09:14
GitHub: iamdafu

I encounter a problem

by iamdafu » Sat Jan 12, 2019 09:34

I am new to minetest.
My minetest version is 0.4.17.1. When I start the app, There is a grey box in front and there are nothing else.

The image is :
https://ibb.co/ft9nMmJ

Image
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4372
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: I encounter a problem

by Krock » Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:09

Hello and welcome to the Minetest forums.

This is the first time I've seen this problem, so I'll just try to step through the standard procedure:

1) Could you please paste the last few relevant lines of your "debug.txt" file? It's inside the "bin" directory
2) Try to move Minetest to a path which does only contain ASCII characters, such as "C:\test directory name\Minetest". Does change anything? Launching from an USB drive is possible too, but a bit slow.
3) Did you observe the same issue on other systems as well? (Linux, Android, other language?)
>> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

iamdafu
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 09:14
GitHub: iamdafu

Re: I encounter a problem

by iamdafu » Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:29

Thank you very much.
1. the last line of the debug.txt is "

-------------
Separator
-------------

", Each time I enter the app, there will be another line same to this.
2. I change the directory to "C:\fyg\minetest", still not work.
3. The os is win10, and the app is download binary version from the minetest website. I will check in other platform .
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4372
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: I encounter a problem

by Krock » Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:40

A few more ideas according to your inputs:

1) Did you try to remove the Minetest directory and unzip the archive entirely again? Maybe you interrupted it while it was copying the builtin code (low chances though)
2) Try to rename the "locale" directory so that Minetest can no longer find it. The GUI will then be English only, thus no special characters which might cause a display problem.
3) Does the issue persist with a new 5.0.0-dev build? -> viewtopic.php?f=42&t=1523&p=339841#p339841

No further ideas from my side - I hope one of those works.
>> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

iamdafu
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 09:14
GitHub: iamdafu

Re: I encounter a problem

by iamdafu » Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:53

ok, I will check the new version and hope it will work. I have a guess that maybe there are something wrong in my os.
 

iamdafu
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 09:14
GitHub: iamdafu

Re: I encounter a problem

by iamdafu » Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:42

The new version 5.0 is ok.Thanks very much
 

iamdafu
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 09:14
GitHub: iamdafu

Re: I encounter a problem

by iamdafu » Sat Jan 12, 2019 12:55

The new version 5.0 is ok.Thanks very much
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests