OOMerror from mod 'technic_worldgen'... not enough memory

Bortimus_Prime
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 16:27

OOMerror from mod 'technic_worldgen'... not enough memory

by Bortimus_Prime » Mon Jan 21, 2019 16:56

Hi all,

Minetest noob here.

I'm having incresing difficulty with an error and I could use some help figuring it out. The game crashes so often that it becomes unplayable when exploring new areas. I get the error message "AsynchErr: Lua: finishGenOOM error from mod 'technic_worldgen' in callback environment_OnGenerated(): not enough memory".

I'm playing a local game on a Dell M3800, running Win 10. The Minetest version is 0.4.17.1.

My understanding is that this is an old and well known issue. What is the current thinking on how to solve or work around the issue?

One option is to uninstall the technic mod, but I'm heavily invested in a world that uses it. So that would be pretty painful. I was also seeing the issue before installing the mod, just not nearly as often.

Fun note: My wife is playing her own local game on another Dell box, has a bunch of mods installed, including technic, and has no issues. She is also using version 0.4.17.1.

Any information is much appreciated!

Bort
Last edited by Bortimus_Prime on Tue Jan 22, 2019 14:54, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 875
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: OOMerror from mod 'technic_worldgen'... not enough memor

by Festus1965 » Tue Jan 22, 2019 08:11

try that
[mod] Stop LUAJIT OOM crashes [stop_lj_oom]

as I am testing now since 16.01. with report here

maybe you need first to find out until which value the collector it so late, and OOM crash normal again, and after take a below value to make sure that then technic_worldgen would have still enough.

The better version would be a "repair" of the LUAJit Problem in the Mod ... but ...

What is the difference in RAM and 32 or 64 bit system of your both PCs with the game ?
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

Bortimus_Prime
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 16:27

Re: OOMerror from mod 'technic_worldgen'... not enough memor

by Bortimus_Prime » Tue Jan 22, 2019 15:00

Thanks for the suggestion. I'll give it a try.

In answer to your questions, my machine has 16 GB RAM and the other machine has 6 GB. Both are 64-bit systems.
 

Bortimus_Prime
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 16:27

Re: OOMerror from mod 'technic_worldgen'... not enough memor

by Bortimus_Prime » Fri Jan 25, 2019 01:42

That mod seems to help a lot. Thank you.

I also noticed that my view range was turned up to 700-something. My cat likes to help Minetest. I suspect that he was pressing some keys.
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 875
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: OOMerror from mod 'technic_worldgen'... not enough memor

by Festus1965 » Fri Jan 25, 2019 04:19

Your welcome,
but try to use the largest value for the mod posible,
as when it runs it makes lag - at me fromo 0.2 up to 0.8/1.2

view range + and -,
just makes your pc slow view it makes the GPU work,
I use some time 2000 to make maps haha
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: OOMerror from mod 'technic_worldgen'... not enough memor

by paramat » Sat Jan 26, 2019 22:43

OOM is caused by using LuaJIT instead of Lua, however disabling LuaJIT will make mods slower.
There is also a special version of LuaJIT that avoids OOM.

The actual problem here is the technic mapgen code using too much memory, the memory optimisation fix is simple but no-one has done it yet (i refuse to because it's so easy and i'm busy).
I've opened an issue at technic detailing what to do https://github.com/minetest-mods/technic/issues/463 can someone please attend to this?
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 875
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: OOMerror from mod 'technic_worldgen'... not enough memor

by Festus1965 » Sat Jan 26, 2019 23:25

paramat wrote:I've opened an issue at technic detailing what to do https://github.com/minetest-mods/technic/issues/463 can someone please attend to this?


I just edited the Mod on my Server, even shared your solution link at LuaJit OOM - how to detect Mods using it - and rid off !

found the subforum, and reading, try to understand and check also 2 other mods that made OOM crash
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests