Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

User avatar
ratmix
Member
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 19:45
In-game: ratmix

Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by ratmix » Fri Mar 08, 2019 04:04

I have had no trouble announcing my server when using various versions of minetest 5.0.0-dev to servers.minetest.net. But my 5.0.0 server (final release, non-dev) does not announce.

I have exactly the same config file with server_announce = true. Prior to this version, this is, as expected, what the logs showed...
Code: Select all
2019-03-08 03:54:23: ACTION[Main]: World at [..../worlds/SN001]
2019-03-08 03:54:23: ACTION[Main]: Server for gameid="minetest" listening on 0.0.0.0:30000.
2019-03-08 03:54:23: ACTION[Server]: Announcing to servers.minetest.net


Now there is no attempt from the server to announce, meaning this line is not printed as startup:
Code: Select all
2019-03-08 03:54:23: ACTION[Server]: Announcing to servers.minetest.net

I have tried restarting several times and explicitly specifying the config path with --config to no avail.
King of the Hill :: Modern Warfare Server RATMIX.COM:30000 | King of the Hill Community Site
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 1998
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by sofar » Fri Mar 08, 2019 06:20

Several of us are running 5.0.0 and we do see our servers properly announce. Try with --verbose and see if there is additional info printed. If that doesn't work, ask sfan5 perhaps to see what is up.
 

User avatar
ratmix
Member
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 19:45
In-game: ratmix

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by ratmix » Fri Mar 08, 2019 08:07

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately --verbose doesn't offer any clues. I rebuilt another MT5 with the same result. I think there is a conflict from too many compiled versions on the same server. It's odd though because I can get my RC1 and RC2 builds to run simultaneously on separate ports with both properly announcing. Reverting to RC2 for now. Perhaps I will remove everything and start over.
King of the Hill :: Modern Warfare Server RATMIX.COM:30000 | King of the Hill Community Site
 

Jean3219
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 23:28
In-game: Jean3219

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by Jean3219 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 15:00

I am having the same Problem.
I am using the minetest version 5.0.0 (Ubuntu PPA)
Here my minetest.conf:
Code: Select all
server_announce = true
server_name = Mine Life
server_description = A Server without teleporting, but with trains, horses, airboats, jobs, economy, selfmade mods, and much more...
server_adress = 213.202.229.139
port = 30000

My firewall is deactivated at the moment.

My only error about this topic is, when I close the server:
Code: Select all
2019-03-13 15:59:06: ERROR[CurlFetch]: servers.minetest.net/announce not found (HTTP response code said error) (response code 500)


Do I do anything wrong?

PS: (two days before it worked for maybe about 10 minutes) I didn't do any big change, which would cause this problem I guess...
 

User avatar
ratmix
Member
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 19:45
In-game: ratmix

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by ratmix » Wed Mar 13, 2019 16:26

Sounds like you have a different issue than mine. Try using serverlist_url = servers.minetest.net in your minetest.conf file. I don't think servers.minetest.net/announce works anymore.
King of the Hill :: Modern Warfare Server RATMIX.COM:30000 | King of the Hill Community Site
 

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by BirgitLachner » Wed Mar 13, 2019 16:37

I think, that is a common problem. Try this in minetest.conf

enable_ipv6 = false
 

Jean3219
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 23:28
In-game: Jean3219

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by Jean3219 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 18:02

Thank you for your great tips, but they didn't help me in this case :(
 

User avatar
ratmix
Member
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 19:45
In-game: ratmix

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by ratmix » Wed Mar 13, 2019 18:09

Any error messages after using serverlist_url = servers.minetest.net in your minetest.conf file?
King of the Hill :: Modern Warfare Server RATMIX.COM:30000 | King of the Hill Community Site
 

Jean3219
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 23:28
In-game: Jean3219

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by Jean3219 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 18:52

It is the same error message like before on shutting down the server..
Code: Select all
2019-03-13 19:49:43: ERROR[CurlFetch]: servers.minetest.net/announce not found (HTTP response code said error) (response code 500)


Do you know any other tricks/hacks I could test out?
Do you need more information?
 

User avatar
ratmix
Member
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 19:45
In-game: ratmix

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by ratmix » Wed Mar 13, 2019 19:50

Just make sure you restart your server after changing the minetest.conf file. There are cases in which I have needed to explicitly reference the config file like so...

./minetest --server --config /path/to/minetest.conf

I say this because your instance should no longer be looking for servers.minetest.net/announce, if you entered serverlist_url = servers.minetest.net in your config file.
Last edited by ratmix on Wed Mar 13, 2019 21:29, edited 1 time in total.
King of the Hill :: Modern Warfare Server RATMIX.COM:30000 | King of the Hill Community Site
 

Jean3219
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 23:28
In-game: Jean3219

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by Jean3219 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 20:29

my minetest.conf is the right one, and yeah, with serverlist_url = servers.minetest.net it looks to servers.minetest.net/announce though....
No offence :)
PS: Thank you four your great help!
 

User avatar
ratmix
Member
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 19:45
In-game: ratmix

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by ratmix » Wed Mar 13, 2019 21:35

My Minetest 5.0.0 does not get the correct info from the config file (i.e., port number) unless I use --config. This is not the case with my dev versions of Minetest 5. Also, no matter what I do, I cannot make MT5 announce to the server list at all, so I'm still stuck on 5.0.0-dev. As mentioned before, this may have to do with the fact that I've compiled multiple versions of MT on the same server. I don't know, but it is quite frustrating.
King of the Hill :: Modern Warfare Server RATMIX.COM:30000 | King of the Hill Community Site
 

Jean3219
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 23:28
In-game: Jean3219

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by Jean3219 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 14:47

Does anyone knwo how to get to 5.0.0 dev at the moment? When I am using the PPA I just get 5.1.0 dev..
(Ubuntu 18.04)
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by Festus1965 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 14:52

Jean3219 wrote:Does anyone know how to get to 5.0.0 dev at the moment? When I am using the PPA I just get 5.1.0 dev.. (Ubuntu 18.04)


here Ubuntu 18.04, MTS 5.1.0-dev - works ... if nothing else get to you, announce, Mods, gaming ... so it is not too dangerous
I own minetest.one and offer a Minetestserver called Thailand Minetest.one (5.1.0-dev) on server.minetest.one.
 

User avatar
ratmix
Member
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 19:45
In-game: ratmix

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by ratmix » Fri Mar 15, 2019 17:49

I tried 5.1.0-dev too, but I still have the same issue.
Last edited by ratmix on Fri Mar 15, 2019 18:31, edited 1 time in total.
King of the Hill :: Modern Warfare Server RATMIX.COM:30000 | King of the Hill Community Site
 

Jean3219
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 23:28
In-game: Jean3219

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by Jean3219 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 18:19

@Festus1965 could you send us your minetest.conf please?
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by Festus1965 » Sat Mar 16, 2019 02:10

Jean3219 wrote:@Festus1965 could you send us your minetest.conf please?


not fully, even there are some sure interesting tuning settings I guess
but to make sure all is fixing
* router port forward !! here at me out 30001from all to in 30001 on intern 192.168.*.* (like 192.168.1.200) BOTH protocols (TCP/UDP)
* sure right IP on mts hardware, same as 102.168.*.* (like 192.168.1.200)
* as also same as "bind_address = 192.168.*.*" in config
* and make sure router was restarted
* make sure yourself can connect from inside network if have, or then from outer internet
before complain
(I had that myself: router had new rules but not active as not restarted sometime and so on ...)

Code: Select all
enable_server = true

name = ***

bind_address = 192.168.*.*
port = 30001

selected_world_path = ***/.minetest/worlds/CelinesWildesThailand/

server_announce = true

server_name = Thailand Minetest.one [EN/DE]
server_description = Minetest.one in Thailand (EN+DE) forum.minetest.one

disallow_empty_password = true

# Domain name of server
server_address = server.minetest.one

# Homepage of server
server_url = http://server01.minetest.one/

# Message of the Day
motd = Welcome to Minetest English and German writing (+Mumble) Server in Thailand about UTC+7 hours
 
# Maximum number of players connected simultaneously
# rember: allover 32 is a lost in serverlist points and above 40 no server has confirmed no lag issues
max_users = 32

# Whether to enable players killing each other
enable_pvp = false

# Set to true to enable creative mode (unlimited inventory)
creative_mode = false

# Enable players getting damage and dying
enable_damage = true

# Available privileges: interact, shout, teleport, settime, privs, ...
# See /privs in game for a full list on your server and mod configuration.
default_privs = shout, home, interact

# If this is set, players will always (re)spawn at the given position
static_spawnpoint = 20001, 7, 24001

# von Dany/crashed - compare with TalkLounge [Mod] lagcheck
profiler.load = true

enable_fire = false
disable_fire = true
...


hope it will help
I own minetest.one and offer a Minetestserver called Thailand Minetest.one (5.1.0-dev) on server.minetest.one.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by sfan5 » Sat Mar 16, 2019 14:23

ratmix wrote:Sounds like you have a different issue than mine. Try using serverlist_url = servers.minetest.net in your minetest.conf file. I don't think servers.minetest.net/announce works anymore.

The use of serverlist_url = servers.minetest.net is not necessary as it is the default value.
Usually, there is also no reason to use server_adress, it is will be automatically detected.

Generally, if there are any issues with announcing servers, ask me on IRC so we can figure it out together.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
ratmix
Member
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 19:45
In-game: ratmix

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by ratmix » Sun Mar 17, 2019 01:45

sfan5 wrote:The use of serverlist_url = servers.minetest.net is not necessary as it is the default value.

I thought it was worth a try if Minetest is trying to report to servers.minetest.net/announce for unknown reasons.

I will try to get in contact with you regarding my issue. Thank you.
King of the Hill :: Modern Warfare Server RATMIX.COM:30000 | King of the Hill Community Site
 

User avatar
ratmix
Member
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 19:45
In-game: ratmix

Re: Minetest 5.0.0 will not announce to servers

by ratmix » Mon Mar 18, 2019 19:10

sfan5 found the issue. Evidently we broke curl-dev on our machine at some point and failed to include the -DENABLE_CURL=1 flag when building. Without curl the server would not even try to announce. So 2 wrongs did not make a right, but fortunately sfan5 knows way more than me.
King of the Hill :: Modern Warfare Server RATMIX.COM:30000 | King of the Hill Community Site
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: disconnected and 2 guests