[Mod] Lag free schematics [exschem]

Post Reply
User avatar
TalkLounge
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 12:42
GitHub: TalkLounge
In-game: TalkLounge
Location: Germany

[Mod] Lag free schematics [exschem]

by TalkLounge » Post

Image

How does it work?
ExSchem splits the selected area into smaller schematics and saves, loads or emerges them asynchronous

How to use?
Image
ExSchem supports the Minetest schematic(without metadata) and WorldEdit schematic(with metadata)
For players: Minetest schematic
Saving
1. /exschem pos1 or /exschem pos1 <x> <y> <z>
2. /exschem pos2 or /exschem pos2 <x> <y> <z>
3. /exschem save <filename>

Loading
1. /exschem pos1 or /exschem pos1 <x> <y> <z>
2. (Optional) /exschem here
3. /exschem load <filename>

For players: WorldEdit schematic
Saving
1. /exschem pos1 or /exschem pos1 <x> <y> <z>
2. /exschem pos2 or /exschem pos2 <x> <y> <z>
3. /exschem save <filename> true

Loading
1. /exschem pos1 or /exschem pos1 <x> <y> <z>
2. (Optional) /exschem here
3. /exschem load <filename>

For players: Emerge
1. /exschem pos1 or /exschem pos1 <x> <y> <z>
2. /exschem pos2 or /exschem pos2 <x> <y> <z>
3. /exschem emerge

For programmers: Api
Use functions exschem.load, exschem.save, exschem.kill, exschem.emerge

Dependencies
WorldEdit (Optional, Newer than 15.June.2019)

Download
Video
Update video
Download
Browse on Github

License
CC BY-NC 3.0

Changelog
29.06.2019: Released.
14.07.2019: Updated to version 2.0. New features: Relative loading & Emerging asynchronous
Last edited by TalkLounge on Sun Jul 14, 2019 14:57, edited 3 times in total.
Subgames Server: Sky World Subgames German Survival Server: Wildes Land 2 E-Mail: talklounge@yahoo.de

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2874
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Lag free schematics [exschem]

by TumeniNodes » Post

Impressive. I'll have to give this a try
Ich mag keine grünen Eier und Schinken, ich mag sie nicht Sam I Am

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2412
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Mod] Lag free schematics [exschem]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

Neat!

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] Lag free schematics [exschem]

by texmex » Post

This seems nice! What happens if the schematic reaches into an unloaded mapblock?
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

User avatar
TalkLounge
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 12:42
GitHub: TalkLounge
In-game: TalkLounge
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Lag free schematics [exschem]

by TalkLounge » Post

texmex wrote:What happens if the schematic reaches into an unloaded mapblock?
I've tested it, because I wasn't sure, how minetest schematic & WorldEdit handle unloaded and ungenerated areas(For loading & saving with mt schem and WE)

unloaded
Will be loaded

ungenerated
Will not be generated, except loading of schematics: They will be loaded also in ungenerated area, but the mapgen will roll again over the schematic and will plant trees and change the dirt from e.g grass to snow if the part of the map is a snow biome. So you should generate the area, where you want to place the schematic, first.
Subgames Server: Sky World Subgames German Survival Server: Wildes Land 2 E-Mail: talklounge@yahoo.de

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] Lag free schematics [exschem]

by texmex » Post

TalkLounge wrote:So you should generate the area, where you want to place the schematic, first.
Can that feature make it into this mod? It would be very useful to have it (optionally) handling that part.
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

CalebJ
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 19:21
GitHub: KaylebJay
IRC: KaylebJay
In-game: CalebJ
Location: Tunnelers' Abyss

Re: [Mod] Lag free schematics [exschem]

by CalebJ » Post

I have tested this mod with a 2000x100x2000 schematic. It worked flawlessly - The only errors were deriven by my not understanding the mod well enough. Thanks TalkLounge for explaining it to me :)

I'm going to be doing a 3000x80x3000 schematic soon, so I'll have to see how that goes. So far, this is the best schematic software I've come across, thank you for this mod!
If you want realism, you're in the wrong place. Get off your mobile.

User avatar
TalkLounge
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 12:42
GitHub: TalkLounge
In-game: TalkLounge
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Lag free schematics [exschem]

by TalkLounge » Post

texmex wrote:Can that feature make it into this mod? It would be very useful to have it (optionally) handling that part.
Updated mod to version 2.0
New Features
1. Asynchronous emerging area
Thanks to duane, who helped me with that

1. /exschem pos1 or /exschem pos1 <x> <y> <z>
2. /exschem pos2 or /exschem pos2 <x> <y> <z>
3. /exschem emerge

2. Relative loading schematic
The problem is always, when you load a schematic, you don't know in which direction the schematic will be loaded. With adding relative loading this problem is fixed. See the video.

1. /exschem pos1 or /exschem pos1 <x> <y> <z>
2. (Optional) /exschem here
3. /exschem load <filename>
Subgames Server: Sky World Subgames German Survival Server: Wildes Land 2 E-Mail: talklounge@yahoo.de

CalebJ
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 19:21
GitHub: KaylebJay
IRC: KaylebJay
In-game: CalebJ
Location: Tunnelers' Abyss

Re: [Mod] Lag free schematics [exschem]

by CalebJ » Post

I know this isn't a problem now, but just FYI: If you load a schematic in an unloaded area, the mapgen will take over some of it when you load the place in - for example, for my test, there were snow and trees covering the schematic because it was at high elevation :)
If you want realism, you're in the wrong place. Get off your mobile.

User avatar
TalkLounge
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 12:42
GitHub: TalkLounge
In-game: TalkLounge
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Lag free schematics [exschem]

by TalkLounge » Post

CalebJ wrote:I know this isn't a problem now, but just FYI: If you load a schematic in an unloaded area, the mapgen will take over some of it when you load the place in - for example, for my test, there were snow and trees covering the schematic because it was at high elevation :)
TalkLounge wrote:
texmex wrote:What happens if the schematic reaches into an unloaded mapblock?
I've tested it, because I wasn't sure, how minetest schematic & WorldEdit handle unloaded and ungenerated areas(For loading & saving with mt schem and WE)

unloaded
Will be loaded

ungenerated
Will not be generated, except loading of schematics: They will be loaded also in ungenerated area, but the mapgen will roll again over the schematic and will plant trees and change the dirt from e.g grass to snow if the part of the map is a snow biome. So you should generate the area, where you want to place the schematic, first.
TalkLounge wrote:Updated mod to version 2.0
New Features
1. Asynchronous emerging area
Thanks to duane, who helped me with that

1. /exschem pos1 or /exschem pos1 <x> <y> <z>
2. /exschem pos2 or /exschem pos2 <x> <y> <z>
3. /exschem emerge
That's one reason, why I updated exschem to version 2.0. So, emerge first and then load :)
Subgames Server: Sky World Subgames German Survival Server: Wildes Land 2 E-Mail: talklounge@yahoo.de

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [Mod] Lag free schematics [exschem]

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Thank you for this awesome mod :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests