server don't work with ethernet cable

Post Reply
User avatar
uwu666
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 05:20
Location: Latinoamerica

server don't work with ethernet cable

by uwu666 » Post

I host server through minetest client and works fine when my laptop is wifi connected, but when i connect laptop via ethernet cable(for bether bandwidth) the server don't work for people out of my internet

I have Minetest 5.1.1 Client on GNU Linux Debian Buster

User avatar
jas
Member
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 18:15
IRC: Freenode
Location: IRC

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by jas » Post

My first thought was that the IP address for your computer changed when you went from Wi-Fi to Ethernet, but then I thought maybe you hadn't opened up the minetest server port for outside connections. Not sure, but here's a guide I found by searching "server setup" on "forum.minetest.net":
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=21962

User avatar
uwu666
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 05:20
Location: Latinoamerica

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by uwu666 » Post

the ports are already open, and people outside my internet can connect when I have my laptop connected by wireless, the problem is when I connect the laptop by ethernet cable
I already tried to open the port with the ethernet ip and it doesn't work

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by Festus1965 » Post

* Laptop sure has different IP on Wifi and Ethernet
* so the port-forward on the router also need to be changed TO OTHER IP (or added - I guess cant be both in same time as Port is same !) - most rooter need to reboot
* MTS after restart should check reported IP mts is waiting for connections to be sure it is the right one
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

Bastrabun
Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 19:48

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by Bastrabun » Post

You may also want to pay attention to whether you try to connect via IPv4 or IPv6. There is a setting in the minetest.conf that disallows IPv6 connections.

User avatar
uwu666
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 05:20
Location: Latinoamerica

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by uwu666 » Post

Festus1965 wrote:
Fri May 08, 2020 04:10
* Laptop sure has different IP on Wifi and Ethernet
* so the port-forward on the router also need to be changed TO OTHER IP (or added - I guess cant be both in same time as Port is same !) - most rooter need to reboot
* MTS after restart should check reported IP mts is waiting for connections to be sure it is the right one
I've already tried that, but nothing works :(

User avatar
uwu666
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 05:20
Location: Latinoamerica

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by uwu666 » Post

Bastrabun wrote:
Fri May 08, 2020 17:42
You may also want to pay attention to whether you try to connect via IPv4 or IPv6. There is a setting in the minetest.conf that disallows IPv6 connections.
I try to connect via IPv4 :(

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by Festus1965 » Post

uwu666 wrote:
Fri May 08, 2020 21:56
I've already tried that, but nothing works :(
When is is all your answer instead of writing down the
* IP addresses you use (server wifi and server cable, most en0 like this),
* get and open port and IP in minetest.conf (as a line there) also in
* forwarding rule at router,
we cant help anymore as no fact data, no hints.

A Hint:
As if set port forwarding right on other new cable IP address then the wifi connection cant work anymore, if it still does, the port-forwarding change didn't work ... and so on ... as it should not forward to 2 PCs in the intranet same time

Good Luck then ... further guessing
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
uwu666
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 05:20
Location: Latinoamerica

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by uwu666 » Post

the facts are as follows:
- I have the minetest 5.1.1 client and I host it from there
- the PC is connected by wifi and I am using the ip inet wlp3s0 (IPv4), this way the server works
- i connect the pc to ethernet cable and it doesn't work anymore
- I try again changing the ip of the router port to the ip enp2s0 inet (IPv4) and it doesn't work either
- try rebooting the router and nothing
- try changing the port number and nothing
- also try to host from another pc (on the same router), try with the wlp3s0 ip and with the enp2s0 and nothing
- I think the problem may be in the router
- I'm waiting to try another router to see if that's the problem

User avatar
uwu666
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 05:20
Location: Latinoamerica

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by uwu666 » Post

I've been able to host other servers like minecraft and mumble without problem

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by Festus1965 » Post

did you close the wifi at the server also, to make sure no other IP there and reboot to have only the arj connection IP,
and is this IP then offered from MTS server shown in terminal with the right port ?
and also written down in minetest.conf ?

to see if the ethernet IP works basically just do some update on system whatever to be sure next steps will make sense


I was years server admin on oracle, network and firewall for a service with 1500 clients in Germany. I also have own MTS at home with mumble (off now) and have seen my own mistakes ... or let me write, missed checkpoints

the basic difference here to get late about one year for let access my server from internet is s special configuration at my provider, where another private NET is between the Internet and my router, mean the IP I could check in internet was not the one I see at WAN from router. To find out that and ask the provider about a chance this to get open true IP took another time. That drove me crazy.
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
uwu666
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 05:20
Location: Latinoamerica

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by uwu666 » Post

Festus1965 wrote:
Sat May 09, 2020 10:34
did you close the wifi at the server also, to make sure no other IP there and reboot to have only the arj connection IP,
and is this IP then offered from MTS server shown in terminal with the right port ?
and also written down in minetest.conf ?
I had the wifi activated at the same time I had the cable connected, apparently that was the problem, now it works, thank you very much!
but now another problem arose; I connect to the server from another pc (connected to another internet), and the first time it connects well, but if I disconnect and reconnect it says "connection time out.", and when I restart the server, again, at the first connection it works, but then no more.
This problem does not happen in LAN *and it also didn't happen when I had the pc connected to wifi and used the ip wlo

and another question; do I have to put the ipv4 I'm going to use somewhere in the minetest.conf? and if so, what line?

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by Festus1965 » Post

minetest.conf

Code: Select all

bind_address = 192.168.x.x
port = 3000x
other:
At me sometime the switches are a problem, cant handle so much data (even as mt dont have), but once a week I resset
Why you go over another router, internet, router to server when in same house ? (But that should not be a problem as every other user outside does the same), as long both pc are NOT also connected in same intranet !!!
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
uwu666
Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 05:20
Location: Latinoamerica

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by uwu666 » Post

Well I think I'll settle for how it works for now, since I can play with some friends at least, thanks a lot for your help! :)

LottyZak
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 16:29
GitHub: LottyZak
IRC: LottyZak
In-game: LottyZak

Re: server don't work with ethernet cable

by LottyZak » Post

Hello...in my case this happened when i didn't update my LAN driver.Did you try reinstalling your ethernet card drivers? Also does this happen on any ethernet or only at your router's ethernet port?

pcb assembly services

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests